PDA

View Full Version : NVIDIA Driver Helper Service, question



Lorca
11-05-2011, 01:32 AM
I downloaded Nvidia driver 285.62 and I noticed that in the Windows Task Manager the NVIDIA Driver Helper Service, version 285.62 is listed twice. Both under C:\Windows\System32. Is that normal?

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 01:48 AM
I only have it once under System. Did you install the 32 bit drivers? :-o

Lorca
11-05-2011, 01:51 AM
I only have it once under System. Did you install the 32 bit drivers? :-o

Well, I just downloaded the W7 64 bit version from Nvidia. Should I just reinstall it to see if nothing went wrong during installation?

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 02:08 AM
Yes, but uninstall the old and restart windows. Just ignore windows if it tells you it installed an nvida driver and wants to restart. Just install the driver anyway.

Lorca
11-05-2011, 02:15 AM
Yes, but uninstall the old and restart windows. Just ignore windows if it tells you it installed an nvida driver and wants to restart. Just install the driver anyway.

I have just noticed that I mis-wrote may last reply. I said, "Well, I just downloaded the W7 64 bit version from Nvidia." I meant I have the W7 64 bit version. My last reply seems like I was saying that I didn't have the 64 bit version(which I do). Anyways, I will reinstall it.

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 02:21 AM
If you don't use 3d, do a custom install and don't install 3d vision. That a difference in what I do.

Lorca
11-05-2011, 02:41 AM
If you don't use 3d, do a custom install and don't install 3d vision. That a difference in what I do.

I just reinstalled the driver and I get the same thing, driver listed twice in Task manager. I have the G74SX BBK7 version so I guess I don't need the 3D support. Perhaps, it is this Nvidia 3D driver that's duplicating the drivers. I'll do what you said.


UPDATE: After installing the driver without Nvidia 3D support, I still get NVIDIA Driver Helper Service version 285.62 twice in Task Manager. I wonder what is going on? Could it be something related to user profiles in Windows?

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 03:13 AM
Well, I think all the helper service does is the menu item from the desktop, and the tray icon. So, if you have 2 profiles I suppose its possible to need the helper service twice.



I just tried out that nVidia 285.64 and it seems nicer than 285.62. :D

Lorca
11-05-2011, 03:33 AM
Well, I think all the helper service does is the menu item from the desktop, and the tray icon. So, if you have 2 profiles I suppose its possible to need the helper service twice.



I just tried out that nVidia 285.64 and it seems nicer than 285.62. :D

Lol, how about that! What's going on is that if you tick "show processes from all users" in Task Manager you'll get Nvdia Driver Helper twice. I wonder if having those two running might cause stability problems. I got this info from another site where they have the same issue:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=284054

Btw, you said nVidia 285.64 is nicer. In what way and where can I download it?

dstrakele
11-05-2011, 03:40 AM
I believe the behavior is by design. See http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3165481&postcount=24

Lorca
11-05-2011, 03:46 AM
I believe the behavior is by design. See http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=3165481&postcount=24

I see, so I guess both are necessary(if you're using its service)

dstrakele
11-05-2011, 03:50 AM
Yeah - JR is the one with the problem, since he only has 1 instance. His machine is going to blow up any minute now.... :>{)>

Lorca
11-05-2011, 03:53 AM
Yeah - JR is the one with the problem, since he only has 1 instance. His machine is going to blow up any minute now.... :>{)>

Lol, ok. You're not trying to be sarcastic aren't ya?

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 03:57 AM
My machine runs so lean it only needs 1 instance.

Maybe this 285.64 is different.

Tell me why Lorca has it/them in System32.

Lorca
11-05-2011, 04:07 AM
My machine runs so lean it only needs 1 instance.

Maybe this 285.64 is different.

Tell me why Lorca has it/them in System32.

Where should it be then? Doesn't Nvidia driver installer automatically detect if you have a 64 bit or 32 bit pc?

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 04:11 AM
The best buy G74 is 32 bit? :-o. Or comes with win7 x86 (32 bit)?

Lorca
11-05-2011, 04:14 AM
The best buy G74 is 32 bit? :-o. Or comes with win7 x86 (32 bit)?

The one I bought is a 64 bit OS.

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 04:24 AM
Good, I was worried for you. Lol

Anyway, don't obsess over these things unless you're having problems.

dstrakele
11-05-2011, 04:31 AM
Here is some more info on this process: http://www.sevenforums.com/graphic-cards/188279-please-explain-nvidia-nvvsvc-exe-nvxdsync-exe-processes.html

I'm thinking the parent spawning a child process of the same name could be just a coding error... Otherwise, it may do this because it is handling some operation that takes a lot of time to finish - perhaps to control DPC Latency or to prevent DTR Errors?

Lorca
11-05-2011, 04:32 AM
Good, I was worried for you. Lol

Anyway, don't obsess over these things unless you're having problems.

Yes I know. In fact some folks disable this service completely.

JRd1st
11-05-2011, 04:33 AM
I used to, years ago, but systems have so much memory now.....