PDA

View Full Version : What temperature does fan xpert control chassis fan to?



dooley2009
02-07-2015, 02:38 PM
Hey everyone. I apologize if this has already been answered but I couldn't find it on the forums.

I have fan xpert running and recognizing my cpu temp but not rpm. This is not what I'm interested in.

Below is my question:

Fan xpert recognizes a chassis fan hooked up to my Rampage IV Formula motherboard. It is a giant fan made by corsair.

I can manually adjust the speed of the fan fine (because I can hear it rev up and down) but also can not see the RPM's.

1. What is the chassis fan basing it's fan speed off of? The CPU Temp? If so I am water cooled and temps are generally no higher than 54C at full load.

2. Why can't I see the fan RPM and any advice on what I can do to get it working.

Specs:

intel i7 3930k OC 4.2 all cores.
Rampage IV Formula
SSD Windows 8.1 64 bit with all updates to date.
H100i Corsair water cooler. Do not have corsair link installed.
Geforce GTX 680 SLI (two cards)
8GB Ram Corsair no OC.
Asus AI Suite II with all options installed.
CPU is hooked to the CPU fan input on motherboard that comes from the H100i control block.
Chassis fan in question is linked to the motherboard on a standard chassis input.
BIOS is up to date as of today and all additional updates listed for the MB have been installed.

I hope I gave enough information. Let me know if I can provide more.

Thank you for any advice you all can spare.

Take care.

Evo
02-07-2015, 03:20 PM
First things first, welcome in the Republic of Gamers Community! :D.

Maybe i am wront but i can remember something in the deep of my mind that 3 pin fans just can get controlled by the amount of V that goes through them. I have no idea if the Mobo can read the RPM based on a voltage level since the rpm even on voltage does change if you run a 120mm fan on for eample 5v and a 200mm fan on 5v.

I would say you need a PWM fan to control the fan RPM but as i mentioned earlyer, i just "guess" that. My knowledge about fans wasnt used for a huge amount of years and im pretty sure i remember something wrong :).

dooley2009
02-17-2015, 09:58 PM
First things first, welcome in the Republic of Gamers Community! :D.

Maybe i am wront but i can remember something in the deep of my mind that 3 pin fans just can get controlled by the amount of V that goes through them. I have no idea if the Mobo can read the RPM based on a voltage level since the rpm even on voltage does change if you run a 120mm fan on for eample 5v and a 200mm fan on 5v.

I would say you need a PWM fan to control the fan RPM but as i mentioned earlyer, i just "guess" that. My knowledge about fans wasnt used for a huge amount of years and im pretty sure i remember something wrong :).

Thank you for the warm welcome. Sorry I have been out of pocket since I posted this.

I think you are right about the fan being controlled by voltage which doesn't all you to throttle the fan speed up or down (as you see fit). A PWM controller i think is the best thing to use for my needs.

Thanks again for the insight. Let's keep our rigs primed!

sectionate
02-19-2015, 11:20 PM
You shouldnt be using asus suite with the corsair link. Lots of people report issues when both are installed. Corsair Y cables work great, its powering my 4 fans push/pull at 100% - Remove the asus software and follow the Corsair install guide and it will fix your issues

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/blog/2013/february/how-to-install-the-hydro-series-h100i-cpu-cooler

(The cooling unit itself has two cables to plug in, a SATA power connector, and a pump sensor cable. The SATA power connector should be connected directly to an available SATA power cable from your PSU, and the 3 pin (with only a single sensor wire) fan connector should be plugged into your CPU fan header on the motherboard. The sensor cable relays pump RPM information to both the BIOS and to the Corsair Link V2 software, and lets your motherboard know that you have a CPU cooler installed.)