PDA

View Full Version : G751 - AC WLAN only at 7 MB per sec!?



xamoel
12-21-2014, 04:48 PM
Hi,
I have a Fritzbox 7490 mit 5Ghz AC Wlan, my G751JY is directly next to it, yet when writing several large (6-10GB) files my writing speed on my Synology Nas (I'm copying files from my Laptop to my NAS) is only 7 MBps max.

What is wrong with this thing? This annoys the hell out of me!
When I plug the cable into my laptop I get 120 MBps...

ELZZZORRO
01-05-2015, 11:26 PM
Set your Security Options to: WPA2-PSK [AES]. That should help. However, the best you going to get is 18 MB/s. There is definitely an issue with Windows 8.1 and Intel. Keep pointing fingers at each other. Driver issue, not Asus. With my other laptop with Windows 7 Pro, I am hitting up to 46 MB/s. I even installed the: USB-AC56R Wirless adapter and same thing. The system assigns both wireless adapters to USB 2.0 ( USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller -see attached pic ) therefore, you can not get pass the 18 MB/s transfer speeds. So for now I ended running the CAT6 cable to get decent speeds up to 100MB/s +.

cablebandit
01-06-2015, 02:01 PM
Set your Security Options to: WPA2-PSK [AES]. That should help. However, the best you going to get is 18 MB/s. There is definitely an issue with Windows 8.1 and Intel. Keep pointing fingers at each other. Driver issue, not Asus. With my other laptop with Windows 7 Pro, I am hitting up to 46 MB/s. I even installed the: USB-AC56R Wirless adapter and same thing. The system assigns both wireless adapters to USB 2.0 ( USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller -see attached pic ) therefore, you can not get pass the 18 MB/s transfer speeds. So for now I ended running the CAT6 cable to get decent speeds up to 100MB/s +.

interesting and thanks for the technical info. I too have noticed wireless stuck at 18mb/s. I just installed the 12/29/2014 intel driver...no change

hmscott
01-06-2015, 02:11 PM
Set your Security Options to: WPA2-PSK [AES]. That should help. However, the best you going to get is 18 MB/s. There is definitely an issue with Windows 8.1 and Intel. Keep pointing fingers at each other. Driver issue, not Asus. With my other laptop with Windows 7 Pro, I am hitting up to 46 MB/s. I even installed the: USB-AC56R Wirless adapter and same thing. The system assigns both wireless adapters to USB 2.0 ( USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller -see attached pic ) therefore, you can not get pass the 18 MB/s transfer speeds. So for now I ended running the CAT6 cable to get decent speeds up to 100MB/s +.

ELZZZORRO, the image you posted says it is for the Bluetooth portion of the 7260, not the Wifi side.

Please plug in the AC56R again, and disable the built-in Wifi, and post the details for that USB 3.0 device:
http://www.asus.com/us/Networking/USBAC56R/

Besides using WPA2-AES, also enable WMM in the router.

What make/model router are you using?

xamoel
01-06-2015, 08:54 PM
I also got up to 20 something, my router is a Fritzbox 7490.
Well at least the unit isn't faulty.
Still sucks.

ELZZZORRO
01-06-2015, 11:12 PM
Hi hmscott, it is well known that there are some devices that currently don’t work with the Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller. Please review this link for detail info: http://plugable.com/2012/12/01/windows-8-and-intel-usb-3-0-host-controllers

This, "apparently" is an issue that Microsoft and the PC maker have to work on a permanent solution.

As posted above, on my initial post, the internal wireless card (Realtek AC7260) in my G751JY has the a speed cap @ 20 MB/s max), as it is locked as USB 2.0 due to the issue with Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller.

And it is the same issue with the external wireless USB AC56R adapter. As per your request, please find attached pic of the
USB AC56R adapter ( locked to the

WWM it is actually enabled.

I own 2 AC routers with the latest rev:

1.- NETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
2.- Linksys WRT1900AC Dual-Band Wireless-AC

Thanks for your reply and interest to this matter.

