PDA

View Full Version : Max Memory for G74SX?



fostert
11-04-2011, 03:33 AM
ASUS' new promo page for the G74SX (http://promos.asus.com/us/g74/index.htm) is now claiming the max memory supported is only 12 GB, yet the old page says 16 GB. I currently have 8 GB in my G74SX-CST1 and bought it with the intention of going up to 16 GB in the immediate future.

Anyone out there happily running 16 GB in a G74SX, or have I been had?


Will this thing really only support 12 GB?

Thanks!

Lismail0
11-04-2011, 04:23 AM
I currently have 14GBs of ram in My G74SX-DH73-3D so I think that's false.

PILGRIM
11-04-2011, 08:14 AM
I purchased mine with 14 GB of RAM. Since I had a spare 4 GB, I upgraded it to 16 GB (waste not...).

As for performance, I can't really see any difference (14 GB vs 16 GB), but I did it anyway :)

In short, yes, your G74SX can support it.

380mcn
11-04-2011, 11:44 AM
i bought a g74 with 16gb (4x4gb 1300mhz). no problems whatsoever..

update: upon seeing the webpage my specs are a little different:
Second Generation Intel® Core™ i7-2630QM (2.0GHz) i got the i7-2670
1,5tb - i got 1tb (2x 500gb 7200rpm)

CyberSpacia
11-06-2011, 02:42 PM
Am thinking of trying 64GB in my G74SX (currently running 16GB) as the twin SSDs in RAID0 just ain't as fast as a RamDrive

Has anyone else managed to squeeze 64GB (4x8s) in a G74SX yet? I'd rather not send the money till I hear it can be done, also is there any benefit in using anything faster than 1333Mhz?

ScottinSoCal
11-06-2011, 04:00 PM
Has anyone else managed to squeeze 64GB (4x8s) in a G74SX yet? I'd rather not send the money till I hear it can be done, also is there any benefit in using anything faster than 1333Mhz?

I've got 16GB in mine right now, I installed it before I even powered it up the first time, and it shows all 16GB ready and available.

BrodyBoy
11-06-2011, 07:19 PM
Has anyone else managed to squeeze 64GB (4x8s) in a G74SX yet? I'd rather not send the money till I hear it can be done, also is there any benefit in using anything faster than 1333Mhz?
It's spec'd at 16Gb maximum, so I'm guessing no. But I think the theoretical maximum for Win 7 is something like 128Gb, so if you want to be the guinea pig, let us know what happens! (For frame of reference, trying to upgrade to only 32Gb, using four Crucial 8Gb SODIMM modules, would run you about $1200. I don't even know where you could find 16Gb modules.....)

I believe some users have installed 1600Mhz RAM and claimed some sort of higher score on something er'ruther.....

JRd1st
11-06-2011, 07:30 PM
Wow, can you imagine a 64GB pagefile.sys!

ScottinSoCal
11-07-2011, 12:03 AM
Wow, can you imagine a 64GB pagefile.sys!

I manually restricted my pagefile size. With that much memory it'll never be used and there's no point in taking up HD space for it. Min size is 512 MB, max size is 1024 MB.

fostert
11-07-2011, 12:35 AM
How is 64 GB possible? I don't even know if single 16 GB SODIMMs of DDR3 are available???

As well, both the i7 2630QM and the 2670QM are stated by Intel to only support a max of 16 GB, so I'm not sure if you'll be able to use more than 16GB (in dual channel mode) with the hardware in the G74SX. Those chips can actually address up to 32GB (I think I read somewhere that Intel confirmed they can), so if you put 32 GB in it'll likely run it all in single channel mode, meaning you would take a performance hit even with the increase in size.

Ontic
11-09-2011, 04:37 PM
Is this still the "best" memory option available, I'm unaware of something more performance than this currently. I was hoping to upgrade this friday.

G74SX-DH73-3D

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104259

JRd1st
11-09-2011, 04:42 PM
I don't think you're gonna get that speed out of the 2630. Only 1 person I know of says they did, everyone else says " Whaaaaa?"

wanfeilwong
11-10-2011, 03:13 AM
i think ur best off settling with 4gbx4 sticks of 1333... If you really want that ram, the only way it'll run at 1866 is if you only run 4gbx2 sticks

JRd1st
11-10-2011, 03:18 AM
I'm not so sure. I'm thinking that 8GB of 1866 will be more benefit than 12 or 16GB of 1333. Hopefully Asus will give us a BIOS to allow 16GB of 1866 (If it's a BIOS limitation. )

fostert
11-10-2011, 04:37 AM
In my own upgrade quest I was tempted by the speed of the PNP 1866 stuff, but because of the problems reported here and my need for the full 16 GB I have chosen to go with 4x4GB 1333 cheaper Samsung modules. I have read *many* reports all over the internet about overclocking memory, buying the most badass and pricey sticks with the tightest timings and blazing clocks. The fact is that the only substantial performance gains are seen in the benchmarks and specific tests that are irrelevant to most users. The real world differences between 1333 and 1866 speeds are likely to be less than 5%, and in most cases below the fluctuations in similar test-to-test runs. And since the timings are looser at 1866 (CL11) than at 1333 (CL9), you do take a simultaneous hit in performance that may offset gains made by higher clocks.

So, my advice: don't waste your money on performance RAM for these notebooks. These notebooks aren't even overclockable so there is no point in aiming for the few extra percent to break bench records: you won't.

BrodyBoy
11-10-2011, 05:05 AM
In my own upgrade quest I was tempted by the speed of the PNP 1866 stuff, but because of the problems reported here and my need for the full 16 GB I have chosen to go with 4x4GB 1333 cheaper Samsung modules.
Didn't it already have three modules? (Or did you mean you just added the 4th 4Gb module?)

I agree with your other comments, BTW. I'd be shocked if most people could tell any difference whatsoever during normal use.

fostert
11-11-2011, 04:41 AM
No, my G74SX-CST1 came with 8GB total in a configuration of 2x4GB DDR3 1333 MHz modules by Samsung (M471B5273DH0-CH9). I want all memory modules to play nice together, so I bought two more identical modules from a fella on ebay to add to my existing two. They will arrive next week, and hopefully all four will work well together at 1333 MHz.

Flipzo
08-21-2012, 01:45 PM
My G74SX has 16GB Ram and I experienced no problems so far, got this baby February this year. There are 4 memory slots, so 4GB x 4 = 16GB.. :)

PILGRIM
08-21-2012, 05:48 PM
My G74SX has 16GB Ram and I experienced no problems so far, got this baby February this year. There are 4 memory slots, so 4GB x 4 = 16GB.. :)

Good for you..:) Like you and many others, I also have 16 GB RAM, and so far, so good.
(Some users have upgraded to 24 GB RAM with their G74s.) I'm not sure if you're aware
of it, but this thread is already 8 months old..

..And the OP (fostert, aka The Radio Astronomer) had not only upgraded his RAM to 16 GB.
Rather, he "trailblazed" what was then an unknown territory of testing the RAM limit of the G74.
The result, he made it possible for the G74, et al., to attain their RAM limit up to 32 GB.