PDA

View Full Version : How to get144hz on External monitor from G751JY-DH73-CA ?



mattyfinch
01-08-2015, 01:04 AM
Title says it all. I have a G751JY-DH73-CA with the 980m GPU. Just purchased a 24" benq 144hz monitor. Using the HDMI out i am only getting 60 hz on 1920x1080.

full specs : http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX54230

Going through the settings in the nVidia panel provided no solution.

Is it not possible with HDMI? If not, what do i need as an adapter to make it work?

Thanks.

BaiHu
01-08-2015, 01:10 AM
I had to use a DIsplayPort cable with my 144hz ASUS monitor to get the full available refresh rate. HDMI kept me locked at 60hz.

mattyfinch
01-08-2015, 01:11 AM
Am i missing the display port on the computer? I dont see it on the side of my laptop. Where is it?

BaiHu
01-08-2015, 01:14 AM
Its a mini-DisplayPort inbetween HDMI and USB on the right hand side. I bought this - http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0034X6SCY/ - and its been working brilliantly!

Except for the graphics glitching and crashing I've been having....but that's been regardless of the display output I use.

mattyfinch
01-08-2015, 01:18 AM
Its a mini-DisplayPort inbetween HDMI and USB on the right hand side. I bought this - http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B0034X6SCY/ - and its been working brilliantly!

Except for the graphics glitching and crashing I've been having....but that's been regardless of the display output I use.

so do you run this by itself, or with the hdmi ?

I see the port now. Will go grab the cable, just need to know if i run it alone, or with the HDMI

Thanks,

BaiHu
01-08-2015, 01:31 AM
I personally run with only one extra monitor - one DisplayPort cable from the laptop to the monitor. No HDMI in use at all at the moment. This should get you the 144hz refresh rate, easy! Let us know if this isnt the case - folks around here are generally really helpful!

jiol
03-02-2016, 06:41 PM
so, why with my 24" full hd 144hz i have microstuttering and no smooth when i play bf4 and Dying Light?