PDA

View Full Version : Just bought a G750JS... Not so impressed

jjl5590
02-26-2015, 07:33 PM
Hey guys,

Apologies up front for the long post. Feel free to not read all of it :p

Long story short, I was robbed and had my beloved Dell L702x stolen from me. I was forced to buy a new laptop and decided to splash out on the Asus G750JS.

16GB Ram, 3GB GTX870m, 1.5TB HDD. Pretty high spec, but then again it did cost me my left arm. I'm now an even poorer student. Not a huge upgrade from my XPS 17, mostly just the processor and graphics (the Dell only had a GT555m).

As the title to this thread suggests, I am not so impressed. Here are a list of reasons as to why I am not impressed with this >1100 machine (feel free not to read it all):

1. Tinny built-in sound. The subwoofer does nothing uless I load up AudioWizard, and then it just sounds muddy. Do I really have to load up this software every time I want to use the built-in speakers?

2. There is no difference in the two lowest brightness settings. Is there any way to make the screen dimmer than the lowest?

3. There is very litle variation in sound when using the on-board volume changer. The usable range is only about 0-10, not 0-100 as it should be.

4. Is there any way to configure tap zones on the touchpad? I could configure each corner on the Dell. I've tried installing Synaptics but it didn't help.

5. Does anyone know where the air intake is on the laptop? Are the rear exhaust ports multi-purpose?

6. Is there any way to use the function keys without holding down Fn? On the Dell I could set it to do that in the BIOS. I cannot reach the Fn+Vol Up key with one hand, and have to use two which is annoying sometimes.

7. The GPU consistently reaches temperatures of 90C whilst playing Arkham Origins on medium settings. Is this normal?

8. I bought Evolve and have to play it on low-medium settings. I know the GTX870m isn't the best, but seriously?!