PDA

View Full Version : G751 JT DH72 ping spike in CS:GO issue?



hydrarog
03-18-2015, 01:54 AM
So I just got my rog today. And at first it ran with no problem. Then a few hours later the ping just started to spike up all the way to 200 and lag me like a btch. No my internet connection is fine. What's the issue and how do I fix this?

Dr. Zchivago
03-18-2015, 01:58 AM
How many different servers did you play on with the same issue?

hydrarog
03-18-2015, 03:35 PM
Like 5 out of 12..

Dr. Zchivago
03-18-2015, 04:12 PM
Connect to one of mine (shown in the signature) and tell me what you see.

At least, with mine, I can compare your ping with the server, directly.

Z

Edit: Can't believe I forgot to mention - my servers usually sit around 45 ns ping times (sometimes spikes to 120), because AT&T will one day be crushed under the Google jackboot.

It could also be your ISP causing spikes - especially if it's AT&T.

Edit: If an AT&T employee with real stroke reads this: your company's service (corporate, in Houston) is bad, and you should feel bad.

hydrarog
03-18-2015, 04:18 PM
Oh now it went up to 800... great

hydrarog
03-18-2015, 04:20 PM
dr can you make a tutorial?

AsSaSsInJ0HN
03-18-2015, 04:21 PM
even though it has a killer wifi card... i would suggest u to use a ethernet connection if no try using 2.5ghz wifi ( N ) ... with extra adapter..
This has solved my issue in battlefield 4 and in Farcry 2 tunngle .

Dr. Zchivago
03-18-2015, 04:35 PM
dr can you make a tutorial?

Tutorial for what? My server is on a corporate AT&T line - downloads/uploads are screaming fast, but ping sucks a big one.

The report shows my servers' pings stayed within 41 - 46 ns for the last two hours, so it's likely somewhere in between your laptop and your ISP.


even though it has a killer wifi card... i would suggest u to use a ethernet connection if no try using 2.5ghz wifi ( N ) ... with extra adapter..
This has solved my issue in battlefield 4 and in Farcry 2 tunngle .

Seconded

Z

hmscott
03-18-2015, 04:54 PM
even though it has a killer wifi card... i would suggest u to use a ethernet connection if no try using 2.5ghz wifi ( N ) ... with extra adapter..
This has solved my issue in battlefield 4 and in Farcry 2 tunngle .

John, which make / model adapter did you get?

hydrarog
03-18-2015, 05:57 PM
like how to find server whatever
what website do i use

also should i remove screen saver? i think that might be one of the problems?

Dr. Zchivago
03-18-2015, 06:35 PM
like how to find server whatever

When you go to "PLAY" and then "BROWSE COMMUNITY SERVERS" you'll see a list of several tens of thousand servers.

Type "tgc" into the type-box labeled "Filters" and my two servers should be there.

Please make a note of the server latency - shown next to the server name - before you join. Then, look at your latency after you join.

Z

AsSaSsInJ0HN
03-18-2015, 07:41 PM
i got this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002PD61Y4/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_2?pf_rd_p=1944687782&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000QDBOCY&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=147HBS4997A8YTTTTA1G

its good and zero connectivity problems . Also my Router hosts a 300mbps wifi...and it can connect to it @ 300mbps

hydrarog
03-19-2015, 12:07 AM
Can you make a video on YouTube so it's easier to understand?

hmscott
03-19-2015, 01:02 AM
i got this
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002PD61Y4/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_2?pf_rd_p=1944687782&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000QDBOCY&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=147HBS4997A8YTTTTA1G
its good and zero connectivity problems . Also my Router hosts a 300mbps wifi...and it can connect to it @ 300mbps

AsSaSsInJ0HN, that D-Link Wireless N-300 Mbps USB Wi-Fi Network Adapter (DWA-131) is an excellent choice :)

It goes well with this inexpensive router, that has been around for years - started as a top of the line gaming router with excellent low latency response:

D-Link Wireless N300 Mbps Extreme-N Gigabit Router (DIR-655) (ignore the DIR-825 5GZ, it didn't fair as well in reviews, one of the first 5ghz band routers)
http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-Wireless-Extreme-N-Gigabit-DIR-655/dp/B000LIFB7S/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1426726335&sr=1-1&keywords=d-link+dir-655
https://www.google.com/search?q=dir-655+best+price&num=50&safe=off&source=lnms&tbm=shop&sa=X&ei=-CAKVZTdK8euogTdhYHICA&ved=0CAcQ_AUoAQ&biw=733&bih=372#spd=16944884000006546511

It doesn't take spending lots of $ to get good network gaming results :)

D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit Router (DIR-655)
http://www.engadget.com/products/d-link/dir-655/
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2112768,00.asp

Ir started out at $150+, like 5 years ago, and now is still being shipping new for $50. You can find the used, but they are so cheap buying new with a warranty is a good idea. Like all routers this one can run hot if you run the power at maximum - I run mine at Low cause most connectivity is done close to the router - which allows it to run cooler.

D-link 655 set up videos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=29KnZt-QxLo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAzZvToF_CE
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jWQUQ6wZk5Y
https://www.youtube.com/user/DLinkTutorials/videos

Having more than 1 router around, I keep my old ones, lets you take them places, loan them out to friends, and have a preconfigured backup that can go in when ever you need it.

What router are you using with your D-link DWA-131 USB Adapter?