PDA

View Full Version : Use Nvidia for Laptop Display instead of Intel



Serzet
01-19-2015, 11:25 PM
Current condition
http://i.imgur.com/05WHOxT.png
Title says it all.
I have already gone into "manage 3d settings" and set the nvidia card as the default for games; however, I can't use it for the laptop display.
Help plz.

Also already tried going into BIOS but there is no chipset option to disable intel.

My laptop model is G750JZ-DS71

hmscott
01-20-2015, 02:08 AM
Current condition
http://i.imgur.com/05WHOxT.png
Title says it all.
I have already gone into "manage 3d settings" and set the nvidia card as the default for games; however, I can't use it for the laptop display.
Help plz.
Also already tried going into BIOS but there is no chipset option to disable intel.
My laptop model is G750JZ-DS71

Serzet, the little graphic is telling you that the output of the Intel GPU is feeding the Display - and it is correct. You can't change that. The same for the external displays.

The only thing you can change is where the rendering occurs, sometimes it does it automatically, sometimes you need to use the 3D settings to fix the usage to the Nvidia GPU, sometimes you can't change the rendering to the Nvidia GPU and the rendering and video output handling is all done via the Intel GPU.

Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.

It is a physical wiring thing, not a software thing. The output of the Intel GPU is directly connected to the internal / external display. In some other Optimus implementations you can switch using Nvidia or Intel/Optimus.

If you can still return your G750JZ, you can get the G751JT/JY/JL - all new ROG laptops without Optimus. Or, you could get a nice used G750JW/JX/JH - those ROG laptops don't hve Optimus either.

The new G750JY has Optimus.

beatc
01-20-2015, 02:27 AM
Does this mean we can't play games with the dedicated gpu on external display?

Serzet
01-20-2015, 04:40 PM
Serzet, the little graphic is telling you that the output of the Intel GPU is feeding the Display - and it is correct. You can't change that. The same for the external displays.

The only thing you can change is where the rendering occurs, sometimes it does it automatically, sometimes you need to use the 3D settings to fix the usage to the Nvidia GPU, sometimes you can't change the rendering to the Nvidia GPU and the rendering and video output handling is all done via the Intel GPU.

Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.

It is a physical wiring thing, not a software thing. The output of the Intel GPU is directly connected to the internal / external display. In some other Optimus implementations you can switch using Nvidia or Intel/Optimus.

If you can still return your G750JZ, you can get the G751JT/JY/JL - all new ROG laptops without Optimus. Or, you could get a nice used G750JW/JX/JH - those ROG laptops don't hve Optimus either.

The new G750JY has Optimus.


is it possible to change the physical wiring to make it so the display is connected to the Nvidia card?

hmscott
01-21-2015, 01:26 AM
is it possible to change the physical wiring to make it so the display is connected to the Nvidia card?

Serzet, no.

hmscott
01-21-2015, 01:26 AM
Does this mean we can't play games with the dedicated gpu on external display?

beatc, you can play games that support switching from the Intel GPU to the Nvidia GPU, on either internal or external displays.

But, all the display controls are through the Intel GPU - as the video outputs are all through the Intel GPU.

merceg100
01-23-2015, 11:31 PM
Even though rendering can be done on the Nvidia GPU, all of the display handling - resolution / refresh / color balance / brightness / contrast / etc are all done through the Intel GPU and Intel GPU Control panel.

What does this mean in the end? Does it mean that the gameplay is worst and that it could be better without Optimus? Why have they done that?

RAM-disk
01-23-2015, 11:53 PM
The patients running the asylum, in other words it's the clueless hipster crowd taking over.

xeromist
01-24-2015, 12:37 AM
The patients running the asylum, in other words it's the clueless hipster crowd taking over.

Do you have anything constructive to add to the discussion? If not, don't thread crap. This is a customer forum where customers talk among themselves. If you don't like that you don't have to stay.

xeromist
01-24-2015, 12:41 AM
What does this mean in the end? Does it mean that the gameplay is worst and that it could be better without Optimus? Why have they done that?

Optimus should utilize the Nvidia GPU for games and it goes to sleep when not needed. It's a power optimization feature. There have been bugs where Optimus didn't work as intended so new driver releases have fixes. If you find a specific issue then keep looking for driver updates until a fix is released. For the most part you should see it working correctly and performance will be comparable to a dedicated GPU. Also remember that mobile GPUs are the performance equivalent of a low end desktop GPU so some games will not run on high settings on a laptop.

hmscott
01-24-2015, 02:09 AM
What does this mean in the end? Does it mean that the gameplay is worst and that it could be better without Optimus? Why have they done that?

merceg100, that's a great question, one I have asked many times. The requirement was actually quite simple. On Battery run the Intel GPU, and on AC run the Nvidia/ATI GPU, but instead Nvidia Optimus put the Intel iGPU front and foremost - right in the video path as the default rendering engine. Windows knows nothing of anything other than the default GPU - which Intel defaulted to their iGPU - even though it was the low power low performance element in the system, and the iGPU shares the die carrier with the CPU.

