PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone confirm does G751JT-CH71 have the upgradability to a PCI-E M.2 SSD?



ROGscholar
12-03-2014, 01:40 AM
I am really confused by the various posts , I have following questions:


1.Q: some claim that CH71 is missing a ( metal support caddy / PCIE M.2 bracket ) for additional SSD? is this true?
A: according to MarshallR@ASUS in this post "Notes before buying a G751 series laptop": http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?52776-Notes-before-buying-G751-series. yes. the CH71 that comes with only 1TB HD will have no PCIE M.2 bracket.


2.Q: does CH71 support PCI-E M.2?
A. It seems it sure supports it. as OC_Agent said in this post http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?p=451734#post451734 : "
is it possible to install 2x2.5 SSD in RAID0 Mode ???
Stilom, I don't believe so. There is two separate drive bay and I don't think they can give you a raid arraw. However, one of the two drives bay has a m.2 socket working at full speed, making any RAID 0 configuration irrelevant.
"


3.Q: does CH71 comes with different specification? such as one spec with 1TB7200RPMHDD, another spec with 1TBHDD+128GB SSD?
NOT SOLVED.


4.Q: can CH71 with only 1TB HD shipped be upgraded with additional SSD?
according to https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=akjzKO4HfQQ&t=13m15s and http://rog.asus.com/375732014/g-series-gaming-laptops/gallery-g751-upgrade-guide/. We can see it should have the bay on the left empty, so it should be able to accomodate a mSATA SSD on the left bay. but because no PCI-E M.2 bracket/caddy is provided, you won't be able to just buy a M.2 SSD and install it.


5.Q: can anyone post a link to picture of a PCI-E M.2 caddy?
its in their official upgrade guide: http://rog.asus.com/375732014/g-series-gaming-laptops/gallery-g751-upgrade-guide/



---------------------------------
P.S. I will update this thread as my findings progress. ( I hope you dont delete my post again )

bookedirl
12-03-2014, 02:29 AM
1. Correct it does NOT come with a bracket.
You can add a M.2 SSD but according to Marshall you need to 3D print a m.2 caddy to support because well.. ASUS :)
or you can make some custom support if you're good at that kind of thing.
2. Yes it supports PCI-E M.2 it has the connection in the first bay just like the DH72.
3. I've seen a CH71 with more ram but they all had the 1TB HDD. I believe the next model up DH72 has 1TB HDD and M.2 SSD
4. Yes you can upgrade to an SSD. There's a few threads here with information on transporting data from one HDD to another.

ROGscholar
12-03-2014, 02:57 AM
I am OP, why is my post deleted without any notice? what exact forum guideline did I offend?

Richdog
12-03-2014, 07:51 AM
No idea why your post was deleted, but I think it is absolutely disgusting that our laptops come with an M2 slot, and yet we cannot get a caddy to add an M2 drive. I would in fact be very surprised if this was legal to be refused working access to a working feature.

ASUS need to resolve this asap or they are going to get a hell of a lot of backlash of angry users who have an M2 slot that they cant use, because someone at ASUS in their iunfinite wisdom decided: "hey I know, we will only provide a caddy for osme laptops and not others, despite that having all the same functionality".

Completely illogical, and in my opinion boils down to a contempt for the customer (ie: they don't care what we think).

ROGscholar
12-03-2014, 01:09 PM
oh great, my post is back.

SDEagle
01-05-2015, 10:26 PM
3.Q: does CH71 comes with different specification? such as one spec with 1TB7200RPMHDD, another spec with 1TBHDD+128GB SSD?
NOT SOLVED.

Yes, it's called as G751JT-DH72, which comes with 1TB HDD + 256GB SSD (and still with GTX 970M)

Source @ http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1083622-REG/asus_g751jt_dh72_i7_4710hq_2_5g_16gb_1tb_256_windo ws8_1_17_3.html

jinishans
05-27-2015, 01:52 AM
See this thread, we've got finally some answer from a user.

He's installed the latest SM951 M.2 SSD (though he get's only 1400MB/s not 2GB/s as per the spec) and below that he manged to have a 2.5' SSD which is a SATA 3 (6GB/s), both of them in one bay, 2nd bay is SATA 2 (1.5MB/s) and he has installed another 2.5' SSD with a HDD caddy in the CD drive (6GB/s). So, it's pretty much possible and AFAIK this is only Laptop I've seen with PCIe + 970/980M card.

Zombievac
05-27-2015, 04:26 PM
See this thread, we've got finally some answer from a user.

