PDA

View Full Version : Buy G751JY-DH71 2nd AC / Power Adapter?



sk3tch
01-12-2015, 09:20 PM
Hey guys,

Do you have a good source for me to buy a 2nd AC Adapter for my G751JY-DH71? I found some on eBay, but even though they say they're OEM/ASUS - I still question the validity of the claim(s).

Thanks!

cl-Albert
01-13-2015, 12:36 AM
Hi,

If you're in the U.S., not sure if you wanted to buy the ASUS 230W adapter from the U.S. eStore site, but looks like it's posted for the G750JZ and G750JH models if you want to trust me, confirm with eStore or others that it will also be okay for your G751JY.

http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=6517

Otherwise, hopefully others have more suggestions.

fidelity101
01-13-2015, 01:15 AM
I tried purchasing from the estore but I've never been able to actually make the purchase before the website times out and I have to start over...so I finally found this option on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351253407847?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&var=620418756821&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I'm going to order one so I'll report back once I know it works.

sk3tch
01-13-2015, 02:07 AM
Hi,

If you're in the U.S., not sure if you wanted to buy the ASUS 230W adapter from the U.S. eStore site, but looks like it's posted for the G750JZ and G750JH models if you want to trust me, confirm with eStore or others that it will also be okay for your G751JY.

http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=6517

Otherwise, hopefully others have more suggestions.


I tried purchasing from the estore but I've never been able to actually make the purchase before the website times out and I have to start over...so I finally found this option on ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351253407847?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&var=620418756821&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

I'm going to order one so I'll report back once I know it works.

Thank you, guys. I saw that auction, too - fidelity101. It looks very "fake" - but that doesn't mean it isn't going to work. :)

cl-Albert - thanks for the tip. I am 99.99% certain that the adapters are the same between the G750 and G751. Here's a screenshot of mine - attached.

EDIT - I was able to check out...$101 with the cheapest shipping. Their SSL cert expired so you have to push past it (I was using Chrome). When/if I receive it - it'll be next week or so. I'll report back. :)

45404

cl-Albert
01-13-2015, 02:26 AM
cl-Albert - thanks for the tip. I am 99.99% certain that the adapters are the same between the G750 and G751. Here's a screenshot of mine - attached.


sk3tch, yes my information shows the G750JH, G750JZ, G751JT, and G751JY all use the same 230W adapter.

fyi. If it matters for other customers though, some of the other G750 models like the G750JX and G750JW as well as the G751JM appear to use the smaller 180W adapter, so basically, they aren't all the same in regards to the AC adapter.

fidelity101
01-24-2015, 12:04 AM
My first impressions are very poor! The AC plug is crushed together. The actual converter box is 220W instead of 230W. The plug on the converter box is the wrong version...but they include some cheap looking adapter.

I spent about $100 with shipping for this ebay version and I will probably return it and try again to buy the original charger which seems to be SUBSTANTIALLY better quality.

sk3tch
01-24-2015, 07:47 PM
Bummer man. I received mine from ASUS and it's a perfectly matched version with the original.

fidelity101
01-25-2015, 02:50 AM
Quick update: I swapped out the broken AC plug, which they offered to replace at no charge. They also include an adapter which takes the older style plug (From the Asus G75 series) and converts it to the new style (G750 and G751 series). I took the risk and plugged the power adapter into my computer and it seems to be charging the laptop just find. I'll do some more tests, by playing video games, to see if it holds up but I'm thinking I may just order another original adapter as well consider it's the same price.

Note 1: The adapter cord gets hot after playing 5 minutes of FarCry 4. The connector looks like cheap tin so it's not a big surprise.

I'm going to return it and buy another one from the manufacturer.

hmscott
01-25-2015, 03:12 AM
fidelity101, it's always good to have 2 or 3 power adapters for laptops you are moving around a lot. 1 at home, 1 at work, 1 to keep in the bag when mobile.

It's good to have a spare good power adapter should one die. I was stranded once with a dead power supply, couldn't charge the battery, and Asus took 2 weeks to get me a new one.

At the time the laptops weren't as demanding as today, so I could get a Targus power adapter to tide me over. The Asus adapters were so much better I returned the Targus and got 2 spare Asus power adapters.

Ever since I always make sure to buy at least 1 extra power adapter asap after getting the laptop :)

fidelity101
01-27-2015, 02:52 AM
Thanks hmscott...I've been trying to buy a spare without success. I've tried Amazon and ebay but neither source carries the original charger. I tried the aftermarket power supply and it failed horribly. The adapter they provided got very warm...I returned it immediately as i don't want to risk damage to my nice laptop.

As I'm trying this, I'm trying over and over until I can get an order through on Asus' website. I just want a spare power supply...it shouldn't be this hard!!!! :)

fidelity101
01-27-2015, 03:02 AM
The second the website loads, my Malware Anti-Malware bytes starts going crazy with these warnings. I wish I had Camtasia so I could record a video of my screen going nuts with pop-ups the second Asus' store loads...it's crazy!

I should have just taken the time and purchased the adapter using windows 10 in a VMware session that I could just delete after the purchase.

Update: So I threw caution to the wind...waited until the darn pop-ups stopped. Continued with the purchase and provided my credit card information. The next step, I get this error from the secure.authorize.net/gateway/transact.dll

"An error occurred while trying to report this transaction to the merchant. An e-mail has been sent to the merchant informing them of the error. The following is the result of the attempt to charge your credit card.

This transaction has been approved.
It is advisable for you to contact the merchant to verify that you will receive the product or service."

I JUST WANT A POWER SUPPLY DUDE!!!!! WHY IS THIS SO DAMN DIFFICULT!!!!!!!