The best you can do is to escape the mess, and stop trying to justify it's use, as many with an Optimus laptop try to do, until it bites them in the ass, and then they are complaining about how much it sucks and how can they turn it off... you can't turn Optimus off on the Asus ROG Optimus laptops.

So, rather than entering into a regretful situation, avoid it and find a laptop without Optimus.

Don't even get one that Optimus can be "turned off" in the BIOS - all that does is stop the rendering, not the iGPU.

Alienware was building 120hz 3D laptops without Optimus at the same time as making 60hz models with Optimus that can be turned off in the BIOS - because the iGPU would still in the path mucking up 3D / 120hz capability Alienware had to make a motherboard completely without the Intel iGPU / Optimus in the video chain.

Alienware 17 with 120Hz 3D Display Has No Integrated Graphics or Optimus - GTX 780M i7-4800MQ Laptop
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJ3IRvCkllg

There are lots of how to videos on Youtube on how to get Optimus working for you, various specific games, etc. Here is a search, try additional worded searches for which specific problem you are ha
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=fix+intel+nvidia+optimus

Intel could have had a clear path through with their iGPU being used for low power battery use, with the Nvidia GPU switched in for AC use, but Nvidia Optimus made it a disaster instead of a viable solution.

It's sad that something we need, lower power graphics for long battery usage, has made a mess of both battery and ac usage in the form of Optimus, keeping the Nvidia/ATI GPU from being fully available.

Fortunately Asus has decided to continue shipping non-Optimus ROG laptops, the G751JT and G751JY. :)

If you have trouble getting specific games working on the Nvidia GPU, where even forcing them via the Nvidia Control panel or right click on the app to select the Nvidia GPU doesn't work, there is an app that can help: Nvidia Inspector.

NVIDIA Inspector Download version 1.9.7.3
http://www.guru3d.com/files-details/nvidia-inspector-download.html

Nvidia Inspector - Optimus issues
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=nvidia+inspector+optimus

Nvidia Inspector - general search
https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=nvidia+inspector+

Nvidia Inspector works for non-Optimus performance issues too :)

beatc
01-24-2015, 05:17 AM
I agree with hmscott. Why bother wasting time fixing the problem when you can just avoid it. I have my g750jz and it is the first gaming laptop i have. Truthfully, i'm a little bit disappoint with it because of the limited upgrade options as well as Optimus. Nevertheless, it delivers great gaming experience. I've never encounter any Optimus problem yet so i can't say much of it. But after reading some comments about it, I can understand why some people hate it. The only thing solution for this is simply buy non-optimus laptops like what hmscott said, or if you like me, just wait for a genius to make a modded bios for our laptops that can disable optimus.

hmscott
01-24-2015, 05:21 AM
I agree with hmscott. Why bother wasting time fixing the problem when you can just avoid it. I have my g750jz and it is the first gaming laptop i have. Truthfully, i'm a little bit disappoint with it because of the limited upgrade options as well as Optimus. Nevertheless, it delivers great gaming experience. I've never encounter any Optimus problem yet so i can't say much of it. But after reading some comments about it, I can understand why some people hate it. The only thing solution for this is simply buy non-optimus laptops like what hmscott said, or if you like me, just wait for a genius to make a modded bios for our laptops that can disable optimus.

beatc, sorry man, but there is no magic BIOS hack that will remove Optimus. The Intel iGPU is physically wired as the only video outputs. All the Nvidia video goes through the iGPU before going out the display / external monitor. There is no way to remove Optimus on the G750JM/JS/JZ/G751JM, or any other Optimus laptop.

The best you can do is optimize performance as best you can, and enjoy what you have :)

Wulff
01-26-2015, 01:09 PM
if only there would be a eGPU solution out there soon i could keep my laptop longer :) saw some DIY kits already but rather have a "plug and play" solution to wich i just have to add a gfx card and connect it to my otherwise useless thunderbolt port. hope now that alienware went for this option the rest will follow asap. i want to connect that nice ROG monitor to my setup and enjoy 144hz gaming with gsync hehe

but then again, yes its so true ppl have to investigate more to avoid issues like this

GottiBoi55
01-26-2015, 03:28 PM
if only there would be a eGPU solution out there soon i could keep my laptop longer :) saw some DIY kits already but rather have a "plug and play" solution to wich i just have to add a gfx card and connect it to my otherwise useless thunderbolt port. hope now that alienware went for this option the rest will follow asap. i want to connect that nice ROG monitor to my setup and enjoy 144hz gaming with gsync hehe

but then again, yes its so true ppl have to investigate more to avoid issues like this

Hi Wulff, maybe this is what you are looking for?

