PDA

View Full Version : G73jh-A1 Help



ArchAthens
11-13-2011, 09:44 PM
Hi, I have recently updated my Catalyst to play Battlefield 3, however, after the update and playing BF3 for a couple minutes to an hour or so because the problem occurs at various occasions, I either get black screen with a continuous sound or VSOD. I already had my ASUS G73jh-a1 sent to RMA for bios update. This problem also occurred not too long ago when I tried to play Skyrim. On the first day I played the game nothing occurred, then the next day when I played it i got the Black screen with continuous noise. I restarted and tried the game and check if the problem persists. It did but in another way i got VSOD. This problem surprisingly enough does not occur when I play Starcraft 2 or MW3 (probably because MW3 does not need "too" good of a graphics card to play) I really want this problem to go away so I tried changing the options on Skyrim to medium graphics and no Anti-aliasing for better performance, but the VSOD occurred prior to that.

HELP PLEASE!!!

thnxs ArchAthens

JRd1st
11-13-2011, 09:55 PM
I have a weird feeling a lot of ati repastings need to be done.

Could you please install hwinfo64 and monitor tour max gpu temp?

ArchAthens
11-13-2011, 11:03 PM
ok i have HWiNFO64 installed, what am I suppose to look at?

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 12:12 AM
Look at the sensors. They automatically keep tab of the min and max temps. Look at the gpu temp. If your whole pc is crashing, you'll need to set the program to keep a log.

Btw, if you deselect all but the items you want to monitor, the program uses much less memory.

ArchAthens
11-14-2011, 02:04 AM
So in the meantime do I stop playing games like Skyrim?? Or should I play it to see what the problem is since I have the HWiNFO64 logging atm?

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 02:16 AM
Oh, play for sure unless you see that your temps have gotten dangerously high. Don't ask me what "high" is for an ATi. I'm an nVidia person. ;)

ArchAthens
11-14-2011, 02:48 AM
lol, ok, but is there a way to fix this problem? I really hate it when it happens and want it to stop :S

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 02:51 AM
You may have to repaste the heaksinks, or send it in for Asus to do it. Is your unit still warrantied? For how much longer?

ArchAthens
11-14-2011, 03:22 AM
I got the laptop on August this year, so i have 2 years with that. but last time i sent it in i had to pay like 200+ for the shipping which was pretty sad :( I was wondering if I could repaste the heatsinks myself, and if so, where i can get the heatsink stuff

fostert
11-14-2011, 03:55 AM
Check out http://nekaka.com/files/get/T16uV7IeCt/asus-g74-disassembly-guide.pdf to disassemble so you can repaste. I repaste all my desktop graphics cards when i get 'em, and the cpus too, mainly because the factory application is waaaaaaaaaaaay too thick. Thinnest possible application (almost see-through) is best.

Around the overclocking community the top-shelf paste to use is Shin-Etsu X23-7783D. You can pick some up at performance-pcs, or frozencpu.

ArchAthens
11-14-2011, 04:14 AM
Ok, well that's for the G74, but I get what you mean. IS there a link to the g73 disassem?bly guide?

dstrakele
11-14-2011, 04:27 AM
Here is a G73 disassembly guide with photos: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/475907-asus-g73-series-disassembly-guide.html

Here is a G73 repaste guide: http://forum.notebookreview.com/asus-gaming-notebook-forum/475907-asus-g73-series-disassembly-guide.html

fostert
11-14-2011, 04:27 AM
Whoops...sorry. Didn't see that you have a G73! I'm not sure if there is a disassembly guide for that one (I have never looked): others here on the forum may know...

ArchAthens
11-14-2011, 04:36 AM
ok, thnxs guys, quick question, would cleaning the heatsink void the warranty?

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 05:03 AM
The removal of the sticker they place.over a screw on the heatsink voids the warranty. Maybe Chastity@ASUS can give you a permission.slip. pm her and ask her opinion. Hopefully she'll answer your pm"s.