PDA

View Full Version : G73JH-BST Various Problems, can't figure out



DaveZ
11-12-2011, 05:08 PM
Hello. I've had my problematic [JH] for a little over a year now, and have spent the last 4 months going through extensive RMA, with power supply failure, followed by System Board being replaced, and most recently a complete HDD change, from the standard BB Seagate 640gb to an Intel SSD SA2CW120G3, no reason ever given, just was swapped when I received box back from RMA. Called, and they had no notes on repair, of course... what a crock and extremely annoying to someone who wants to know what's taking place during computer repair.

That being said, so long as this baby gets up and running properly, I'll take the SSD and last few months of headaches, just want a malware free smooth running computer, as much as possible. Bought a cheap WD 340Gb external for overflow, will be plenty.

Main issues currently:

1. I lost all control of display driver, and nothing I try seems to help. From factory, did not have CCC installed, but ATI Installer. I seemingly had a smooth update to 11.9, was running some other apps to make sure system was virus free, no changes, just scans. Suddenly yesterday after a restart, desktop was maxed at 1152 x 864, and would not go up any higher. CCC showed in programs with X through it. Install went fine first time, usual runtime failure, everything else success. As well, all app info from Program list regarding ATI or Catalyst disappeared, even though folders showed properly. Tried a reinstall over top, nothing changed. Driver shows as other device, and when I try to manually update driver, to either ATI or generic windows, it is giving me the following error: "The drivers for this device are not installed. (Code 28) This operation requires an interactive window station."

I have used CC to hopefully resolve any Reg or other errors, found a bunch, but still have not been able to install any version of ATI drivers, am always getting now a Display Driver Install Failure, Other Device Detected. Am at a loss now...

2. Function Keys and Keyboard Lights not working: They show at POST, but once windows files start loading, out they go. I don't remember specifically when they stopped working, but I have done no BIOS updates or anything, and they loaded 213 during RMA, so BIOS version shouldn't be it, which makes me hesitant to flash again, doesn't seem like the likely problem. Hesitate to rerun keyboard fix, not sure if it would do any good, hope to gather advice first.

3. Turbo Boost and/or gadget not working. The top left three lights show on keyboard, but turbo button does nothing. With multiple issues, don't want to jump right in and reinstall.


4. Here is what I would really love to do, my wishlist for this laptop. If not, any help with the top 3 questions would be great! (fyi, I have infected computers in my condo complex, so security is very important for me, especially at beginning.)

-Do a full clean Windows 7 reinstall, along with all proper drivers. Problem for me, I got the Win7 Rescue DVD, but it won't take the Prod Key when I do a full install from the DVD sleeve sticker nor the Prod key from under laptop. Is there a way for me to somehow get this solved that anyone knows of? I saw some utilities to pull out the three Authen items, then re-install them after fresh Win7 install, just not sure if they work if are trustworthy. Pulled from CNET, but these days that doesn't mean what it used to. Add Spyware Central to the name and it's a better fit, sad really. Would appreciate any thoughts. Not sure if it wouldn't just be a simple call to MS and explain situation, but if that is the case, is there anything I want to write down before I reinstall, if I do?
-Somehow download all Windows Updates so I can install them immediately upon Windows installation. Already Download SPK1 so can easily plug that right in. Is that perhaps enough to block me from any initial threats, and then I can update the rest of the way from there?
-Install only those needed items. That being said, I can't even use the [JH] ISO any longer since HDD change, it was not recognized as valid install. Is there a suggested list and order of items to install?


Really sorry to be such a pain, been going through a ton with this thing, and now that I have it 99% sure of being clean and fresh, I'd like to keep it that way. Thanks a bunch for any help you can offer!

Dave

fostert
11-12-2011, 05:42 PM
My inclination in reading about all your problems is to do a totally clean and fresh install. You might as well repartition the drive and reformat those partitions while you're at it. JRd1st has linked the full legitimate version of Win7 HP w/SP1 ready for download from http://msft.digitalrivercontent.net/win/X17-24209.iso
Download and burn that. When I did a fresh install upon purchasing my G74SX the product key on the sticker was entered and valid, but I had to activate Windows via the automated phone-in system.

Chastity linked a convenient DVD image with all ASUS drivers ready to go on one disc: http://pcaudio.ath.cx/stuff/G73JH-DriverCD_Win7.rar
Burn and install only the drivers you want. I install very sparingly, since I don't like useless things getting on my drive and polluting my regisrtry with unremovable entries.

Download and install firmware for your SSD unless you have the latest.

JRd1st
11-12-2011, 06:16 PM
Chastity linked a convenient DVD image with all ASUS drivers ready to go on one disc: http://pcaudio.ath.cx/stuff/G73JH-DriverCD_Win7.rar
Burn and install only the drivers you want. I install very sparingly, since I don't like useless things getting on my drive and polluting my regisrtry with unremovable entries.


If Chastity's link doesn't work for the Driver CD, try THIS ONE (http://www.asustreiber.de/downloads/windows-7/treiber-cds-dvds/1946-g73jh-treiber-dvd-w7).

DaveZ
11-12-2011, 06:38 PM
I Agree with you both, a full reformat/reinstall. My only hesitation is just reactivating. How annoying to even have this as a concern, $1300 later.... Stupid Asus, Sticker Prod key and Actual Install DVD Sleeve Prod key both don't work. They obviously installed a different version, or activated with a different key, maybe an OEM key. From what I understand, once an instance of Win7 is associated with a particular windows installation, trying to change to another causes problems, looks like asus service may have gotten me a third time. You should have seen the polite but detailed bullet point printout I placed with RMA, specifically asking for updated recovery CD as when they replaced the motherboard, I knew they screwed up my current product key. That was the main reason for returning the third time... they sent it back to me after MB replacement without activating the OS, I had a 'non-genuine' copy, and again, with MB change, activation would not accept my product keys. Very unhappy with this company, and just want to put this behind me and have a computer I can relax with again.

fostert
11-12-2011, 06:43 PM
Yeah; I've got admit I have heard/read alot of unhappy posts detailing crappy and ignorant service from ASUS RMAs, and am a bit scared now owning one of their products. Like yourself, gonna try to make the best of a less-than-perfect ownership experience I guess.