45157

ELZZZORRO

hmscott
01-06-2015, 11:36 PM
Hi hmscott, it is well known that there are some devices that currently don’t work with the Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller. Please review this link for detail info: http://plugable.com/2012/12/01/windows-8-and-intel-usb-3-0-host-controllers

This, "apparently" is an issue that Microsoft and the PC maker have to work on a permanent solution.

As posted above, on my initial post, the internal wireless card (Realtek AC7260) in my G751JY has the a speed cap @ 20 MB/s max), as it is locked as USB 2.0 due to the issue with Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller.

And it is the same issue with the external wireless USB AC56R adapter. As per your request, please find attached pic of the
USB AC56R adapter ( locked to the

WWM it is actually enabled.

I own 2 AC routers with the latest rev:

1.- NETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
2.- Linksys WRT1900AC Dual-Band Wireless-AC

Thanks for your reply and interest to this matter.

ELZZZORRO

ELZZZORRO, wow, that's really odd. I used that same adapter on a G750JW/JX and it ran at full speed USB 3.0, and I was running Windows 8.1 at the time I got these results on wireless/wired:

USB-AC56R - Asus RT-AC68U Wifi JX
45158

Ethernet JX - RT-AC68U
45159

That was the max speed of the internet at the time, and my USB 3.0 external SSD 512GB got much higher speeds on USB 3.0 as well.

Have you tried the driver swap as in that article? It says no longer recommended, but it looks like it gets results.

Weird. I would report this to Asus both from the G751 registration and the USB-AC56R registration. You've got solid images / numbers so they can recreate the problem.

Has anyone reported a USB 3.0 Wifi adapter that is immune to this bug?

I thought both the G750/G751 used the same motherboard chipset, which would be using the same USB 3.0 driver stack, I wonder why the different results?

Thanks ELZZZORRO

ELZZZORRO
01-07-2015, 12:01 AM
Hi Hmscott, I am not talking about internet speeds (Mbps) but Lan speed (MB/s) on my home network. Big difference between: Megabit (Mb) and Megabyte (MB). 57.57 Mbps equals to 7.14 MB/s. I have the same internet download speeds (50Mbps Down & 10Mbps Up) The issue is with my Lan transfer speed on my network ( transferring files from my NAS server or pc to pc files ). 18 MB/s (MB/s used for file size) transfer speeds on an AC wireless network is not that good at all.

hmscott
01-07-2015, 12:19 AM
Hi Hmscott, I am not talking about internet speeds (Mbps) but Lan speed (MB/s) on my home network. Big difference between: Megabit (Mb) and Megabyte (MB). 57.57 Mbps equals to 7.14 MB/s. I have the same internet download speeds (50Mbps Down & 10Mbps Up) The issue is with my Lan transfer speed on my network ( transferring files from my NAS server or pc to pc files ). 18 MB/s (MB/s used for file size) transfer speeds on an AC wireless network is not that good at all.

ELZZZORRO, got it, file transfer speed not internet speed.

What do your Wifi Adapter's Status show for connection speed?

With AC1300 you should be seeing a 866.5mbps connection:
45163

What is your file copy method? Mounted volume? FTP, or? Minimizing the overhead due to transfer protocol on a slow link can help. Pick a faster transfer method with less overhead / handshaking.

I haven't needed to do this for a while, I don't rely on wifi for file transfers often, but using a program like WinSCP or another similar program could speed things up greatly.

WinSCP Free SFTP, SCP and FTP client for Windows
http://winscp.net/eng/download.php

Filezilla
https://filezilla-project.org/

psftp / PuTTY
http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

Have you looked at the 2.4ghz/5ghz interference around your center channels?

inSSIDer is a great tool, it used to be free, now it is paid only from the maker, but you can still download the old free version:

http://inssider.soft32.com/download/file/id/1225108/?lp=adwords&tg=us&kw=Inssider+download&mt=e&ad=44747813598&pl=&ds=s&gclid=CO32_qzagMMCFY5vvAodIS4A1Q

inSSIDer site
http://www.inssider.com/

If you have a good connection, and you aren't seeing better throughput, interference can drop the throughput greatly.

