PDA

View Full Version : Need some advices is i good for overclock, and is it good configuration...



mundiri
02-02-2015, 09:54 PM
Hello to everyone, i just registered so i have few questions about my configuratio i am willing to buy at the end of the month...
So i need some advice what i need to change and is it good...

So here are the specs:

Intel i7 4790k
Asus rog maximus VII ranger
Sapphire radeon r9 280x trix 3gb
Case Cooler Master Storm Trooper
Noctua NH-D14
Kingston hyperX 3k series 240gb ssd
Corsair psu CX750
Ram kingston hyperx or corsair 8gb at 1866mhz
Hdd seagate 1tb at 7200rp 64mb

Thats it, so im open for some suggestions...Thanks :D

Nate152
02-03-2015, 01:29 AM
Hello mundiri and welcome

It all looks good what you've chosen but here is what I would do.

Comparing newegg prices you could get the cooler master seidon 240mm cpu cooler for 20.00 dollars more.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103181&cm_re=seidon_240m-_-35-103-181-_-Product

Comparing newegg prices you could get this g.skill trident x 2400 MHz 8GB kit for the same price.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231587&cm_re=trident_x_ram_8GB-_-20-231-587-_-Product

Here is a cheaper and a little faster ssd with a newer controller.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA24G2HZ1458&cm_re=850_evo-_-20-147-372-_-Product

Will you need an optical drive?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827135204&cm_re=asus_optical_drive-_-27-135-204-_-Product

How about an operating system?

mundiri
02-03-2015, 10:37 AM
Hi nate...
First of all, im from serbia, so the newegg doesn't ship to serbia, and if they ship there is customs provision, for more then the 50$, and in my country that liquid cooling is like 120 euros, cause we are poor country with big prices...yea i know its funny :D
For the ram memory cause cpu cooler it cant go with high profile ram memory, that a little bit of disvantage of noctua nh-d14...
Hmm optical drive, i dont need it at start i guess, cause its all been doing with flash memory and that kinda stuff...
And for operating system Windows 7 64-bit of course...

And tell me one more thing is this motherboard good, with performance and a little bit for overclock maybe???
I first wanted ga-z87-oc but i read that is older chipset there, so it may cause some problems in work...

Nate152
02-03-2015, 02:15 PM
Sorry about that I was unaware you lived in another country.

yeah the maximus vii ranger is a good board, you will be able to overclock with it. Your noctua cooler should do a pretty good job too., I see you getting 4.6GHZ - 4.8GHz.

mundiri
02-03-2015, 02:27 PM
Okey, i think about changing nh-d14 to nh-d15, its a 10e difference...

Thanks, the main thing i wanted to know was about my motherboard, is she good enough...
I will need you when i get my computer to help me with a bit of overclock :D

Nate152
02-03-2015, 02:31 PM
yeah you're board will do fine, if and when you need help overclocking just start a thread in the overclocking section.

Antronman
02-03-2015, 03:36 PM
If all you're doing is gaming, swap the i7-4790k for an i5-4690k, and if possible after this get an R9 290 instead of the 280x.

mundiri
02-03-2015, 04:02 PM
Hi antronman...

I want to buy that pc for design, and such stuff, i dont need much for gaming on ultra settings, of course there will be some games, but its primary is for design and work....
Btw, thx for advice, and if i understood if u do gaming its better to have stronger gpu, then the proccessor, right???

Antronman
02-03-2015, 04:20 PM
Yeah, it is much better to have a stronger GPU.

If it's for 3D design, and that is your profession don't buy a gaming card. Buy a Quadro workstation card.

mundiri
02-03-2015, 04:26 PM
Its not for the 3D design, its how to explain... some medium design if u understand...

And i fit this into my budget, so if i needed better gpu performance, i may buy other card, or put 1 more in crossfire...

I really like geforce 780ti but in my country they dont sell it :/
And its too expensive for me right now :)

Antronman
02-03-2015, 04:53 PM
Well if it isn't 3D that build should be fine I guess.

mundiri
02-03-2015, 10:02 PM
okey, thanks for advice and tips, ill need you later, for some overclock maybe to check how my system is going...

Ty very much....have fun....

mundiri
03-27-2015, 08:25 PM
Guys again i need your help, what is your reccomendation, do i keep my seasonic ss620gb psu, or i change it to something else??
I need your opinion, and budget for psu is 90$...
Hope for some good advices, thx :D

Korth
03-28-2015, 01:51 AM
Okey, i think about changing nh-d14 to nh-d15, its a 10e difference...
Both of those coolers are excellent, but both are massive. Be careful about compatibility with RAM - Kingston and Corsair tend to put very tall and gaudy heatspreaders on their enthusiast RAM.


Guys again i need your help, what is your reccomendation, do i keep my seasonic ss620gb psu, or i change it to something else??
I need your opinion, and budget for psu is 90$...
Do you mean this Seasonic PSU (http://www.seasonic.ru/products/items/18)? It will be enough to run your parts with a reference R9-280X/290. But not with your Sapphire R9-280X Toxic (which requires 750W PSU and 2x 8-pin power connectors).

mundiri
03-28-2015, 01:56 PM
Hello, i lowered a little bit of ram memory, and i bought Sapphire r9 280x but it doesnt say its toxic version, its just trix as i read on box...
And i meant on seasonic PSU SS-620GM2, and as i look on picture its fully modular power supply, and that should be enough for my build, correct me if i am wrong?

Nate152
03-29-2015, 07:26 PM
The same holds true for the tri-x 280x.

A 750 watt psu is the minimum with two 8 pin pcie power connectors.

mundiri
03-29-2015, 09:07 PM
The same holds true for the tri-x 280x.

A 750 watt psu is the minimum with two 8 pin pcie power connectors.

Tell me will it work this power supply do it job,EVGA SuperNOVA 650G1 650W it has 80+gold and btw i wont do overclock...
I read on box that need 750w, but on better 650w will work fine as i know???

Nate152
03-30-2015, 02:00 AM
No !

The supernova's are excellent psu's but you would be under powering your system and could damage the psu or other components.

A 750 watt psu is the minimum, I personally would go with an 850 watt psu to give a little more headroom.