PDA

View Full Version : G750JM Thunderbolt Port not working

loge2001
12-17-2014, 01:29 AM
Hi all,
I have a Asus G750JM with the Thunderbolt port an an external hard drive that uses that port. It has worked fine in the past, but i used the refresh feature on my laptop and now it only works if i plug it in and then turn the computer on. I went on the Asus website and got the thunderbolt software, but that didn't help.

Thanks,
loge2001

EDIT1: Now it's not working at all. I noticed that when I enable ThunderboltTM Controller driver on device mananger, it disables USB Composite device and my usb stuff stops working. To enable it, i have to reboot.

errol.afed
12-18-2014, 03:26 PM
Newbie here, same laptop and same problem. I borrowed a friend's Buffalo hard drive with Thunderbolt and I'm having the same problem. I have a
Lacie esata hub and it's the same. What could be the problem? I already installed the driver for the esata hub but it's still not working.

errol.afed
12-21-2014, 12:24 AM
Help anyone? Has anyone else come across this problem and was able to fix it? I've been searching the net for possible solutions and have yet to come across one. Lacie products are supposedly Windows certified, is this an issue with Windows 8.1? With the problem of loge2001, his Thunderbolt device worked for some time while mine never worked.

hmscott
12-21-2014, 06:32 AM
There is a newer driver at Intel (2.0.4.250) than the one at Asus (1.4.0.1):

Thunderbolt: Intel Thunderbolt driver - Installs the Thunderbolt driver version 2.0.4.250.
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=23742&lang=eng&wapkw=thunderbolt

errol.afed
12-22-2014, 03:00 AM
Thanks for the reply hmscott, installed the driver but the result is still the same, still getting the device not windows
certified. This getting to be very
frustrating since one of the reasons I got this laptop is because of the Thunderbolt port. I work as a DIT and when
dealing with large files specially