PDA

View Full Version : will this HDD work with my G750jw?



ATXmax
01-23-2015, 09:14 PM
And is it a resonable upgrade? If not, then suggestions?


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FJRS6FU/ref=s9_cxhsh_co_g147_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=typ-top-left-1&pf_rd_r=0HGY9REXJGM8JMZREB3X&pf_rd_t=3201&pf_rd_p=1827489602&pf_rd_i=typ01]

xeromist
01-23-2015, 09:43 PM
And is it a resonable upgrade? If not, then suggestions?


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FJRS6FU/ref=s9_cxhsh_co_g147_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=typ-top-left-1&pf_rd_r=0HGY9REXJGM8JMZREB3X&pf_rd_t=3201&pf_rd_p=1827489602&pf_rd_i=typ01]

No, that link takes me to a desktop hard drive. Desktop drives are 3.5" and laptop drives are 2.5" so it is physically too large.

This would be my choice for a spinning disk:
http://www.amazon.com/HGST-Travelstar-2-5-Inch-Internal-0J22423/dp/B00B4QESVQ

Darnassus
01-24-2015, 06:54 AM
Here's the one you want.

http://www.amazon.com/Western-Digital-Cache-Drive-WD10JFCX/dp/B00EHBES1U/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1422082364&sr=1-3&keywords=Western+Digital+1+TB+SATA+III+laptop


I don't know, depends on what your current setup is.

installer
01-24-2015, 12:36 PM
Or this a bit faster, 7200rpm.

http://www.amazon.com/HGST-Travelstar-2-5-Inch-7200RPM-Mobile/dp/B0097LG9U8/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1422102846&sr=1-5&keywords=Seagate+1TB+2.5+inch+Laptop+Solid+State+H ybrid+Drive (http://www.amazon.com/HGST-Travelstar-2-5-Inch-7200RPM-Mobile/dp/B0097LG9U8/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1422102846&sr=1-5&keywords=Seagate+1TB+2.5+inch+Laptop+Solid+State+H ybrid+Drive)

Darnassus
01-25-2015, 12:42 AM
5400 or 7200, you choose! :3

Personally I'd use a 5400RPM if it's for storage.. but that's just me being a heat-phobic.

7200 for the higher speeds if you intend to do some light gaming on it.

I highly recommend an SSD as your boot drive however.. 256gb or higher. Most say 512gb is the sweetspot, especially if you're a Steamer.

GottiBoi55
01-26-2015, 04:50 PM
Here's some choices for SSD upgrade.
Put your OS on the SSD, and use your HDD that came with your NB for a DATA drive.
Plus you get Assassin's Creed Unity for free with purchase of either SDD below.
SAMSUNG 850 Pro Series 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147361&cm_re=samsung_850_pro-_-20-147-361-_-Product)
SAMSUNG 850 Pro Series 256GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

(http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147360&cm_re=samsung_850_pro-_-20-147-360-_-Product)

ATXmax
02-05-2015, 04:53 PM
HA! That was an embarrassing mistake. I apologize, I've never had to upgrade a HDD before. So let me ask: after installing the new hard drive, is it relatively easy to move Win 8 & my files to the new HDD? (I'll assume it's more complex than just copying & pasting) I recently upgraded to the ASUS G751jm after my G750 crapped out, and I know ASUS doesn't send out the installation media disk... Will that cause an issue?

xeromist
02-05-2015, 07:28 PM
HA! That was an embarrassing mistake. I apologize, I've never had to upgrade a HDD before. So let me ask: after installing the new hard drive, is it relatively easy to move Win 8 & my files to the new HDD? (I'll assume it's more complex than just copying & pasting) I recently upgraded to the ASUS G751jm after my G750 crapped out, and I know ASUS doesn't send out the installation media disk... Will that cause an issue?

There are several ways you can do this. You can either do a fresh install on the new drive, clone the old disk to the new one, or use a backup/restore utility to preserve the Windows installation. The difference between a clone and a backup is that a clone of the entire disk would include the hidden factory restore partition whereas a backup would likely only include the Windows files.

My personal preference is to do a fresh installation on a new disk but in order to do that you would either need to find an ISO image online or acquire a Windows 8 OEM disc some other way. It's been a while since I tried the backup route but I believe the factory restore utility has a choice to create restore media from blank discs. That would be the easiest option.

ATXmax
02-05-2015, 07:44 PM
I have a fresh retail copy of windows 8 laying around here somewhere, I'll try it that way.
I may not even get the damn thing, this laptop is pretty fast as it is.