Update 2: After the webroot warnings and error reportings, I FINALLY got an email confirmation from Asus "estore Orders" saying "Thank you for your order!" Does that mean the order actually went through...can I dare to hope/dream!?!?!? SUCCESS....I HOPE

hmscott
01-27-2015, 03:51 AM
The second the website loads, my Malware Anti-Malware bytes starts going crazy with these warnings. I wish I had Camtasia so I could record a video of my screen going nuts with pop-ups the second Asus' store loads...it's crazy!

I should have just taken the time and purchased the adapter using windows 10 in a VMware session that I could just delete after the purchase.

Update: So I threw caution to the wind...waited until the darn pop-ups stopped. Continued with the purchase and provided my credit card information. The next step, I get this error from the secure.authorize.net/gateway/transact.dll

"An error occurred while trying to report this transaction to the merchant. An e-mail has been sent to the merchant informing them of the error. The following is the result of the attempt to charge your credit card.

This transaction has been approved.
It is advisable for you to contact the merchant to verify that you will receive the product or service."

I JUST WANT A POWER SUPPLY DUDE!!!!! WHY IS THIS SO DAMN DIFFICULT!!!!!!!

Update 2: After the webroot warnings and error reportings, I FINALLY got an email confirmation from Asus "estore Orders" saying "Thank you for your order!" Does that mean the order actually went through...can I dare to hope/dream!?!?!? SUCCESS....I HOPE

fidelity101, there is something else wrong at your end, those popups don't name an Asus site as the problem, and those popups don't show up when I go to the Asus estore. You didn't provide the URL you used, here are the URL's I used to get to the 230w powersupply:

http://us.estore.asus.com/

http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=search_list&s%5Bsearch%5D=g750&s%5Btitle%5D=Y&s%5Bshort_desc%5D=Y&s%5Bfull_desc%5D=Y&s%5Bsku%5D=Y&s%5Bmatch%5D=all&s%5Bcid%5D=0

http://us.estore.asus.com/index.php?l=product_detail&p=6517

I am also running Malwarebytes Premium, so I would have seen the same warnings. You might want to check your browser, DNS, etc to see if something else is going on.

At least your order got placed :)

fidelity101
01-28-2015, 12:35 AM
I agree...I have no idea why it only pops when I visit the US store but it's not the same IP address as asus...nor is there a reference within the page for anything other that the estore. I've been having problems with my DNS cache crapping out...hopefully it's an issue with windows 8.1???

fidelity101
01-28-2015, 01:44 AM
For what it's worth, I found this: http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/estore.asus.com.html

Apparently I'm not the only one having problems with the website redirecting me to some nasty porno website. Can other people weight in here...please go to this website, wait till it fully loads and then tell me if it redirects you to some other website.

http://us.estore.asus.com/

hmscott
01-28-2015, 02:03 AM
For what it's worth, I found this: http://www.isitdownrightnow.com/estore.asus.com.html

Apparently I'm not the only one having problems with the website redirecting me to some nasty porno website. Can other people weight in here...please go to this website, wait till it fully loads and then tell me if it redirects you to some other website.

http://us.estore.asus.com/

fidelity101, for some reason the Asus US estore is always slow, not failed, just slow. I just tried that "is it down right now" site, and it said it was down, but at the same time I had a tab open and hit return on the 230w power supply url, and it came back but that site said it was down. So that isn't a reliable measurement / test :)

45972

Try changing your default DNS to an external one, something other than what you are using now.

There are lots of public DNS servers, all over geographically. You can try Google's DNS to see if that helps first, easy to remember:

Using Google Public DNS
https://developers.google.com/speed/public-dns/docs/using

8.8.8..8 and 8.8.4.4

Clearing your DNS cache is helpful too, you may have gotten some bad DNS values cached, to use without disconnecting/restarting:

DNS (Domain Name System): frequently asked questions
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/domain-name-system-faq#1TC=windows-7

ipconfig /flushdns

If your ISP DNS is flakey, and the Google DNS works, I would suggest looking for other free DNS resources in your geographic area, do a ping test on them to check for lowest latency

Here is a web based test you can use to check DNS response times, maybe too much info, but it is useful :)
https://www.ultratools.com/tools/dnsHostingSpeedResult

namebench:
https://code.google.com/p/namebench/

It is a Windows app that uses your current info, plus it's own database and derived DNS sources to find the best DNS server to use from your location. It takes a while to run, as it is doing lots of tests against other DNS servers, I had set 8.8.8.8 / 8.8.4.4 as my primary DNS, and it came up with a 25% faster DNS solution, which it displays in your default Browser from a file. It will also show if any addresses in it's run have been hijacked. Worth a run :)

And, there is an oldie but a goodie, DNS Benchmark:

https://www.grc.com/dns/benchmark.htm

Please let us know what you find :)

irishaf15
09-20-2016, 11:19 AM
Thanks hmscott...I've been trying to buy a spare without success. I've tried Amazon and ebay but neither source carries the original charger. I tried the aftermarket power supply and it failed horribly. The adapter they provided got very warm...I returned it immediately as i don't want to risk damage to my nice laptop.

As I'm trying this, I'm trying over and over until I can get an order through on Asus' website. I just want a spare power supply...it shouldn't be this hard!!!! :)

I've been looking for a new one also because I'm hoping that is my problem with my laptop not charging though it's probably my battery but is there anyway to buy one from Asus?

JustinThyme
09-20-2016, 11:29 AM
OEM brick, Ive used this source for other OEM parts that I couldn't find elsewhere.

http://www.asusparts.eu/en/Asus-0A001-00390000


Asus store in US

http://store.asus.com/us/item/201506AM050000020/A19419



If your laptop works plugged in and wont charge I have some great news......I saved a bunch of money by switching my car insurance to Geico!
In all seriousness though, its not your AC adapter, its your battery.