You won't know until you look, it can get quite busy out there :)

ELZZZORRO
01-07-2015, 12:50 AM
hmscott, throughput over Gbit CAT6 ethernet = 100 MB/s +/-.

My Mac Pro, running Windows 7 transfer rates with the ASUS Wireless USB-AC56 = 57 MB/s. <-- Rocks!!!

Only a couple of people that own G751's understands this issue. You are limited to 18 MB/s on your WLAN.

One of the new features of Windows 8 is the built in XHCI host controller software and USB stack. While this brings some benefits like UASP support, there are some devices that currently don’t work with the Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller and one of them is the Intel Dual band Wireless A 7260 WIFI adapter installed in these G751 laptops.

I do tons of video editing and WLAN file transfers over wireless AC Network. Therefore, my incredible G751-JY (and I hate to say this) will have to go back to the store where I bought it from 13 days ago. These laptop machines rock, however I can not install Windows 7 on these machines in order to get a decent AC WLAN transfer rates, as Windows 7 is going obsolete.

These Asus Republic of Gamers Forums are incredible. Keep the good work.

ELZZZORRO
01-07-2015, 01:07 AM
hmscott, on my Wireless Network Connection Status screen. The speed is the same: 866.7 Mbps. But this is what you are capable archiving as per your router. However, if your wireless adapter is locked (xHCI host controller) at USB 2, the max you'll get is 160,00 Mbps (20 MB/s transfer rates).45172

hmscott
01-07-2015, 01:19 AM
hmscott, throughput over Gbit CAT6 ethernet = 100 MB/s +/-.

My Mac Pro, running Windows 7 transfer rates with the ASUS Wireless USB-AC56 = 57 MB/s. <-- Rocks!!!

Only a couple of people that own G751's understands this issue. You are limited to 18 MB/s on your WLAN.

One of the new features of Windows 8 is the built in XHCI host controller software and USB stack. While this brings some benefits like UASP support, there are some devices that currently don’t work with the Microsoft stack on the Intel USB 3.0 host controller and one of them is the Intel Dual band Wireless A 7260 WIFI adapter installed in these G751 laptops.

I do tons of video editing and WLAN file transfers over wireless AC Network. Therefore, my incredible G751-JY (and I hate to say this) will have to go back to the store where I bought it from 13 days ago. These laptop machines rock, however I can not install Windows 7 on these machines in order to get a decent AC WLAN transfer rates, as Windows 7 is going obsolete.

These Asus Republic of Gamers Forums are incredible. Keep the good work.

ELZZZORRO, your Mac is getting the throughput I would expect. Before you give up on the current state of things, 20MB/sec is only 1/2 the Mac throughput, terrible yes, but will it slow up your workflow that much?

Refresh the page and look at my last post again, sometimes I get into thinking / research mode and keep updating the same post, and there are several programs that will get around the network mounted file system overhead, and might get you close enough to the Mac throughput to make it useful until Microsoft / Intel / Asus come up with a fix.

Even if you have a max fixed rate of throughput with the bad USB, reducing the transfer protocol overhead might help enough.

I assume you are going from SSD on your G571 to the network, but if you are going from an HDD, you might use quietHDD to turn off APM to reduce head parking and spin down - if the OS is reading ahead and caching it might be long enough between reads/writes for the disk APM to affect throughput.

quiethdd - set APM/AAM to 255/255 in settings, and select Disable APM in the systray app right click pop up.
https://sites.google.com/site/quiethdd/

You can also disable Device manager settings for power save on internal/external devices / internal hubs. And, disable spinning down the HDD / SSD in the power plan advanced settings.

hmscott
01-07-2015, 01:28 AM
hmscott, on my Wireless Network Connection Status screen. The speed is the same: 866.7 Mbps. But this is what you are capable archiving as per your router. However, if your wireless adapter is locked (xHCI host controller) at USB 2, the max you'll get is 160,00 Mbps (20 MB/s transfer rates).

ELZZZORRO, connection speed at 866.7 looks good.