Here's a great solution for using a desk top GPU if you have a Thunderbolt port. (Link below)

http://media.gamersnexus.net/images/media/2014/ces/silverstone-1.jpg



SilverStone SG Station 2 External Video card Thunderbolt Enclosure (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvmntK74OFc)

Wulff
01-26-2015, 11:50 PM
hehe yes thats exactly what im looking for although i have very little hope it will ever be sold since intel is double crossing these great ideas to actually be able to use our TB port, or perhaps asus doesnt want us to have desktop performance gfx on these laptops so that we buy new ones again sooner ;)

beatc
01-27-2015, 12:56 AM
Does the sg station 2 supports optimus-enabled g750? The guy in the video didn't mention the model so maybe he was using the non optimus one which if it was true, then i am SOL

hmscott
01-27-2015, 01:14 AM
Does the sg station 2 supports optimus-enabled g750? The guy in the video didn't mention the model so maybe he was using the non optimus one which if it was true, then i am SOL

beatc, not necessarily :)

The *existing* video outputs route through the Intel iGPU, but an added video interface like the SG Station 2 might simply go around the existing paths and provide a new true 2nd video output / interface.

That is the problem with the Optimus paradigm, it tries to fit it all in one graphic interface, pulling behind the scenes routing. If it had simply been set up as 2 video interfaces, and selecting outputs for each specifically - either dedicate an output to Intel or Nvidia - or put together a simple switch to switch the live output of the desired GPU to the desired display, all of this could have been avoided.

In fact it could be pretty cool, you could dedicate a display to the Intel GPU and others to the Nvidia GPU, getting the benefits of both GPU's. Turning off the GPU you weren't using completely would round out the battery / heat generation savings.

If you get one, give it a try and please let us know how it works :)

GottiBoi55
01-27-2015, 02:12 PM
hehe yes thats exactly what im looking for although i have very little hope it will ever be sold since intel is double crossing these great ideas to actually be able to use our TB port, or perhaps asus doesnt want us to have desktop performance gfx on these laptops so that we buy new ones again sooner ;)

You are right about Intel blocking the sales of this product, but I found a petition to Intel to allow Silverstone to sell this item.
Check it out here>>>>>>intel-allow-silverstone-and-asus-to-sell-the-asus-xg-station-2 (https://www.change.org/p/intel-allow-silverstone-and-asus-to-sell-the-asus-xg-station-2-and-allow-villagetronics-to-sell-the-4th-generation-vidock-in-essence-allow-the-sale-of-affordable-egpu-enclosures)

Wr3ckloose
01-28-2015, 05:13 AM
Optimus should utilize the Nvidia GPU for games and it goes to sleep when not needed. It's a power optimization feature. There have been bugs where Optimus didn't work as intended so new driver releases have fixes. If you find a specific issue then keep looking for driver updates until a fix is released. For the most part you should see it working correctly and performance will be comparable to a dedicated GPU. Also remember that mobile GPUs are the performance equivalent of a low end desktop GPU so some games will not run on high settings on a laptop.

think your confusing cpu with gpu.

xeromist
01-28-2015, 05:41 AM
think your confusing cpu with gpu.

Which part isn't clear? I can try to rephrase it.

boutaswell
06-17-2015, 07:16 PM
So let me get this straight.....One of the main reasons I purchased this laptop was because I thought I was getting a laptop with a dedicated graphics
'board'. Now I find out that it basically all a ruse. I thought bait and switch was against the law. This is what swayed me to get an Asus instead of a
competitor. On one hand, this laptop is so far ahead of the Inspiron I had for 5 years that I'm happy where I am. I guess all the NVIDIA does is trick
software into thinking there is actually a more powerful GPU on board afterall.

So, can the CPU be upgraded on the G750JM in case I want to do something with that maybe? Can't sell and buy another as the wife will shove me in
the DVD tray.

BTW, where is this Optimus thing ya'll are talking about? I don't see it on mine.

Never mind, I found where it was buried.

Aris74
06-18-2015, 06:11 AM
Hi,
I am ready to buy a G750JY with I7-4860HQ and G980m 8GB
I lost hours trying to find what are the options behind "Graphics configuration" in bios settings.
Manual says nothing about this.
I want to dual boot linux, so I need to disable optimus.
Is it possible to disable optimus in BIOS/Graphics Configuration menu ?


This lap comes with 2x128 GB raid ssd + 1TB hd.
I am not familiar with the term 2x128 GB . Does it means that there are 2 hard disks in one sata slot ?
Is this upgradable ?

fatalman27
06-19-2015, 08:05 AM
Hi,
I am ready to buy a G750JY with I7-4860HQ and G980m 8GB
I lost hours trying to find what are the options behind "Graphics configuration" in bios settings.
Manual says nothing about this.
I want to dual boot linux, so I need to disable optimus.
Is it possible to disable optimus in BIOS/Graphics Configuration menu ?


This lap comes with 2x128 GB raid ssd + 1TB hd.
I am not familiar with the term 2x128 GB . Does it means that there are 2 hard disks in one sata slot ?
Is this upgradable ?

Is not possible to disable optimus, i have an g750 jy 980m gtx and i cannot disable it from bios...u will have higher temperatures in game with optimus, +5 celsius

Aris74
06-19-2015, 04:52 PM
Thanks fatalman27, can you tell me please what is hidden under the 'Graphics Configuration' menu in Bios ?

fatalman27
06-20-2015, 01:21 PM
Thanks fatalman27, can you tell me please what is hidden under the 'Graphics Configuration' menu in Bios ?


i will atach a photo
49951