PDA

View Full Version : How much configuration difference is possible between retailers?

tjbc
12-08-2014, 11:12 PM
I'm kinda new to this scene and am wondering how exactly it works. Apparently Asus sells the laptops to the retailers, and then the retailers sell them to the public, so my question is, what is the basic unit that Asus delivers to them, does it even have a hard drive in it? The reason I ask is that from what I can tell, the Amazon G751JY-DH71 has a 256GB PCIE SSD, whereas the XoticPC ASUS G751JY-DH71 has a 256GB SATA SSD. So what I am asking is, does Asus deliver them to the retailer without an SSD and the retailer gets to decide what to put in it as long as it corresponds to the 256GB SSD description that Asus gives to the unit?

tjbc
12-08-2014, 11:18 PM
And the oddest thing to me about it is that XoticPC offers so very many upcharge opportunities in so many areas, but they don't offer PCIe SSD's as an option at all.

hmscott
12-08-2014, 11:39 PM
And the oddest thing to me about it is that XoticPC offers so very many upcharge opportunities in so many areas, but they don't offer PCIe SSD's as an option at all.

tjbc, have you done business with them before, is that why you are trying to work with them? They had mSATA listed for the JY upon release, and still have the mSATA choices for the G751JY, they list M.2 mSATA parts with part numbers that can be M.2 or mSATA parts, here is an example:

ASUS G751JY-DH72X
http://www.xoticpc.com/asus-g751jydh72x-p-7608.html?wconfigure=yes

mSATA Option: Operating System Installed [Default] w/ mSATA(s) selected below
mSATA Option: Caching w/ mSATA(s) selected below ( + 0 )

512GB Solid State Drive [M.2] mSATA - Stock
512GB Crucial M550 Solid State Drive [M.2] mSATA (Read 550MB/s - Write 500MB/s) ( + 299 )
512GB ADATA Solid State Drive [M.2] mSATA (Read 550MB/s - Write 530MB/s) ( + 309 )
512GB Samsung PM851 Solid State Drive [M.2] mSATA (Read 540MB/s - Write 365MB/s) ( + 359 )