PDA

View Full Version : Screen flickers when playing games



Zabuza
11-09-2011, 05:11 PM
Ok, so i got this computer a week ago. fantastic. btw, i have the g53sx-a1. got it from amazon, and was happy installed black ops and all my other steam games and played them all on high settings. never have i owned a computer that can do that.
now last thursday i was curious to see how this beast of a machine could handle GTA IV. so got it installed, and ran it. now something weird started to happen, suddenly all the objects in the game flicker, like let's say i'm in the car, and there is a mailbox on the road next to me and a building across the street, the mail box would flash black and then goes back, and one of the building does that too, and it's a non stop cycle, it just does it with everything. i was stumped. so i exited out of gta, and went back into black ops. suddenly my black ops is doing the same thing. objects flicker in and out.

now i have been browsing around. i cant really google this problem, because it comes up with searches that are not relevant to mine.

what i have done.
1) made sure all my video card drivers were up to date....still the same
2) Reinstalled windows and upgraded my drivers....still the same
3) upgraded my nvidia driver to the beta 285.69....still the same

please help, i have no idea what to do anymore. i tried calling asus, but they just told me to go where i got it and get a new one, and then amazon is telling me they don't carry this model anymore, because there is a newer one....

A thousand thanks to anyone who helps!!!! :D:D:D

JRd1st
11-09-2011, 06:03 PM
I wonder if GTA installed a corrurpt or misbehaving DirectX file. Didyou go to the gta site and look for a patch or in the forums? Sounds like the game install did something not nice.

Zabuza
11-09-2011, 06:31 PM
well, like i said, i re-installed the system, and the only game i installed this time around was black ops. should i go and try re-install directx?
and just pointing out, i can watch 1080p videos without a hitch, and it only happens in games.

JRd1st
11-09-2011, 06:38 PM
You installed both games, again, right? If so then yes, that way it'll install over whatever that game screwed up.

Zabuza
11-09-2011, 07:29 PM
nope, just re-installed windows 7 completely, and just installed call of duty black ops.

So i've been trying to download directx 11, and finaly found a web installer for it, and try to run it, but it doesnt give me the option to either repair or reinstall, it just says my system has the latest directx already installed. i'm going to try and upload a video on youtube of my problem. i just don't kno what program to use for recording.

Zabuza
11-09-2011, 08:34 PM
Here are a couple screen shots i took, for now. i circled the areas

http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j387/Zabuza369/2011-11-09_00009.jpg

http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j387/Zabuza369/2011-11-09_00006.jpg

http://i1083.photobucket.com/albums/j387/Zabuza369/2011-11-09_00005.jpg

Zabuza
11-12-2011, 01:11 AM
ok, so an update for the flickering problem. all my drivers updated, installed skyrim, and getting weird shadows on it too. just uploaded a video of me playing black-ops. this is the link to the video.

http://youtu.be/C28w3RI-gCQ

please help, anyone?

JRd1st
11-12-2011, 01:18 AM
Did you try this driver? http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?5517-Latest-NVIDIA-drivers-Official-Beta-and-Modded&p=42033&viewfull=1#post42033

Zabuza
11-12-2011, 02:00 AM
ok, so just installed this new driver. the same appears on both the skyrim and black-ops. i uploaded a video of skyrim now.

here is the link:
http://youtu.be/3C0c18bnAss

now where can i download the latest directx? tried typing in, but gets me to the xbox site, and cant find it. also on my comp it says i have dx11, but i just don't know what to do. should i try to reinstall windows again? i'm just out of ideas..

JRd1st
11-12-2011, 02:10 AM
I used to get that when I overclocked. Are you oc'ing?

Zabuza
11-12-2011, 02:24 AM
i really don't even know how to overclock. how do i get it back to normal?

JRd1st
11-12-2011, 10:55 AM
It probably isn't overclocked if you bought that laptop new . . . .

Does this happen right away, or after a while of gaming?

Install hwinfo64 and let it run while you game, when you get the artifacts, look at the max temperature for your GPU. What is it?

Zabuza
11-16-2011, 09:49 PM
SO i installed the hwinfo64, and i played for about an hour of skyrim right now. it says nvidia gpu[#0] GPU temp is current: 53 cel, min 43, and max 80. and for nvapi gpu it says, current 53, min 43 and max 81. i logged it too, but its like a csv file. does that help with anything?

Zabuza
11-21-2011, 06:39 PM
so does anyone know if my video card is broken or not?
also i have tried plugging it into a tv, with an HDMI cord, and it still does the same flickering.. i have no idea what else to do.

fixitchris
11-22-2011, 01:24 AM
http://www.spawnpoint.com/forums/general_games_discussion/32350-gta_iv__missing_textures.html

Can you post a picture of the issue?

Have you rebooted your laptop after you quit GTA and went into Black OPs?

Zabuza
11-23-2011, 05:09 PM
so i can't really post a pic, so here is a video i uploaded that has the issue.

http://youtu.be/2SQgv61C1-M

Also, here is the list of events that happened.
1st i got the Lap-top, reinstalled windows.
installed a bunch of games from steam.
played black ops, it was perfect, everything on high and no issues what-so-ever.
decided to give GTA 4 a go. started the game, and my graphics were set on high. started the game, and this stupid issue happened. objects started to flicker in and out. i didn't think it was normal, so i quick gta, and went back to black ops. and the same thing was happening in black ops... i have no idea what's going on. came on here, updated my drivers, still the same.
then i thought it might be my version of windows, reinstalled windows, and reinstalled all my drivers. right now on the newest beta Nvidia driver. still giving me issues. i have no idea what could have happened...

JRd1st
11-23-2011, 05:21 PM
Defrag your hdd and clear your events log.

Zabuza
11-23-2011, 06:09 PM
ok, so i defraged my c drive, it was 3% fragmented. and my d drive was 0% fraged. i think i cleared my logs, i went into control panel->performance info and tools -> disk clean up -> C:/ -> and selected all of the files i could. restarted, and its still doing it. any more ideas?

JRd1st
11-23-2011, 06:33 PM
You updated ALL of your drivers p, right. And that doesn't mean updated from the asus site because that's downdating. Lol

Zabuza
11-23-2011, 09:04 PM
You updated ALL of your drivers p, right. And that doesn't mean updated from the asus site because that's downdating. Lol

haha, yup i agree. and yes. and for good measure i was just at your other post with all the drivers, and downloaded all of them, and updated my whole system. still nothing. also it does the same thing on minecraft. as i'm doing creative mode, i fly up, and look around, and you can see the blocks flashing black and then back. do you think i damaged my gpu somehow? how would i check.

Zabuza
11-27-2011, 09:59 PM
ok, so after a couple weeks of not being able to figure out this problem, i am gonna send it back to amazon. sad part is it's not in stock anymore, and if i want to get this computer again i have to go for the model up, that comes with an updated processor, for an extra $300..... so might have to wait on that one. thank you guys for all your help, and if i get another ASUS G series i will def come back here.

JRd1st
11-27-2011, 10:10 PM
Sorry to see you go and sorry your RoG experience wasn't great.. :)

BrodyBoy
11-27-2011, 10:21 PM
ok, so after a couple weeks of not being able to figure out this problem, i am gonna send it back to amazon. sad part is it's not in stock anymore, and if i want to get this computer again i have to go for the model up, that comes with an updated processor, for an extra $300..... so might have to wait on that one. thank you guys for all your help, and if i get another ASUS G series i will def come back here.
If that one was just "troubled," probably best to send it back and start over. But don't be so sure you can't get your A1 model again....Amazon's availability of the various configurations comes and goes frequently, so I'd be surprised if it doesn't show up again, at an even better price than you originally paid. If you'd really like to try another one like that, just keep checking.