PDA

View Full Version : Miracast on G750JX?



Sudo
01-07-2015, 02:37 AM
I've searched but haven't found much relevant info or a solution. I'm trying to find out if the G750JX supports miracast and how to set it up / get it working if it does.

Thanks.

Darnassus
01-07-2015, 02:16 PM
I don't think it matters what laptop you have, but the wireless card that's inside. There's a chance it's a Qualcomm, or Broadcomm, or even an Intel, can you identify it?

I'm not experienced with Miracast, so I'm just putting forth what I THINK might work to help you getting it working.

Sudo
01-11-2015, 03:47 AM
I don't think it matters what laptop you have, but the wireless card that's inside. There's a chance it's a Qualcomm, or Broadcomm, or even an Intel, can you identify it?

I'm not experienced with Miracast, so I'm just putting forth what I THINK might work to help you getting it working.

Broadcom BCM4352 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter

Sudo
01-31-2015, 03:52 AM
Bump

Sudo
02-10-2015, 08:12 AM
Bump

Sudo
04-05-2015, 03:38 AM
Bump again :/

HLNKay
04-05-2015, 08:46 AM
So do you already have the miracast and what issues are you experimenting? Or just planning on getting one and to what exact purpose in mind?

Sudo
04-05-2015, 12:34 PM
So do you already have the miracast and what issues are you experimenting? Or just planning on getting one and to what exact purpose in mind?

I already have a miracast receiver dongle that I use with my phone and would really love if it's possible to broadcast my computer to it.

HLNKay
04-05-2015, 02:58 PM
Oh well it is possible, i used to have one and my guess is that all miracast devices should be the same. If you are using windows 8/8.1 i used this guide to set up mine and running, although i no longer have it for further reference.

http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwindows/2013/11/12/windows-8-1-on-your-big-screen-with-miracast/

[ EDIT ] As far as i know it should work no matter what wifi card you have

Sudo
04-06-2015, 05:17 AM
Oh well it is possible, i used to have one and my guess is that all miracast devices should be the same. If you are using windows 8/8.1 i used this guide to set up mine and running, although i no longer have it for further reference.

http://blogs.windows.com/bloggingwindows/2013/11/12/windows-8-1-on-your-big-screen-with-miracast/

[ EDIT ] As far as i know it should work no matter what wifi card you have

The problem I've been having is that "Add a wireless display” is not available in my charm bar. I have follwed just about every guide their is to troubleshoot it, including the one you linked. Which leads me back to if the G750JX even supports it.

Prostar Computer
04-06-2015, 05:03 PM
Typically, if you're using an Intel wireless card with Optimus, then you default to WiDi. If you're not using an Intel WLAN card, you go with Miracast. Which WLAN card are you using at the moment?

Sudo
04-06-2015, 05:20 PM
Typically, if you're using an Intel wireless card with Optimus, then you default to WiDi. If you're not using an Intel WLAN card, you go with Miracast. Which WLAN card are you using at the moment?

Broadcom BCM4352 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter

HLNKay
04-07-2015, 08:23 PM
That's too bad, i think for miracast (for WiDi i don't really know, haven't used it) it doesn't matter what wireless card you are using since the connection is standard and it is supported by your hardware (haswell based core i7). What miracast device are you using, or are you trying to make the connection to a miracast-ready panel? If you have a miracast-capable hdmi dongle like the ezcast the configuration would be a little different.

https://www.iezvu.com/index.php?g=home&m=article&a=show&id=55&l=en#UpArr

Also if both devices are pre-connected to the same wifi ap network it may be easier for windows to find it or take advantage of faster 5ghz channel. Is your windows fully updated through windows update?

HLNKay
04-07-2015, 08:23 PM
Oh i just forgot, is your network is configured to automatically search for pc's and devices within the network?

Sudo
04-07-2015, 08:39 PM
That's too bad, i think for miracast (for WiDi i don't really know, haven't used it) it doesn't matter what wireless card you are using since the connection is standard and it is supported by your hardware (haswell based core i7). What miracast device are you using, or are you trying to make the connection to a miracast-ready panel? If you have a miracast-capable hdmi dongle like the ezcast the configuration would be a little different.

https://www.iezvu.com/index.php?g=home&m=article&a=show&id=55&l=en#UpArr

Also if both devices are pre-connected to the same wifi ap network it may be easier for windows to find it or take advantage of faster 5ghz channel. Is your windows fully updated through windows update?


I have the Asus dongle (https://www.asus.com/us/Tablet_Mobile_Accessories/ASUS_Miracast_Dongle/). My phone finds and uses the dongle just fine. My computer is fully up to date with both windows and drivers.

The problem I'm having (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?55988-Miracast-on-G750JX&p=489846&viewfull=1#post489846) is there is no "Add a wireless display" option in the Windows Charm bar.

HLNKay
04-08-2015, 04:04 AM
According the Asus web site for the miracast dongle there is no need to click on "Add wireless display" but only click on devices -> project and the dongle should already appear in the list.

http://www.asus.com/Tablet_Mobile_Accessories/ASUS_Miracast_Dongle/

However they do mention that is compatible with android 4.2 and windows 8.1 on SELECT asus products but the compatibility list doesn't mention anything but tablets and phones (could it actually not be compatible?)

48260

Then i tried installing the Intel Wireless Display software for windows as found in https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/23861/Intel-Wireless-Display-Software-for-Windows but i confirm it doesn't work on broadcom devices (the installer halts due to lack of compatibility from the wifi card).

Sudo
04-08-2015, 10:48 AM
According the Asus web site for the miracast dongle there is no need to click on "Add wireless display" but only click on devices -> project and the dongle should already appear in the list.

http://www.asus.com/Tablet_Mobile_Accessories/ASUS_Miracast_Dongle/

However they do mention that is compatible with android 4.2 and windows 8.1 on SELECT asus products but the compatibility list doesn't mention anything but tablets and phones (could it actually not be compatible?)

48260

Then i tried installing the Intel Wireless Display software for windows as found in https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/23861/Intel-Wireless-Display-Software-for-Windows but i confirm it doesn't work on broadcom devices (the installer halts due to lack of compatibility from the wifi card).

I appreciate you trying to help but everything you've mentioned is stuff I've already tried.

Again, at this point I simply need to know if the G750JX is even capable of Miracast and if it is, what I have to do to get it working.

HLNKay
04-08-2015, 11:49 PM
I tried to get hands on an asus miracast dongle but rare to find in mexico, i really hope you get to get this working and enjoy streaming to your tv!!

Sudo
04-19-2015, 04:44 AM
Bump