PDA

View Full Version : Does G751JT-CH71 have M.2. slot?



Adly2010
12-10-2014, 05:42 PM
Welcome :)
that's my first post here.
1- Does G751JT-CH71 have M.2. slot?
2- after using ssd, boot time how many seconds?
3- its processor with turboboost or not ?

Thanks

toronto699
12-10-2014, 06:00 PM
http://www.hidevolution.com/new-laptops/asus-g751jy-dh72x-i7-4860hq-4gb-nvidia-gtx-980m-17-3.html
here is what u can add to a G751 , yes u can add a M.2 ssd but u have to buy a caddy as well this is the G751 I bought with 3 SSD HDs and a Blueray caddy to swap out the SSD HD and repalce it with the BD when I need to

Adly2010
12-10-2014, 06:39 PM
i asked about jt not jy

Adly2010
12-11-2014, 01:39 PM
non reply ?

tjbc
12-11-2014, 01:53 PM
All g751's have an M2 connector, but only the ones that come with an M2 drive have the mounting bracket needed to secure it, but it can be secured by other means if you are clever.

Adly2010
12-11-2014, 03:57 PM
All g751's have an M2 connector, but only the ones that come with an M2 drive have the mounting bracket needed to secure it, but it can be secured by other means if you are clever.

thanks
you mean i can buy G751JT-CH71 and buy m.2. drive then use my cleverness to fix it without bracket ?
question again ? are you sure 100% G751JT-CH71 have working m.2. slot ? :)

hmscott
12-11-2014, 04:41 PM
thanks
you mean i can buy G751JT-CH71 and buy m.2. drive then use my cleverness to fix it without bracket ?
question again ? are you sure 100% G751JT-CH71 have working m.2. slot ? :)

Adly2010, it might be more clever to buy the configuration with the M.2 drive in it already. As the price you will pay for the Samsung XP941 will be high as well. You won't save much money, and the hassle of cloning the OS and having a make-shift caddy for the M.2 drive add to the cost in time.

Some have reported that using Asus Backtracker to back up the 1TB HDD won't restore to the M.2 drive, but that might be incompatible USB flash drives. Something to keep in mind, you may have to use cloning software like Macrium Reflect Free to clone the OS from the HDD to your M.2 SSD.

All of the JY's have an M.2 slot as confirmed many times.

Also confirmed, the 2nd Bay, the one without the M.2 connector, is SATA II only.

Update: Some JY owners reported not having an M.2 connector, but it may be limited to their region. That region also did not sell M.2 SSD configured JY's

ROGscholar
12-11-2014, 05:46 PM
this question was literally researched inside out already. just spend sometime in forum and you will find abundance of answers.