PDA

View Full Version : G751JY compatible with 2133MHz RAM?



Camel51
12-31-2014, 03:41 AM
I bought 16GB (2x8GB) 2133MHz 1.35V G.Skill memory but it is only being recognized as 1600MHz. Can you tell me if it can run 2133MHz and if you have done it? Maybe you have done it with a G750 and could give me the process of doing it on that laptop. Thanks

hmscott
12-31-2014, 08:42 AM
I bought 16GB (2x8GB) 2133MHz 1.35V G.Skill memory but it is only being recognized as 1600MHz. Can you tell me if it can run 2133MHz and if you have done it? Maybe you have done it with a G750 and could give me the process of doing it on that laptop. Thanks

Camel51, did you remove all the original memory from the G751JY before adding the new 2133mhz memory? Or did you add the new memory to the existing memory?

If you didn't remove the original memory the fastest speed memory will run is at the speed of the slowest memory installed.

You will need to uninstall the original memory and install the new 2133mhz memory in the top slots under the keyboard.

The 2133mhz memory works in the G750, confirmed by several people, but you are the first that has reported trying in the G751...

Camel51
01-18-2015, 02:34 AM
Camel51, did you remove all the original memory from the G751JY before adding the new 2133mhz memory? Or did you add the new memory to the existing memory?

If you didn't remove the original memory the fastest speed memory will run is at the speed of the slowest memory installed.

You will need to uninstall the original memory and install the new 2133mhz memory in the top slots under the keyboard.

The 2133mhz memory works in the G750, confirmed by several people, but you are the first that has reported trying in the G751...

Sorry for getting back so late, I was away from the internet. I did remove all my old ram (which was not under the keyboard) and put my new ram where the old used to be. For the G750 to run 2133 did the ram have to be in the slots under the keyboard? Maybe that's my issue. I'll take apart the laptop and move the dimms to the under the keyboard and see if that does the trick.

hmscott
01-18-2015, 02:53 AM
Sorry for getting back so late, I was away from the internet. I did remove all my old ram (which was not under the keyboard) and put my new ram where the old used to be. For the G750 to run 2133 did the ram have to be in the slots under the keyboard? Maybe that's my issue. I'll take apart the laptop and move the dimms to the under the keyboard and see if that does the trick.

Camel51, if you removed all the memory, and the 2133mhz memory is working, but only at 1600mhz, I doubt moving it is going to help. Although it is possible that it might work if you put it in the Dual Channel slots order, not sure what it is for the G751, but on the G750 it is 1,3 and 2,4 slots as pairs.

Sorry to hear it isn't working. Please also post the results to the memory sticky thread, so that others will know not to order the 2133mhz memory.

It's strange as the G751 has been more compatible with differing memory than the G750, and the G750 worked with the G.skill 2133mhz memory.

Both times I have seen reports of installing G.skill 2133mhz, it has been with full 32GB 4x8 configuration.

Please let us know how it works out.

sk3tch
01-18-2015, 03:01 AM
Just checked the BIOS - no XMS options there...in fact, not really any RAM/memory options at all. Pretty barebones for a laptop advertised for OC/gaming. :)

hmscott
01-18-2015, 07:27 AM
Just checked the BIOS - no XMS options there...in fact, not really any RAM/memory options at all. Pretty barebones for a laptop advertised for OC/gaming. :)

sk3tch, with the G750 you could count on the BIOS to read the SPD values and use them to set up the memory. It seems like the G751 might have fixed values, and is ignoring the SPD values.

When Camel51 confirms the Dual Channel slots don't work either, you all can ask Asus to update the BIOS to read the SPD values like the G750 - you can all ask now if you like :)

Camel51
01-30-2015, 05:05 AM
I just got my computer back and rechecked CPU-Z. I don't remember what it said before but I don't believe it was what it now says, which is good. As of now it's saying that my 2133MHz ram is correctly running at ~2133MHz!

CPU-Z shows my DRAM Frequency is 1064.2MHz then multiply that by 2 and it equals 2128.4MHz (~2133MHz).

When benchmarking with Unigine Valley it says my memory frequency is running at 2505MHz :eek: I guess the computer is OCing the ram too which is awesome.

I hope I'm reading everything correctly. Let me know what you get out of all this data.

Camel51
01-30-2015, 05:12 AM
I have some conflicting data from the ASUS Intel Extreme Tuning software though. It says default speeds are 1600MHz. I'm not sure if it's saying that's what it's currently running (or maybe it's reading incorrectly) or if it's just stating what the default speeds would be.

The only thing the BIOS lists about memory is:

"Memory Information
Total Memory 16384 MB"

hmscott
01-30-2015, 01:59 PM
I just got my computer back and rechecked CPU-Z. I don't remember what it said before but I don't believe it was what it now says, which is good. As of now it's saying that my 2133MHz ram is correctly running at ~2133MHz!
CPU-Z shows my DRAM Frequency is 1064.2MHz then multiply that by 2 and it equals 2128.4MHz (~2133MHz).
When benchmarking with Unigine Valley it says my memory frequency is running at 2505MHz :eek: I guess the computer is OCing the ram too which is awesome.
I hope I'm reading everything correctly. Let me know what you get out of all this data.