He's installed the latest SM951 M.2 SSD (though he get's only 1400MB/s not 2GB/s as per the spec) and below that he manged to have a 2.5' SSD which is a SATA 3 (6GB/s), both of them in one bay, 2nd bay is SATA 2 (1.5MB/s) and he has installed another 2.5' SSD with a HDD caddy in the CD drive (6GB/s). So, it's pretty much possible and AFAIK this is only Laptop I've seen with PCIe + 970/980M card.

Be careful with your spec abbreviations. 6 GB/s (doesn't exist) is very different from the actual SATA3 spec, which is 6Gb/s (small "b", as in bits, not bytes), or about 8x slower than 6 GB/s. Which is why PCIe SSDs can hit 2 GB/s theoretically, though these ones max out at less than that, and SATA 3 drives seem to max out at 750 MB/s (though in reality it seems to be 600 MB/s for all the drives I've heard of).

I'm surprised he's getting 1400 MB/s, actually. I only get 1175 MB/s and many users here are posting that they get 1080 MB/s with the built in PCIe SSDs.

jinishans
06-07-2015, 03:51 AM
Be careful with your spec abbreviations. 6 GB/s (doesn't exist) is very different from the actual SATA3 spec, which is 6Gb/s (small "b", as in bits, not bytes), or about 8x slower than 6 GB/s. Which is why PCIe SSDs can hit 2 GB/s theoretically, though these ones max out at less than that, and SATA 3 drives seem to max out at 750 MB/s (though in reality it seems to be 600 MB/s for all the drives I've heard of).

I'm surprised he's getting 1400 MB/s, actually. I only get 1175 MB/s and many users here are posting that they get 1080 MB/s with the built in PCIe SSDs.

Thanks, though I know the diff between Gb vs GB, it was a mistake.

I've a quick Q.

49682

49683

49684

I too just got my GT-CH71 couple of days back from costco, it doesn't have a M.2 connector. I was just wondering is it possible to still fix a M.2 ssd or it's not advisable ?

aeolisio
07-21-2015, 12:39 AM
After searching these forums for a M.2 bracket I actually made a 3d printed M.2 bracket myself. Well i made 13 versions before i found one that was perfect but its on shapeways if anyone still needs one. It has an open top for heatsinks. It also leaves enough room for the 850 EVO to fit naked. With heatsinks attached i got an average 7 degree drop in crystaldiskmark with the SM951.
http://shpws.me/J8lX

jinishans
08-11-2015, 02:26 AM
After searching these forums for a M.2 bracket I actually made a 3d printed M.2 bracket myself. Well i made 13 versions before i found one that was perfect but its on shapeways if anyone still needs one. It has an open top for heatsinks. It also leaves enough room for the 850 EVO to fit naked. With heatsinks attached i got an average 7 degree drop in crystaldiskmark with the SM951.
http://shpws.me/J8lX


Gr8 to know that, but, Nope I was asking about the connector itself on the MB, which is missing in my G751JT, which is kind of weired !!!


49682

49683

49684

Can someone suggest whether it's possible to add the PCIe/M.2 Connector (there's open spot which clearly is for M.2, in Bay 1), not sure whether it's advisable. Someone in another thread mentioned it would cost more, but, my Q is whether it's possible to Add a M.2 connector in that spot, then I can try adding a M.2 drive in my JT.

jinishans
08-31-2015, 10:26 PM
Gr8 to know that, but, Nope I was asking about the connector itself on the MB, which is missing in my G751JT, which is kind of weired !!!


49682

49683

49684

Can someone suggest whether it's possible to add the PCIe/M.2 Connector (there's open spot which clearly is for M.2, in Bay 1), not sure whether it's advisable. Someone in another thread mentioned it would cost more, but, my Q is whether it's possible to Add a M.2 connector in that spot, then I can try adding a M.2 drive in my JT.

Can anyone update on this after seeing above images I've posted. Is it possible to add a connector (there's an option), but not sure it'll void the warranty or I should do that ?

aeolisio
08-31-2015, 10:36 PM
Can anyone update on this after seeing above images I've posted. Is it possible to add a connector (there's an option), but not sure it'll void the warranty or I should do that ?
No shop i can think of will solder a m.2 connector on that and any that will will not only void your warranty but be expensive. Some people have RMAed g751s that didnt have the connector and got lucky with new motherboards with connectors so that might be your best bet.

jinishans
08-31-2015, 10:50 PM
No shop i can think of will solder a m.2 connector on that and any that will will not only void your warranty but be expensive. Some people have RMAed g751s that didnt have the connector and got lucky with new motherboards with connectors so that might be your best bet.

