PDA

View Full Version : Question about Upgrading Video Card



fade2perfect
02-24-2015, 06:41 PM
Hey Everyone,

First post - Just hoping to get an answer here. I have the ASUS Rog G20AJ model that came with the GTX760 card installed. Is it possible to upgrade this to a GTX970?

Bodycount69
02-25-2015, 02:50 PM
Yup Im putting a 980 in this weekend I would stay away from the 970 theres a lawsuit on Nividia read link below:

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/nvidia-slapped-with-false-advertising-lawsuit-for-/1100-6425481/

Bodycount69
02-25-2015, 02:54 PM
Was just reading this to :

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/nvidia-boss-responds-to-gtx-970-false-advertising-/1100-6425510/

Bodycount69
02-26-2015, 02:06 AM
Was also thinking fade2perfect you got the 760 I think there only one power supply with that so you will also need to get a second one that plugs in the same area ones for video card the others for the rest of the system.

I have a 770 model and I think one is 180 Wats and the others 230 Wats or something like that.

Bodycount69
02-26-2015, 02:09 AM
Here's a good write up on upgrading the video card :

http://www.pcmarket.com.au/blog/upgrading-gpu-asus-rog-g20aj-gaming-desktop-nvidia-geforce-gtx-980-video-card

Sick_G20
02-26-2015, 04:06 AM
i have the g20 with gtx 760. it comes with both psu's in case anyone cares..

Bodycount69
02-26-2015, 01:42 PM
i have the g20 with gtx 760. it comes with both psu's in case anyone cares..

Thats cool your lucky from what I have seem a lot only came with one so when are you upgrading your GPU that lol :) should have my GTX 980 Today or tomorrow I can't wait :)

Ravenholme
03-16-2015, 08:39 PM
I'm curious if the Asus Poseidon will fit in the bracket. I know somewhere you guys mentioned the EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0 fits.

Bodycount69
03-18-2015, 08:33 PM
I'm curious if the Asus Poseidon will fit in the bracket. I know somewhere you guys mentioned the EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0 fits.

You can't put that card it you need a reference video card meaning it blows the hot air out the back if you put that it card it it would fill the case with hot air and thats not what you want :(

Ravenholme
03-19-2015, 06:57 PM
>_<