PDA

View Full Version : Battlefield 4 (BF4) slow to load and even slower to run



bhutchins1a
03-17-2015, 01:32 PM
Hi, everybody, and I hope somebody can help!

I just received my new G751JY-DH72X, that I bought specifically for the purpose of playing Battlefield 4 while traveling, mostly on business.

Particulars on this laptop:
Core i7 4860HQ @ 2.4GHz
GeForce GTX 980M
512 GB SSD (Two 256GB partitions)
1TB HDD (Two 500GB partitions)
Windows 8.1
Whatever else comes with this particular model software-wise
I added an ROG Gladius mouse

After downloading and installing both the Origin client and BF4 on one of the SDD partitions, I excitedly hit the "Play" button on BF4 and waited...and waited...and waited...and waited. The program took 20 minutes to load and transition into gameplay mode. It was unplayable. The framerate (according to Shadowplay) was between 0 and 1 FPS. I tried to bring up the in-game options (by pressing the ESC key) to change the video settings but after waiting 3-4 minutes with nothing happening, I exited out of the game (ALT F4) - which took several minutes, too. I eventually had to use the Task Manager to kill BF4.exe.

I thought it may be a problem with the Nvidia driver so I updated the driver, but that didn't change anything. So, uninstalled BF4 and the Origin client, re-downloaded them and that didn't improve things, either.

So I downloaded the Steam client and Borderlands 2. Borderlands 2 runs great! Absolutely awesome! So I now know the G751 is capable, I just need help figuring out the bug.

I'm currently downloading Battlefield 3 and will see if it has similar issues to Battlefield 4.

Any suggestions on what else to try would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

NitroX
03-17-2015, 02:38 PM
This sounds like a particular problem with the game. I have played BF4 on origin and it is working just fine. Not even with level 3 GPU performance (which is for idle) the game wouldn't run at only 0-1 FPS -_-... I kinda recall something from another game that was doing the same thing but I can't seem toremember what it was.

EDIT: Ahh, I think I remember now. You should try to set the refresh rate of your monitor to 60Hz. See if this helps.

Prostar Computer
03-17-2015, 09:07 PM
The game can run far better than that even on the integrated graphics that the Intel chip touts. There must be an issue with the game.

I've read that you can set Origin and its games to install to the Program Files folder (instead of the "Program Files (x86) folder). This might help; it worked for someone else on Tom's Hardware running into a similar issue as yours.

bhutchins1a
03-20-2015, 12:30 PM
Thanks for the feedback, everybody!

I've tried the suggestions, but the problem persists. I downloaded BF3 and it won't even run - just crashes upon launch.

I have changed the folder/directory for Origin and for the two Battlefield programs with no change. I've unistalled everything and reinstalled it (Origin client, BF3, BF4, PunkBuster & DirectX) - still won't work. At the same time, I've been going back and forth trying other suggestions from ASUS technical support. Everything I have tried has not "fixed" whatever problem I have. Can't tell if it's hardware or software. Just plain weird!

At any rate, ASUS technical support recommended that I send it back and they'll take a look and see if they can diagnose and fix the problem. So at least I won't be stressing over this anymore (at least not for a while...) and I'll let somebody else stress over it. I've got my RMA, the laptop is boxed up and waiting for me to take it to the UPS store.

If I get any useful information out of this, I will post it.

Again, thanks for the suggestions!

William Cir
03-20-2015, 06:55 PM
I have the same problem! It maybe the battlefield 4 problem. I try to downgrade win8.1 system to win 7 system and the battlefield 4 works fine. Do not know why.... I am still waiting for your solutions.

navis995
03-21-2015, 05:24 PM
Have you tried settings the game to run off Nvidia GPU in Nvidia Control Panel?

William Cir
04-03-2015, 04:55 AM
bhutchins1a , are u still here, lololol. We have the same problem and we have the same computer. I solved this problem now and bf4 run very fast on my computer. It is easy to solve now, lolol. I like to share with those who have the same problem.
Here is the solution: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MWKnA6as9Q. If it does not work see the following comments in such video. Like this one: Anders Fihn2 months ago (edited)

** IF the fix in the video does not work and you're running an ASUS computer, try this **

1. Go to task manager
2. Find the task "ROG Game First III" and close it down.
3. Try to start your BF4 again and see if it works.
4. If it worked, uninstall that program (and preferably all the other **** ASUS pre-installs to your computer)

For some reason, this program is causing some serious problems with BF4.. Don't ask me why this works, it just does.

We can make it easier, for example: each time when we want to play BF4, we just use task manage to close "ROG Game First III", then we can run BF4 perfectly! Try it, if it works, tell me, lolol.

William Cir
04-03-2015, 04:58 AM
By the way, the "ROG Game First III" is in the background process of task manage. Hope it helps!