Camel51, that's great news :)

Glad to hear it is working in the G751, which is what I would have expected, since it works in the G750!

It should help a bit with everything, a little more for some things than others.

Let us know if you find something that really improves due to the faster RAM.

hmscott
01-30-2015, 02:00 PM
I have some conflicting data from the ASUS Intel Extreme Tuning software though. It says default speeds are 1600MHz. I'm not sure if it's saying that's what it's currently running (or maybe it's reading incorrectly) or if it's just stating what the default speeds would be.
The only thing the BIOS lists about memory is:
"Memory Information
Total Memory 16384 MB"

Camel51, that looks like exactly what it says, default: - it's not displaying current speed.

Camel51
02-06-2015, 12:49 PM
I have some results from gaming with the new ram. All this is from Metro Last Light Redux.
With my old 1600MHz memory while playing the game on 1080p, max graphics settings except no SSAA, and PhysX on the game would run average around low 30fps and was just barely playable, sometimes it got to low 20s and I couldn't handle playing so I turned down tesselation to High and it was playable around 40fps.

Now with the G.Skill memory overclocking constantly at 2500MHz by itself with the game fully maxed out (no SSAA again) and PhysX on I'm comfortably playing at 60-80fps.

The fps increase from the ram is incredible! I highly recommend anyone to buy it. I can't wait to try the Witcher 3 when it's released.

aupoi351
02-06-2015, 01:06 PM
Great! Can you see improvements with your 3dmark scores too?

Boaz Beatz
02-23-2015, 05:26 PM
sorry but you cant get that much fps from that mhz also what ram is it

JasenDoe
02-23-2015, 06:17 PM
True, you must have been playing on "balanced" power mode when you got that 20-30 fps, RAM can't improve your FPS by 100%.... People get 1-3 FPS boost in games.

Please print screen your firestrike test from 3dmark ! ! !

If you did not make the mistake of balanced power instead of high preformance, maybe it was google chrome runing in the background?
Or sometimes google chrome doesn't shut down correctly and keeps runing in the background....

Sorry but that kind of performance boost is just ..... wow..... like having 2 gtx 980m.... so with RAM imposible to get 100% fps.

Please do a firestrike 3d test and post results here... if what you are telling is true... i'm going to buy them 2 hours after your print screen XD

Hahahahhaha

ohverclocked
04-01-2016, 03:22 PM
After seeing this thread Im going to get the 2133MHz 2x8 GB G Skill dimms (ordered today!!). I had the g75vw and had bought Crucial 2x8GB 1866MHz working fine. I have the stock ram 1600 MHz Cl 11:( in my G750JM with i7-4710HQ

Ill do a before and after fps with Fraps and Nvida Shadow play fps counter with Crysis 3 and Fire Strike bench. Adding the 1866MHz ram from 1600 Cl 11 in my old G75VW.

I benched these #s from stock. This was on a GTX 660M not sure if #s will play out better going to a GTX 860M.

GTX 660M 2GB 1600MHz 1866MHz
Fire Strike 2158 2162
Sky Diver 7519 7565
Cloud Gate 11966 12021
Ice Storm 88557 88947

Will be getting 2133 dimms next week some time!!

ohverclocked
04-07-2016, 02:18 AM
Great! Can you see improvements with your 3dmark scores too?

Here are the new results with 3D Mark. Will do a Crysis 3 benchmark some time tomorrow.



Installed G Skill 2x8 GB 2133 MHz memory and here are the results

G750JM GTX 860M 1600 MHz cl 11 2133 MHz cl 11
Firestrike 4.254 4.279 + 25
Sky Diver 12.589 13.798 + 1.209
Cloudgate 16.365 17.207 + 842
Ice Storm 80.858 94.192 + 13.334

ohverclocked
04-07-2016, 03:18 AM
Benchmarked

ohverclocked
04-08-2016, 09:16 PM
Crysis 3 benchmark with Fraps. I ran the same path in welcome to the jungle. Gave me I feel a very nice increase.

1920x1080, maxed out on very high, AA x 16, MSAA x4 medium.

Stock Hyundai 1600 MHz cl 11
2016-04-08 08:14:50 - Crysis3
Frames: 4864 - Time: 240000ms - Avg: 19.850 - Min: 14 - Max: 36

G Skill Ripjaws 2133 MHz Cl 11
2016-04-08 08:51:10 - Crysis3
Frames: 4888 - Time: 240000ms - Avg: 28.367 - Min: 19 - Max: 43

With a i7-4710HQ 3497.6 MHz, GTX 860M OC'd 1.2 GHz

kingjezdi
07-05-2016, 01:16 PM
these compatible, for the G751JY


http://www.hyperxgaming.com/us/memory/impact

4x 8GB or 2x16GB, which combinations is better and why?! :)

Mhanzed
05-22-2017, 11:06 AM
Hello everyone, I know this thread is old but maybe someone of you is still around so I'll give it a try.

I'm having trouble with the G.Skill 2133mhz ram set on my G751JY, I made a specific thread here https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?93345-Weird-Ram-Issue-with-G751JY-and-G-Skill-F3-2133C11Q-32GRSL.

Contacting Asus support, they told me this laptop model only supports 1600mhz ram, even when letting them know you all having nice results with higher frequencies.

Any help would be appreciated, have a nice day.