Ya, that was the answer I got from another thread. Thanks for confirming that and you quick response.

I'll try to get an RMA to see they can replace my MB which has a M.2 port.

Believe below is the link for the RMA.

https://cms-am.asus.com/ecp/Rma.html

adsfewfaeff32fsdfds
11-21-2015, 11:23 PM
I bought the bracket for the G751JT - http://shpws.me/J8lX. Works great. I bought the Samsung SM951 512GB NVMe MZVPV512HDGL-00000 M.2 80mm PCIe 3.0 x4 SSD - OEM.

I cloned the C: drive with TODO EaseUS backup and also the EFI System Partition. I can see the drive in Windows and access files when booted to the 1TB spinner. The drive is not visible in BIOS. BIOS version is G751JT.210 8/10/2015, which is the latest. When I pull the spinner hard drive the laptop only boots to BIOS setup.

Is there some setting in the BIOS so that it recognizes the SSD?

In the attached image the F: drive is the SSD.

aeolisio
11-22-2015, 12:23 AM
I bought the bracket for the G751JT - http://shpws.me/J8lX. Works great. I bought the Samsung SM951 512GB NVMe MZVPV512HDGL-00000 M.2 80mm PCIe 3.0 x4 SSD - OEM.

I cloned the C: drive with TODO EaseUS backup and also the EFI System Partition. I can see the drive in Windows and access files when booted to the 1TB spinner. The drive is not visible in BIOS. BIOS version is G751JT.210 8/10/2015, which is the latest. When I pull the spinner hard drive the laptop only boots to BIOS setup.

Is there some setting in the BIOS so that it recognizes the SSD?

In the attached image the F: drive is the SSD.
This is common when cloning a hdd to a ssd. Do a clean uefi install with a usb stick.
The best and easiest guide is here
https://www.ramcity.com.au/blog/how-to-install-windows-8.1-on-the-samsung-xp941-ss/138296
Post some pics of your m.2 bracket here if you can plz
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?71609-G751JY-DB73X-and-other-G751-s-M-2-bracket-3d-printed-and-heatsinked

adsfewfaeff32fsdfds
11-22-2015, 03:32 PM
This is common when cloning a hdd to a ssd. Do a clean uefi install with a usb stick.
The best and easiest guide is here
https://www.ramcity.com.au/blog/how-to-install-windows-8.1-on-the-samsung-xp941-ss/138296
Post some pics of your m.2 bracket here if you can plz
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?71609-G751JY-DB73X-and-other-G751-s-M-2-bracket-3d-printed-and-heatsinked

Thanks for such a quick response. I do appreciate it and I hope it helps others

Here's where I'm at. It still won't boot to the SSD and the BIOS does not recognize it. Steps I have taken:

Used Rufus to transfer the Windows 10 ISO to a 16GB USB stick (recently purchased)
Pulled the spinner drive
Boot to USB stick and install Windows, first deleting all partitions on the SSD
Windows installs without error
Upon reboot the BIOS screen is displayed, SSD is not detected
Reboot again and I get this message: Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key
Reset BIOS to defaults
Reinstalled Windows again, same result
I then download and attempt to install the BIOS again (same latest version, 210), WinFlash won't allow reinstallation of same version of BIOS

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

BTW, I will upload a pic of the tray and SSD. I don't have long enough screws to attach to the laptop so I am using scotch tape for now :)

aeolisio
11-22-2015, 09:53 PM
Thanks for such a quick response. I do appreciate it and I hope it helps others

Here's where I'm at. It still won't boot to the SSD and the BIOS does not recognize it. Steps I have taken:

Used Rufus to transfer the Windows 10 ISO to a 16GB USB stick (recently purchased)
Pulled the spinner drive
Boot to USB stick and install Windows, first deleting all partitions on the SSD
Windows installs without error
Upon reboot the BIOS screen is displayed, SSD is not detected
Reboot again and I get this message: Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key
Reset BIOS to defaults
Reinstalled Windows again, same result
I then download and attempt to install the BIOS again (same latest version, 210), WinFlash won't allow reinstallation of same version of BIOS

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

BTW, I will upload a pic of the tray and SSD. I don't have long enough screws to attach to the laptop so I am using scotch tape for now :)

Verify you purchased a AHCI sm951 and not a NVME one. It should start with with MZ-HPV not MZ-VPV. Also make sure you booted the usb as UEFI