PDA

View Full Version : What do you guys call this problem?



rodney4555
11-14-2011, 03:25 PM
What is this called? cant search forums if i don't know what this is called >.<

BTW I was talking in Tagalog(Philippine National Language) in the video. >.<
Basically, what I said was, I connected my Laptop to the TV

http://s237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/mringantriharts/?action=view&current=DSCF0002.mp4

Laptop
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/mringantriharts/DSCF0007.jpg
TV
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/mringantriharts/DSCF0006.jpg
Laptop using High Contrast Black appearance
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/mringantriharts/DSCF0005.jpg
http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/mringantriharts/DSCF0004.jpg

dstrakele
11-14-2011, 03:33 PM
I'd call it a reddish corrupt video display.

Are you running any temperature monitoring software? If so, what is the GPU temp?

What model ASUS laptop is that? What version video driver are you running?

Since it does not appear to affect your 2nd monitor, I would suspect a poorly connected or faulty laptop LCD video cable.

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 03:37 PM
Dont have any temp monitoring software, model is G73SW-A1 and Video driver Version is nVidia Forceware 285.64

dstrakele
11-14-2011, 03:49 PM
If you just purchased this laptop, I would contact the retailer and see if you can exchange it for a new one.

fuzon1337
11-14-2011, 03:56 PM
Hi

You can download HWInfo32 from the thread New Drivers (http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?5224-New-Drivers) and when you have installed that, you can read the temp in CPU/GPU. :)
I would also say the same as dstrakele:

I'd call it a reddish corrupt video display. Since it does not appear to affect your 2nd monitor, I would suspect a poorly connected or faulty laptop LCD video cable.
So if you don't want to open up your computer I would RMA it or change to a new one if you bought it recently.
But was the screen like that before? Or did it appear when you updated your graphic card?

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 03:58 PM
I bought the laptop last April 25. Its just that I bought it in the US but I am a resident of the Philippines, I was informed when I purchased the laptop that it has an International Warranty, then I found out that It only had national warranty for the U.S. @_@
Do you think its possible if I send it to them Via Mail? So I can avail of the warranty.

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 04:00 PM
Hi

You can download HWInfo32 from the thread New Drivers (http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?5224-New-Drivers) and when you have installed that, you can read the temp in CPU/GPU. :)
I would also say the same as dstrakele:

So if you don't want to open up your computer I would RMA it or change to a new one if you bought it recently.
But was the screen like that before? Or did it appear when you updated your graphic card?

Yep, It Appeared when I updated my driver so I could play BF3

dstrakele
11-14-2011, 04:01 PM
That doesn't sound right to me. I was under the impression all ASUS Laptops have a Global Warranty. I recommend you PM Brian@ASUS or Mason@ASUS to get the correct story on the warranty.

On http://commercial.asus.com/warranties, I see:

ASUS 360 Warranty: A comprehensive 2 year global notebook warranty that includes a flawless display (zero bright dot) guarantee, free two way standard shipping for RMAs, and 24/7 US-based tech support

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 04:05 PM
That doesn't sound right to me. I was under the impression all ASUS Laptops have a Global Warranty. I recommend you PM Brian@ASUS or Mason@ASUS to get the correct story on the warranty.

On http://commercial.asus.com/warranties, I see:

ASUS 360 Warranty: A comprehensive 2 year global notebook warranty that includes a flawless display (zero bright dot) guarantee, free two way standard shipping for RMAs, and 24/7 US-based tech support

Thank You dstrakele you've been a Big help. :D

fuzon1337
11-14-2011, 04:13 PM
Hmm, but rodney said that this issue occurred when he updated his graphic driver,
so perhaps you should try to downgrade the driver version to see if that fixes it, or do a clean install and then install the drivers on the asus support to see if there is any change?
(If you don't already have done that of course)
If you have done that, stand to what dstrakele says ;)

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 04:20 PM
Hmm, but rodney said that this issue occurred when he updated his graphic driver,
so perhaps you should try to downgrade the driver version to see if that fixes it, or do a clean install and then install the drivers on the asus support to see if there is any change?
(If you don't already have done that of course)
If you have done that, stand to what dstrakele says ;)
ive already tried uninstalling the reinstalling the drive but it is still the same, but I have not tried downgrading, Ill also try that, thanks for the advise.

JRd1st
11-14-2011, 04:22 PM
Probably abad install. I ran those same drivers and found them nice.

Uninstall, restart into Safe Mode, use DriverSweeper, restart, install another nVidia driver, restart. Good luck.

Btw, that's ugly. Can't blame you for wanting to fix it. Rofl

dstrakele
11-14-2011, 04:24 PM
Hmm, but rodney said that this issue occurred when he updated his graphic driver,
so perhaps you should try to downgrade the driver version to see if that fixes it,...

I agree and would certainly give it a try (or update to the beta driver). However, if it is a driver problem, I'm puzzled why it doesn't affect the 2nd monitor.

rodney4555
11-14-2011, 04:29 PM
I agree and would certainly give it a try (or update to the beta driver). However, if it is a driver problem, I'm puzzled why it doesn't affect the 2nd monitor.

Oh. Yes, that is true. @_@ might as well send it for repairs And pray it wont cost too much

Verruckt
11-14-2011, 05:32 PM
Dude, what the?
Just RMA it

rodney4555
11-15-2011, 01:11 AM
Dude, what the?
Just RMA it

I really wish it was that easy, Im so busy woriking now that I have no time to return to the U.S. anytime soon. BTW did I mention that I live in the Philippines?

dstrakele
11-15-2011, 01:25 AM
I really wish it was that easy, Im so busy woriking now that I have no time to return to the U.S. anytime soon. BTW did I mention that I live in the Philippines?

Yeah - You're not gonna just hop in the car and drop it off at the Fremont, CA repair center. Take a look at the bottom of this post. It lists several ASUS Authorized Service Centers in the Phillipines: http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?821-ASUS-Republic-of-Gamers-Global-Notebook-Authorized-Service-Centers&p=4163&viewfull=1#post4163

Hopefully, one is within reasonable distance to your location....

Gud lak sa 'yo.

rodney4555
11-15-2011, 01:36 AM
Yeah - You're not gonna just hop in the car and drop it off at the Fremont, CA repair center. Take a look at the bottom of this post. It lists several ASUS Authorized Service Centers in the Phillipines: http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?821-ASUS-Republic-of-Gamers-Global-Notebook-Authorized-Service-Centers&p=4163&viewfull=1#post4163

Hopefully, one is within reasonable distance to your location....

Gud lak sa 'yo.

I already went to an Authorized Service Center where I was told that my G73sw did not have an International Warranty, and the warranty is only good In the US. @_@
So If it costs too much to repair, I may buy another more latest laptop than this and just connect my G73 to a Monitor like a Desktop >.<

Salamat

dstrakele
11-15-2011, 01:42 AM
I was hoping Brian@ASUS or Mason@ASUS could help you out by contacting your Authorized Service Center. As I posted earlier, I don't believe they are correct in what they're telling you about the warranty.

Or maybe a different Service Center would have a different opinion on your warranty.

rodney4555
11-15-2011, 01:51 AM
I was hoping Brian@ASUS or Mason@ASUS could help you out by contacting your Authorized Service Center. As I posted earlier, I don't believe they are correct in what they're telling you about the warranty.

Or maybe a different Service Center would have a different opinion on your warranty.

I already sent an e-mail and just waiting for a reply.