PDA

View Full Version : G771jm slow wifi problem, Mediatek MT7630E connects only at 72mbps with Asus RT-AC66U



pboissonneault
03-15-2015, 01:01 PM
Hi, I've search this forum and could not find any solution for my wifi problem. Wifi connection is very slow and could not connect more than 72mbps. I can't even see my 5ghz network. On my other Laptop I have no problem connecting to the 2.4ghz network at 144mbps or on the 5ghz network at 300mbps.

Here's my hardware :
Laptop : Asus G771JM
Network adapter : Mediatek MT7630E 802.11 b/g/n
Network adapter drivers date & version : 5.0.53.0 (2014-12-19)
OS : Windows 8.1
Router : Asus RT-AC66U
Router Firmware : Asuswrt-Merlin 378.51 (based on 3.0.0.4.376_3677)
*It does the exact same thing with the latest official ASUS RT-AC66U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.376.3861

And here is some screenshots to see if I'm missing something. I can

The 72mbps connection :
47541
47542

My Mediatek driver :
47544

My router config for the 2.4ghz network:
47543
47545

And finally my router config for the 5ghz network:
47546
47547

I've also tried to Enable / Disable WMM with no improvements.

Can someone help me with this one.

Thanks!


EDIT : Solution 1 (150mbps on 2.4ghz)
- Use N only on the router or setup your router to use the 40mhz channel bandwidth

_
03-16-2015, 03:09 AM
If you have anything else connected to the same wireless network the whole network will slow to the speed of the slowest device.

pboissonneault
03-17-2015, 10:31 AM
Thanks, the only other thing that connects to that router is my Tablet. I've disconnect it (it connects at 72mbps) and restarted my router.

My laptop is still at 72mbps and I still can't see my 5ghz network.

DeOrgy
03-20-2015, 10:06 PM
Any solution to this yet? I also seem to have this exact same mediatek adapter and also can only connect at 72mbps no matter my proximity to the router. It is aggrivating, I also cannot see 5ghz channels either. I have tried reinstalling, I have tried every driver under the G771Jm profile. (qualcom, ralink and intel) No dice yet, but it sucks to have all this horsepower and it be slower moving stuff across my network than my old POS laptop. The mediatek website doesnt even list this adapter. I have had no luck finding anything else out yet.

*edit* I am also using an Asus router, the N66u.

pboissonneault
03-20-2015, 10:41 PM
I still haven't found the solution to this one. I don't know what to try next..

DeOrgy
03-21-2015, 12:18 AM
Hey I at least figured it out partially. I feel half retarded. Asus really cheaped out on this network adapter which is very disappointing. It only supports 150mbps when using 40mhz channel width. My router was set to 20mhz channel width for stability on my old laptop. I switched it to 20/40 (or auto) and now it is connected at 150mbps.

I did some digging on the adapter and found some info here https://wikidevi.com/wiki/MediaTek

I tried multiple different drivers from the mediatek site and the asus site but I still can not get the 5ghz channels working, i can see them fine on my phone. As far as I have read we cant even replace this adapter either.

So to fix your slower speeds, log on your router, go to the wirless tab, and under wireless general tab you should see a channel bandwidth option. Set it to mixed, auto, or 20/40 however it is labeled and we should at least be able to use 150mbps speeds now. A hell of a lot better than 72.

Rob

DeOrgy
03-21-2015, 12:20 AM
I am really losing it tonight. You posted a screenshot of your setup and you have the bandwidth set to mixed already. However try enabling Wireless WMM APSD, that might do the trick.

pboissonneault
03-21-2015, 11:33 AM
Thanks!

I've set my 2.4ghz network to "N Only" and now I'm connected ad 150mbps, it's better, but I still can't get my 5ghz channel to work either..

WMM APSD was already enabled from previous attempts.

hmscott
03-22-2015, 12:20 AM
Guys, why do you think this MT7630 adapter works at 5ghz? I know the wiki entry says it has 5ghz, but that doesn't mean it does :)

I can't find any product specs, but I did find a certification document pdf at the same wiki for the MT7630, and it only lists 2.4ghz...
http://certifications.prod.wi-fi.org/pdf/certificate/public/download?cid=WFA17941

The Mediatek site didn't have any specs, and the downloadable drivers are old Version V5.0.46.0
http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/pciert2790rt309xrt35x2rt539xrt3290mt7630/

The Asus site has newer drivers Version V5.0.53.0
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=WLAN&os=3

Sometimes the low-end Wifi cards from Asus are only 2.4ghz 150mb max... odd but true :)

DeOrgy
03-22-2015, 04:09 AM
Guys, why do you think this MT7630 adapter works at 5ghz. I know the wiki entry says it has 5ghz, but that doesn't mean it does :)

I can't find any product specs, but I did find a certification document pdf is the same wiki for the MT7630, and it only lists 2.4ghz...
http://certifications.prod.wi-fi.org/pdf/certificate/public/download?cid=WFA17941

The Mediatek site didn't have any specs, and the downloadable drivers are old Version V5.0.46.0
http://www.mediatek.com/en/downloads/pciert2790rt309xrt35x2rt539xrt3290mt7630/

The Asus site has newer drivers Version V5.0.53.0
http://support.asus.com/Download.aspx?SLanguage=en&m=WLAN&os=3

Sometimes the low-end Wifi cards from Asus are only 2.4ghz 150mb max... odd but true :)

You may very well be right, it sure looks this way. I just can't fathom why? A premium gaming laptop with a ghetto WiFi adapter. I was shocked it didn't have ac. I knew what I was buying but it's still disappointing. From what I have gathered I can't swap the adapter either? So my only option for reasonable wireless is using a USB adapter?

Anyone know if the card can be replaced? I assume it would void warranty if I did.

pboissonneault
03-22-2015, 10:55 AM
That's what I thought, but I couldn't understand why would Asus do that when there are good wifi adapters for a very cheap price..

The next step would be to replace it..

masri_chia
03-22-2015, 11:14 AM
Anybody know how to solve my laptop G750 random black screen once I start playing any games. I updated my driver already but the problem still persist. I get random black screen for 1 sec then back to normal. Once in a while! Help!

Marshyman69
01-08-2016, 12:34 AM
So.. going on the next step.. has anyone tried to upgrade? is it even possible? and if so, what are the limitations?

pboissonneault
01-08-2016, 01:24 PM
Nothing can be done.
My solution is to stick with the 72mbps on Wi-Fi, when I'm at home, use 1gbps the wired network.

Maybe you could also use a Wi-Fi dongle if you need ac.

Marshyman69
06-05-2017, 02:18 AM
I actually went ahead and replaced mine completely with a card from intel. something about 867 mbs max I think? its a dual card with bluetooth (now I have two different bluetooth drivers I believe). I never use bluetooth so I have no idea. but yea I aside from changing that wifi card and moving windows to an SSD I have no done any other mods to the laptop. I definitely noticed a huge increase in interwebs capability. I also did a but of research on the adapter and even started my own thread a while back on the topic.. definitely cheaped out I have no idea why Asus would do such a thing.. why Mediatek.. anyways yea I think the card was like 30 bucks? got it from newegg like a year and a half ago now and I still have the original just in case. Definitely worth it.