JRd1st
11-12-2011, 07:49 PM
I have a feeling they have so many notebooks to fix with so few techs that they are like automatons. The just do what the book says without using their heads or hearts.

They have a few that do high profile cases, like some in here that raised a big stink in the forum, But I don't believe people get a fair shake from ASUS RMA.

They really should send out new product with the old HDD's and case bottom. At least that way people have an even chance of getting something that works.

Sad but true . . . :(

BrodyBoy
11-12-2011, 08:35 PM
I Agree with you both, a full reformat/reinstall. My only hesitation is just reactivating. How annoying to even have this as a concern, $1300 later.... Stupid Asus, Sticker Prod key and Actual Install DVD Sleeve Prod key both don't work. They obviously installed a different version, or activated with a different key, maybe an OEM key.
I'd suggest you use ABR (http://directedge.us/files/abr/ABRbeta.exe)(Activation Backup and Restore), a utility that simply restores whatever activation Windows IS using. That's bizarre that they'd change your Windows license like that, but then.....they do a lot of bizarre things. :(


So your basic approach right now should be:



Get a Windows Installer and burn it to disc
Download the drivers you're going to need (chipset, audio, video, ATK, USB 3.0, touchpad, WLAN, LAN)
Get ABR and backup your activation
Move any important data off the SSD (you're going to erase everything that's on there)
Format the SSD
Install Windows
Install ONLY the basic drivers
Restore your activation

Try that clean, basic set-up and see how it works.

DaveZ
11-12-2011, 09:11 PM
I'd suggest you use ABR (http://directedge.us/files/abr/ABRbeta.exe)(Activation Backup and Restore), a utility that simply restores whatever activation Windows IS using. That's bizarre that they'd change your Windows license like that, but then.....they do a lot of bizarre things. :(


So your basic approach right now should be:



Get a Windows Installer and burn it to disc
Download the drivers you're going to need (chipset, audio, video, ATK, USB 3.0, touchpad, WLAN, LAN)
Get ABR and backup your activation
Move any important data off the SSD (you're going to erase everything that's on there)
Format the SSD
Install Windows
Install ONLY the basic drivers
Restore your activation

Try that clean, basic set-up and see how it works.

Only my best guess about the license, but having been an admin in the past, it seems the most logical, albeit lazy, reason for the problem. The installed a version of Windows 7 that did not match my sticker, or when they updated activation, they received a new prod key, and again, didn't give it to me... Seems to be par for the course for the rma dept, sadly. Wish laptops were a bit more homebuild friendly, wouldn't have this issue.

Very pleased to hear you advise using ABR, BrodyBoy, as I already used this and have the activation back-up and restore modules ready to go, just wasn't sure if it was safe. I was just trying to line everything up as I cleaned my system, and that was my final parachute when things had gotten bad for a bit there. Looks like it may have been good planning.

Quick question, must I use the Win7HomePro standard ver or do you think I can use the latest Win7 w/SPK1? The SPK1 install must have a lot more of the windows updates on board out of the box... Currently making one final back-up of all my logs and downloads. Using ESET Online scanner to verify my backed up data is clean.

One good thing once this is all over, the thing just hums along now, it's faaast compared to prior set-up. Just a few last bumps in the road... heh.

BrodyBoy
11-12-2011, 09:22 PM
You can use the SP1 instraller, as long as you use the same Windows version that's already installed, Home Premium. Yes, indeed, using the SP1 installer saves a lot of time later. :)

DaveZ
11-14-2011, 01:59 AM
Hi All. Just wanted to say howdy from a very fresh and clean machine, thus far at least... The activation issue I thought was going to be a potential problem, as it wouldn't take it via online authentication, as I had experienced previously. btw, the ABR file disappeared somewhere along the way... think it was the infection that messed with it before reimage. Anyway, I figured I'd try the phone method, and speak with a rep for help if need be. Called up, went through automated process, same key and info, and it went straight through, no issue. It was the SPK1 install as well, which was just great. So nice to see so few processes running... heh. Wanted to say thanks for the advice to everyone, very much appreciated.

Now I enter the 'do I update driver or don't I scenario'... Thinking about leaving wimax uninstalled, no use to me, can always add it later. Anyone know if ASUS screensaver does anything other than copy the file over? ... if I recall, it's like a 12mb install, doesn't make sense.. Otherwise, not in a hurry to update any drivers unless I have issues, at least for a bit .... Just followed the guide for intial install here: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/468027-complete-walk-through-doing-clean-windows-7-install.html , very smooth.

Well, looks like I get to try and live life without fear again... gonna take a while. Anyone who's never been infected, if you may have slacked off a bit, study back up again, it's a total nightmare. I'm A+, MSCE, and got lazy, thought I was too 'up to speed' to get maleware. Honestly figured I wasn't worth the time, shame is the malware doesn't care, targets any and all, everyone has as their root value to these folks, resources. Still going through ID theft crud... Maybe after all this, me ole updated system will work out, going on 12 hours and no crashes or freezes, (jinx), alreayd an improvement.

Thanks again, Be good all!

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 02:19 AM
Take care, Dave! :thumbsup: