PDA

View Full Version : G751 2 TB HD stopps spinning

MikeW83
12-30-2014, 09:25 AM
Hello,

I'm new with my ASUS G751JY. It's a great notebook, BUT... I have installed some games on the second hard disk (2 TB) and during the game I noticed some lags. I listend to my hard drive and every time when such langs occure the drive stopped spinning and has to start again. I hope you know what I mean.

Is there any possibility to stop this "power saving mode" on my hard disk?

Thank you very much.

Best regards, Michael

ReDFoX2200
12-30-2014, 05:14 PM
in windows go to Power Options -> (select the plan ur are always using)-> Change Advanced power Settings
there you should see Hard disk ->Turn off hard disk after -> type "0" (zero for never)
good luck

hmscott
12-30-2014, 05:23 PM
Hello,

I'm new with my ASUS G751JY. It's a great notebook, BUT... I have installed some games on the second hard disk (2 TB) and during the game I noticed some lags. I listend to my hard drive and every time when such langs occure the drive stopped spinning and has to start again. I hope you know what I mean.

Is there any possibility to stop this "power saving mode" on my hard disk?

Thank you very much.

Best regards, Michael

in windows go to Power Options -> (select the plan ur are always using)-> Change Advanced power Settings
there you should see Hard disk ->Turn off hard disk after -> type "0" (zero for never)
good luck

Guys, Windows power save feature isn't the only power management in action, the HDD has APM that can be disabled to stop head parking and powering down done by the HDD on it's own.

quiethdd is a few years old now, but still works. You need to run it at each boot and apply the settings. There is a GUI and CLI commands.

https://sites.google.com/site/quiethdd/#TOC-Windows-Power-Settings:

Disabling APM, setting both values to 255, stops in game load lag.

Have fun :)

MikeW83
12-30-2014, 10:50 PM