Refresh page again for last post, added more potential tweaks to try - now that I know you are thinking of returning it, we should try everything potentially possible to get the throughput up high enough to be productive until better USB drivers are available. :)

ELZZZORRO
01-07-2015, 01:34 AM
hmscott, hehehehe...you are D' man! Thanks for your help and support. I did try everything for at least 2 days. However, back to your original question in regards to the tweak posted on this site: http://plugable.com/2012/12/01/windows-8-and-intel-usb-3-0-host-controllers it will be my next try and see what happens. I will try this tomorrow as I have to run. Thanks again for your help.

hmscott
01-07-2015, 01:39 AM
hmscott, hehehehe...you are D' man! Thanks for your help and support. I did try everything for at least 2 days. However, back to your original question in regards to the tweak posted on this site: http://plugable.com/2012/12/01/windows-8-and-intel-usb-3-0-host-controllers it will be my next try and see what happens. I will try this tomorrow as I have to run. Thanks again for your help.

ELZZZORRO, that will be awesome if it works :)

Good luck!

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 01:49 AM
ELZZZORRO, that will be awesome if it works :)

Good luck!

Im about to try it....if you don't hear from me in a few days........lol

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 02:29 AM
hmmm...for me it will load the first inf file but gives me a code 10 error........never get the conditions to load the 2nd inf file...research continues

hmscott
01-07-2015, 04:12 AM
Update: so far the 1 person that has posted trying it on their G751 (cablebandit) hasn't made the procedure work, anyone else tried/trying?

Guys, good news, it works for the G750JH too :)

Windows 8 and Intel USB 3.0 Host Controllers
http://plugable.com/2012/12/01/windows-8-and-intel-usb-3-0-host-controllers

I followed the instructions, but I used a newer Intel(R)_USB_3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller_Driver _3.0.2.54 release 12/09/14 as a base, but used the original modified .inf files.

USB 3.0 Driver: Intel® USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller Driver for Intel® 8/9 Series and C220/C610 Chipset Family
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=22824

Earlier I was surprised to find the hwinfo64 info for my USB 3.0 Storage device said I was only running at USB Fast 2.0 speed, now after the install of the Win7 drivers with the modified .inf files, hwinfo64 is showing USB 3.0 SuperSpeed :)

45180

Here are the updated devices:

45181

45182

45183

Although it might not matter, I should also mention I updated my Intel INF drivers with 10.0.22, using an Admin cmd window, and "SetupChipset -overall" Downloaded from here:

File name: INF_Win7_8.1_10.0.22.zip
Version: 10.0.22 (Latest)
Date: 04/24/2014
Size: 2.6 MB
Language: English
Operating Systems: Windows 7 (32-bit)*, Windows 7 (64-bit)*, Windows 8.1, 32-bit*, Windows 8.1, 64-bit*, Windows Embedded 8.1 Industry*, Windows Embedded Standard 7*, Windows Server 2008 R2*, Windows Server 2012 R2*
https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=24474

All the System Devices show Intel driver version 9.4.0.1017, I only found 1 device that says 10.0.22,

45184

Update: I did some testing, and even my slow 1TB HGST drive in the USB 3.0 enclosure is now a bit faster, 95MB/sec Read vs 86MB/sec Read and 93MB/sec Write vs 78MB/sec Write.

Update: so far the 1 person that has tried it on their G751 (cablebandit) hasn't made the procedure work, anyone else tried/trying?

ELZZZORRO, you are the one that posted the link to installing the Windows 7 Intel USB 3.0 drivers on Windows 8/8.1, have you tried it yet?

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 04:31 AM
i keep getting the error 10 code when installing the first driver...i have read others having the same problem.

hmscott
01-07-2015, 04:38 AM
i keep getting the error 10 code when installing the first driver...i have read others having the same problem.

cablebandit, did you try the newer USB 3.0 driver package from Intel, link in my post above, and in the comments section in the instructions post.

You need to follow the directions exactly, Use Disk and selecting the correct .inf is important.

Where did you find someone saying they also got a error 10 code?

Device cannot start error code 10, perhaps ignore it and continue to do the 2nd install? I initially forgot that the 2nd device was in "Others" instead of in USB device area, so be sure and open the Others section to find the unknown device to update on the 2nd .inf file

And, make sure you unplug all your USB devices that you can before doing this, as after the first driver update you lose all USB connectivity. I had to move to the built-in keyboard/trackpad to complete the driver install. :)

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 04:41 AM
I used the original driver files listed in the link and the newer ones you listed. I saw others in the comments and on other sites. I get the error code 10....reboot and there is no unknown device in OTHER. Did you get this to work on a g751?

hmscott
01-07-2015, 04:52 AM
I used the original driver files listed in the link and the newer ones you listed. I saw others in the comments and on other sites. I get the error code 10....reboot and there is no unknown device in OTHER. Did you get this to work on a g751?

cablebandit, as listed in my post, a G750JH. I am waiting a bit before getting my G751...

The chipsets should be the same, IDK what else it might be.

You don't see a device in Other, but do you see the updated Intel driver for the Intel(R)_USB_3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller device after the first update/reboot? If you don't see that then you need to try again.

When you selected Have Disk, and you select the iusb3xhc.inf file, do you then select the Intel(R)_USB_3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller from the list in the box? You need to Highlight it - when I did it it wasn't selected I needed to select it manually. Make sure you select it before clicking Ok.

The .inf files need to be copied to the Win7/x64 subdirectory and loaded from there:
C:\Users\hmscott\Downloads\Intel(R)_USB_3.0_eXtens ible_Host_Controller_Driver_3.0.2.54\Intel(R)_USB_ 3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller_Driver_3.0.2.54\Dri vers\Win7\x64

The same for the 2nd update, iusb3hub.inf, you need to select the USB 3.0 Hub from the list after using Have Disk to select the iusb3hub.inf file.

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 05:18 AM
yes I did all of that. The code 10 keeps the first driver from actually installing.

hmscott
01-07-2015, 05:34 AM
yes I did all of that. The code 10 keeps the first driver from actually installing.

cablebandit, sorry to hear that, that is disappointing...

There are other level drivers for other chipsets, do you have the Intel 8 Series / C220 series device entries in the Device manager Universal Serial Bus Controllers list? Or do you have a different device name / number listed?

45186

Update: I checked ELZZZORRO's hwinfo64 usb listing, and he is showing the same Intel 8 Series / C220 series device...

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 05:44 AM
yes.....I'm not sure what's causing the error. I even tried installing the usb3.0 root hub first. It installs but the controller driver still does not....code 10

hmscott
01-07-2015, 06:01 AM
yes.....I'm not sure what's causing the error. I even tried installing the usb3.0 root hub first. It installs but the controller driver still does not....code 10

cablebandit, when you look at the device properties, and the Events tab, what do you see? And if you list the Events, does the detail help suggest a solution / path to look?

45189

45190

hmscott
01-07-2015, 06:07 AM
Maybe a USB device that is relying on that device is holding it open/locked and not allowing it to be updated? Maybe disable the USB Wifi/BT, Webcam, and anything else that is hosted on USB before trying to update the USB 3.0 device?

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 06:13 AM
i see just what you just posted. No solution hinted at or the problem.

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 06:13 AM
Maybe a USB device that is relying on that device is holding it open/locked and not allowing it to be updated? Maybe disable the USB Wifi/BT, Webcam, and anything else that is hosted on USB before trying to update the USB 3.0 device?

i tried deleting everything USB but the controller....installed driver...same result

hmscott
01-07-2015, 06:15 AM
i tried deleting everything USB but the controller....installed driver...same result

cablebandit, too bad, that was the only other difference I could think of I hadn't already posted/mentioned, I had my webcam/microphone/WiFi/BT disabled already before I started.

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 06:24 AM
yeah we will see what happens in the future. Ive tried a million things because I like to experiment. Maybe ill get another idea at 3am while sleeping :) Thanks for the suggestions so far.

xamoel
01-07-2015, 10:46 AM
Ok, so Elzorro did you figure out the WLAN speed issue?
If so, what did you do?
thanks a lot!

cablebandit
01-07-2015, 01:00 PM
mine transfers at 20 megabytes per second. I assume once intel gets together with MS that we will get drivers that allow usb 3 speed

hmscott
01-07-2015, 08:44 PM
yeah we will see what happens in the future. Ive tried a million things because I like to experiment. Maybe ill get another idea at 3am while sleeping :) Thanks for the suggestions so far.

cablebandit, np, happy to help, hope it happens for you :)

ELZZZORRO
01-07-2015, 10:08 PM
Ok, so Elzorro did you figure out the WLAN speed issue?
If so, what did you do?
thanks a lot!

Nope, this is an ongoing issue. It is all over the net serious problems with the USB_3.0_eXtensible_Host_Controller_.

Many pages on forums over the net world-wide dedicated to this issue and no one, to my knowledge, has been able to figure it out.
Not even on Microsoft Support sites: http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows8_1-hardware/windows-81-pro-windows-update-messed-up-usb-30-on/ccff1a6e-92f4-40f0-87a4-7b94c2b4e634?page=5

I guess, for now, we should keep using the CAT cable connected directly to the router to keep decent WLAN speeds. I just disabled the internal crap AC wireless card.

xamoel
01-08-2015, 06:49 AM
Got it, thank you!

hmscott
02-20-2015, 03:32 PM
Set your Security Options to: WPA2-PSK [AES]. That should help. However, the best you going to get is 18 MB/s. There is definitely an issue with Windows 8.1 and Intel. Keep pointing fingers at each other. Driver issue, not Asus. With my other laptop with Windows 7 Pro, I am hitting up to 46 MB/s. I even installed the: USB-AC56R Wirless adapter and same thing. The system assigns both wireless adapters to USB 2.0 ( USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller -see attached pic ) therefore, you can not get pass the 18 MB/s transfer speeds. So for now I ended running the CAT6 cable to get decent speeds up to 100MB/s +.

ELZZZORRO, I didn't catch this before, but looking closer at your screen shot of the USB 1.1 speed connection - it is for the Bluetooth portion of the Wifi/BT card, the Wifi section should show up as a PCI device, look at the Network section with the Wifi enabled.

My G750JH shows the same thing. The Wifi section of my Killer Wireless 1202 card shows up in the Network section as a PCI device, and the BT section of the 1202 card shows up as a USB 1.1 connection. For BT speeds the USB 1.1 connection is fast enough.

46695

46696

Your internal Wifi should be able to run at full PCI throughput, much faster than you are seeing.

So the USB chipset driver issue doesn't affect your internal Wifi connection. :)

For the external USB 3.0 Wifi adapter, the USB 3.0 chipset driver problem does come into play.

You might try updating your internal Wifi driver again and see if you can get the speed up. Maybe it is an Intel 7260 incompatibility with your router/AP's?

ELZZZORRO
02-22-2015, 03:20 PM
Thanks Hmscott, I believe that Windows 8.1 is the issue. All machines (newer machines with AC and USB 3 capability ) at home running Windows 7 or Linux do not have this WLAN transfer / speed cap constraint.

pseico
02-26-2015, 11:24 PM
so what is the solution now =) ? i am also have a cap at 20mbit/S

ELZZZORRO
02-27-2015, 05:06 AM
so what is the solution now =) ? i am also have a cap at 20mbit/S

Well, try it. Transfer via wlan a file from your server. I yet do not know anyone (G751) that can hit over 20 MB/s ( not 20 Mb/s ).

alex_markov
03-07-2015, 04:09 PM
Funny enough when i installed win 8.1 at first i have achieved over 60 MB/s over WiFi, but after finishing "setup" i hang at ~20 MB/s and now am looking deseperetley for a solution. I have installed intel drivers and external USB's start working on USB 3, but as expected WiFi staid at 20 - any other ideas (i have tried virtualy everything up to latest intel drivers 17.13 No luck to see 60 MB/s again :(

xamoel
10-31-2015, 09:03 AM
Any news on this? Still the 7MB/s limit? My laptop is out of house, so I can't test it right now.

warryabel
11-01-2015, 09:43 AM
240-270 MBIT/s g751 with speedport 504v

xamoel
11-01-2015, 11:36 AM
What OS? I'm on windows 10, with a JY from 2014, 4170HQ.
What driver version are you using?
Thank you.

