PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking a 5960x on RVE



zcrucifix
02-26-2015, 03:06 PM
I wanted to see if someone had any ideas on how I could possibly push my overclocks further. I've read all the posted guides, and frankly, I'm at a loss as to why I can't get any more performance. It may come down to silicon lottery, but I figured I needed to ask for advice before I go buy another processor. No matter what changes I make, I cannot get 4.6Ghz to run stable. I can run a 35 multiplier at 125 BCLK and everything is amazing at 1.35 volts, but even overvolting the CPU to 1.55-1.65 results in a crash. I am not even close to the thermal envelope on the processor, so I hoped someone with a little more experience may be able to give me a little guidance. Thanks!

Edit - to clarify, the crash I am getting is the clock watchdog timeout - stop 0x00000101, and I've tested to make sure it's not cache related, or memory related.

Korth
03-20-2015, 03:04 AM
A 4.6GHz@1.35V is already a "better than average" 5960X overclock.

x125MHz BCLK forces everything to run on tighter tolerances. x100MHz BCLK may not be as spectacular, but it can allow a lot more overall fine tuning, to tweak a little bit more performance out of threshold subcomponents - you could be held back by some "weak" part which can't quite keep up at higher base frequency. But I doubt you can tweak a lot more out of your particular part - then again, I could be wrong. You're already pushing past what I personally consider the stability threshold if you're getting the odd crash.

You might be able to deactivate your "slowest" cores to push the remaining cores slightly faster.

I've never pushed much past 1.4V, the sweet spot for my particular CPU, because higher voltage ramps up heat (and plunges stability, and wears against longevity) exponentially fast.

Raja@ASUS
03-20-2015, 11:22 AM
Clock watchdog timeouts mean the processor is at the edge of stability. If there is no room for VCore (which there is not), or temps can not be lowered with better cooling, I would leave the system be. Settle on a lower clock where the CPU is comfortable.

FlanK3r
03-20-2015, 08:38 PM
4.6 GHz is really high. I have two 5960x and one is around 4350 MHz stable and second 4450 MHz stable.

Antronman
03-24-2015, 02:07 AM
More and more cooling.

Clearly you're not afraid of voiding the warranty.

So might as well "change" it up.

If you know what I mean ;)

You'll need one of these for starters (http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Aquarium+Chiller)

wildeone
09-26-2016, 06:46 PM
I think you will find your cpu is at its limit, my 5960 will do
4.5ghz 1.23v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable , temp 34c idle 64 load
4.625ghz 1.56v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable ,temp 34c idle 64- 70c load

4.75 ghz 1.34v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable, temp idle 34c 93c load

Brighttail
01-28-2017, 01:34 AM
I think you will find your cpu is at its limit, my 5960 will do
4.5ghz 1.23v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable , temp 34c idle 64 load
4.625ghz 1.56v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable ,temp 34c idle 64- 70c load

4.75 ghz 1.34v cache is set at x34 cache volts is 1.21v bclk is 125 memory is at 3000mhz all stable, temp idle 34c 93c load

Interesting at a lower clock you are using .2 more volts. Was that a mistype?

Morkrah
01-29-2020, 11:07 PM
Have you played with cpu input voltage and cache voltage? I found running my input voltage at 2v really helped my chip and meant i could stay under 1.375v core (big help to load temps).

Cache voltage also helped a lot for me, but i also now have my cache running at 4.6 @ 1.3v. Just make sure your board is kept cool at input voltages this high.

I myself have a xeon 1680v3 (basically a 5960x) running at 4.8 @ 1.35v under water. Max cpu package temps inder real bench stress is just under 80c so perfectly fine for gaming etc.

Can i ask what youve set you power / vrms up at? You can try messing with those a little in conjunction with spread spectrums etc.

Also have you tried diffeent load line calibrations settings? If your very cold you may get some milage there.

You still have a very good clock there for haswell 8c! Whats your load temps?

Vlada011
04-23-2020, 09:15 AM
I believe you request to much from your processors. He behave best up to 4.3GHz with good number of samples capable to work up to 4.5GHz.
How long... that's different question. Better 4.3GHz 5 years then 4.5GHz 1-2 year.

Silverbullit
06-15-2020, 02:11 AM
My x5690 doesnt run solid below 1,42V (Core) @ 4452 dram @ 1866 with solid timings including 1T/1N. Something happens when I hit 1,42V because the x5690 refuses to pass any stresstest above 4000 (@ default max 1,35V) and suddenly it runs every stresstest all the way up to 4452 with a smile. *weird, my other cpus does not act this way* But yeah right, obvious Core voltages way to high already, can get higher at silly voltages but the dram plummets to only work at lowest speeds maxed out timings. It feels uncomfy going over 1,35V but capped at 4000 on a costly x5690 feels beating its own purpose. So in good OC spirit thinking Kurgan has a point in his wisdom "Its better to burn out than faint away". Got 6x4gb ddr3 but for some weird reason it reads two sticks as 2gb!?! (Printed 4gb on all six...)
4,3 at 1,35V - no way with my chip, guess I'm not good at picking winning silicon auctions.