PDA

View Full Version : g751jy cpu temp and speed



Boaz Beatz
11-27-2014, 07:04 PM
hello im getting around 70c cpu on loadout and my speed is 3.35 on my cpu why is it 3.35 when it says it should be on 3.5 on the specs?


ps... how d o i clean the fans as you cant open it

violetcold
11-27-2014, 08:11 PM
The cpu is actually 2.5 and it TURBOS up to 3.5 based on necessity. That means it's not going to use full power unless it has to. Also, 70c cpu temp is very ok. Even 90c isn't an issue.

Boaz Beatz
11-27-2014, 08:20 PM
The cpu is actually 2.5 and it TURBOS up to 3.5 based on necessity. That means it's not going to use full power unless it has to. Also, 70c cpu temp is very ok. Even 90c isn't an issue.

well i am at dreamhack so it might be higher cus of that its idle at around 53C but when i run a game called loadout it goes up to 3.35 speed so i guess it dont always go up to 3.5? it says that my multipliers are 1 active core 35x 2 active cores 34x 3 active cores 33x 4 active cores 33x is that the right vaules?

violetcold
11-27-2014, 08:27 PM
you should find the answer here http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?53945-Bios-204 . Check what I7 cpu model you have and compare your core multiplier to those in the thread.

Boaz Beatz
11-27-2014, 08:42 PM
well i dont have the same multipliers as they do i have abit lower the ones i listed above so is it the 205 bios that is doing this? also what is your options on the temps on my last post?

Boaz Beatz
11-27-2014, 10:42 PM
its at 83c when playing the new dragon age but im at dreamhack so it might make the temp higher and the gpu is also 80c something is not right,,, or is it normal?

hmscott
11-28-2014, 02:46 AM
its at 83c when playing the new dragon age but im at dreamhack so it might make the temp higher and the gpu is also 80c something is not right,,, or is it normal?

Boaz Beatz;, it's normal - Enjoy Dream Hack :)

If you are on Balanced Power Plan, the CPU will up/down clock on demand :

1) On demand speed goes to 36x (37x on yours?) for *1* core demand.

2) More than 1 core in use the speed of all cores drops accordingly. On my 4700HQ, the core top clocks are 36x,35x,34x,34x and cache is 36x - but they vary due to demand.

You can use the High Performance Power Plan, it never down clocks, and stays at highest clock all the time - generating extra heat, your CPU temps will rise.

The setting in either Power Plan is the CPU Performance Max/Min, 0%/100% on Balanced, 100%/100% on High Performance. Setting to 0%/99% turns off Turbo - lowers heat and battery usage.

Have fun! :)

Boaz Beatz
11-28-2014, 01:03 PM
Well its 1 35x 2 34x 3 33x 4 33x cache 35x should i worry oh and scot as a thanks for your help i will sent you a code ingot at dreamhack for a alpha game :) also what power plan do you recommend me to use?

hmscott
11-28-2014, 01:42 PM
Well its 1 35x 2 34x 3 33x 4 33x cache 35x should i worry oh and scot as a thanks for your help i will sent you a code ingot at dreamhack for a alpha game :) also what power plan do you recommend me to use?

Boaz Beatz, thanks :)

You can safely use all the power plans on the G751/G750, the cooling system will take care of the extra heat from running on High Performance, and in the unusual case of an ambient temperature being high enough to drive the CPU temps into the Thermal Throttling range, the CPU will take care of itself and throttle, dropping the heat.

I run on Balanced all the time, except when Benchmarking or debugging lag / snags in performance, but then I put it back on Balanced - runs quieter that way.

When doing 100% CPU load, all the power plans are the same, since the CPU is totally engaged - the usage/heat is the same on all Power Plans except if you have CPU Performance set to 99%/99% or 0%/99%, then max clock is base clock, and you will run cooler with less performance, on battery run longer.

Try them all, see how they work for what you are doing, I use them all at one point or another :)

Boaz Beatz
02-22-2015, 02:45 PM
Oh dam i forgot to send u the code daam im sorry bro when i got home my laptop went in the floor the screen cracked so i forgot :(

hexaae
02-16-2016, 12:20 PM
A friend of mine with a completely different model of ASUS laptop (but same CPU i7 4710HQ) had the same max temp of my G751JY: around 90-93C
He then repasted it with Arctic MX-4 and now doesn't even reach 85C...

If it wasn't so complicated to access the heatsink/CPU on G751JY I would have done this already. I'm afraid they are very badly pasted out of the box.

andreacos92
02-16-2016, 12:47 PM
I repasted my G751JY too, on both CPU and GPU and I noticed a huge drop in temperatures: about 12 C...
In my laptop, too much stock thermal compound was applied, and it was solidified.

However, it's not so difficult or complicated access the heatsink on G751. You need only a Philips screwdriver and a bit of manuality/patience :)

hexaae
02-16-2016, 01:26 PM
I repasted my G751JY too, on both CPU and GPU and I noticed a huge drop in temperatures: about 12 C...
In my laptop, too much stock thermal compound was applied, and it was solidified.

However, it's not so difficult or complicated access the heatsink on G751. You need only a Philips screwdriver and a bit of manuality/patience :)

Thanks for confirming that... I have to do it definitely sometime in the near future...

hexaae
02-17-2016, 07:18 PM
Taking apart the G751JY to access the CPU/GPU for repaste...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZltmthVx54