PDA

View Full Version : 980m 4gb vs 980m 8gb



TotalONE
01-28-2015, 04:47 AM
Hey guys Im looking to upgrade my g75.
I want something with 980m card. I noticed that there are 2 different model with 980m 4gb and 980m 8gb.
What is the difference between cards?
Will card with higher memory capacity allow me to run heavy games smoother?
Can someone explain to me please?
Thank you.

toronto699
01-28-2015, 05:19 AM
what model # has the 980m 4gb and what model # has the 980m 8gb, then we can compare

TotalONE
01-28-2015, 05:32 AM
I was looking for ROG 751
Here is a link
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834232199&cm_re=asus_980m-_-34-232-199-_-Product

But then I found another laptop brand with 8gb
Here is a link
http://www.xoticpc.com/sager-np9377-clevo-p377sma-p-6982.html

Now I understand this is asus forums and I own 5 asus laptops.
But I got really curious about this 980m cards.

toronto699
01-28-2015, 05:40 AM
The Sager has "optimus" stay away from optimus , I have a G751jy with a 4gb 980m card there is no game I cannot play with optimum settings
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=g751jydh72x&N=-1&isNodeId=1 here is my G751 for a little bit of more $ u get the best G751 Top Of The Line G751-JY-DH72X and u will not find a cheaper price for the DH72X that new egg has now

TotalONE
01-28-2015, 05:47 AM
The Sager has "optimus" stay away from optimus , I have a G751jy with a 4gb 980m card there is no game I cannot play with optimum settings
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=g751jydh72x&N=-1&isNodeId=1 here is my G751 for a little bit of more $ u get the best G751 Top Of The Line G751-JY-DH72X and u will not find a cheaper price for the DH72X that new egg has now

Can you please explain what optimus is?

toronto699
01-28-2015, 05:54 AM
optimus uses the intel graphic card to save power , therefore games or other software will use the intel graphic card instead of the Nvidia card , u have to tell games or software to use the NVidia card , some will not so stay away from " Optimus
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?52782-G751-this-ok-anytjing-to-add read this thread
optimus is useless technology for gamers , editors , hi end use

TotalONE
01-28-2015, 06:04 AM
optimus uses the intel graphic card to save power , therefore games or other software will use the intel graphic card instead of the Nvidia card , u have to tell games or software to use the NVidia card , some will not so stay away from " Optimus
http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?52782-G751-this-ok-anytjing-to-add read this thread

Thank you for that link.
From what i understand Optimus will switch between cards depending on the load.
Does this Optimus effect performance of gaming? I mean maybe Im missing out on something but how bad can it be to consume power while not gaming?

toronto699
01-28-2015, 06:12 AM
not all games will let u select the Nvidia graphic card therefore stay away from optimus, there are many posts in the forums about how dreaded optimus is Optimus effects games as u may not be able to use the Nvidia card

Zezeri
01-28-2015, 04:52 PM
Yes, more VRAM is better. At the moment 4GB are certainly enough - but in a few years more might be needed. Probably 4GB will still be enough, but you never know.

HulkSmash
01-28-2015, 06:22 PM
Optimus is a nice concept, but badly executed. Stay away from it. It switches back and forth between your dedicated graphics (in this case the 980m) and the one "within" your intel CPU in order to save power. But a lot of applications will not work properly, where you need the power from your dedicated and you can't switch out of the intel one. Plus the new 900 series are pretty good efficient in the power usage compared to the previous generations. On power saving mode while browsing the internet I get like 3:30-4 hours of battery out of my G751JT, which is not bad at all for a huge a$$ gaming laptop... Not worth the headache.

And honestly, don't worry so much about VRAM for now, sure more is better; but 4gb is plenty. Specially with the current console generation lagging computers behind. Shadow of Mordor for example had a 6gb VRAM requirement, ran fine on my 3gb 970m on ultra settings...

Rares95
01-28-2015, 07:44 PM
Here is the difference: One has 4 GB of RAM and another has 8 GB of RAM, but you probably already know that...uhm. I think 4 GB is more than enough for a FullHD screen for the next...4 years?