Wait a second. Did you actually try to copy a file over wifi? Because the speed shown in "wifi status" of course shows 866 Mbit/s, but the actual speed when copying maxes out at 7-8 MB/s. NOT Mbit.

warryabel
11-01-2015, 12:11 PM
win 8.1 driver 17.16.0.4 full speed on dsl 16000 never copyed a file from device to an other. there are many options on router and ac 7260 konfiguration. first time i had always connection issues.

xamoel
11-01-2015, 12:42 PM
Well that doens't answer the questin, a DSL 16000 is merely 2 MB/s.

xamoel
11-12-2015, 12:46 PM
I'm about to send the laptop in to RMA.
If they can't fix it, I want a refund, as I doens't stand up to its specs. I bought it less than a year ago, and I'm sick of waiting for new drivers or a new OS that still doesn't work.
Apart from that whole GSync-atrocy. Have to say I lost fate in Asus QC and support a while ago. Problems with my Maximus IV Extreme-Z, Phoebus, G751JY, and no solution at all. Probably not going to buy another Asus product or recommend it, next time I'll rather pay premium and get something that works as it's supposed to.

diogogmaio
11-12-2015, 05:05 PM
Set your Security Options to: WPA2-PSK [AES]. That should help. However, the best you going to get is 18 MB/s. There is definitely an issue with Windows 8.1 and Intel. Keep pointing fingers at each other. Driver issue, not Asus. With my other laptop with Windows 7 Pro, I am hitting up to 46 MB/s. I even installed the: USB-AC56R Wirless adapter and same thing. The system assigns both wireless adapters to USB 2.0 ( USB xHCI Compliant Host Controller -see attached pic ) therefore, you can not get pass the 18 MB/s transfer speeds. So for now I ended running the CAT6 cable to get decent speeds up to 100MB/s +.

So I saw you have the same problem i am trying to figure out...you have a device 15 with deviece general failure...have you understand what is the problem?

53574

xamoel
11-13-2015, 12:23 PM
Same here. Also device failure.

warryabel
11-14-2015, 10:06 AM
So I saw you have the same problem i am trying to figure out...you have a device 15 with deviece general failure...have you understand what is the problem?

53574
you show the blutooth device 53604

xamoel
11-16-2015, 10:07 AM
Wether it's bluetooth or not, the bloody thing still won't reach over 18MB/s.
I'm sending it in to Asus next week, if it doens't work after that, they'll have to replace it.
Luckily laws here are quite consumer-friendly.

diogogmaio
11-16-2015, 10:51 AM
Wether it's bluetooth or not, the bloody thing still won't reach over 18MB/s.
I'm sending it in to Asus next week, if it doens't work after that, they'll have to replace it.
Luckily laws here are quite consumer-friendly.

Also I don't understand that device port 15 stuff.....?!?!?!

xamoel
11-21-2015, 03:06 PM
Well neither do I, I didn't post that.

Who else here has an appropriate WLAN to test the AC-speeds when moving data over wireless to a NAS f.e.? I'm interested if it's a problem with all G751, or just mine.

diogogmaio
11-21-2015, 07:11 PM
you showed the port 15 stuff in your screens...i think having a devicegeneral failure in our system...in every g751jy...it is not good also...

xamoel
11-21-2015, 07:26 PM
I never posted a screenshot, I just said my device manager looked the same.

diogogmaio
11-21-2015, 10:22 PM
yeah sorry...ELLZORRO did that and I make a mistake. but yeah...at least 3 guys who have a device general failure and a intel card lower speeds...

xamoel
11-21-2015, 10:37 PM
Do you have a reference what the Intel AC-7260 is capable of in other laptops? If I'm going to send it in, I may need a reference for my lawyer if the card really performs lower than it should.