PDA

View Full Version : G75VW Startup screen with Windows 8.1 (from SSD)



Zeox
03-23-2015, 09:17 AM
Hi,

I have a G75VW Intel i7 3630QM 3rd gen, 16GB RAM, GTX 670M 3GB, with a SSD 120GB and HDD 750GB. Will share more info if needed.
Now to my question, my startup screen is a bit different then the normal one (I guess).
The ROG logo appears at the most bottom of the screen with the loading icon in the middle of it when I start the laptop.
Do you got any clue why it looks like that?
The normal startup screen I guess looks like the picture I posted with the ROG icon in the center of the screen together with the Intel logo
at the right bottom.
I also have the current BIOS version, 223.
Could I change it or should I leave it as it is?
Thanks in advance,
-Zeox

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 09:42 AM
So the "post" screen looks normal and the Windows loading screen is the one you describe as the problem?

When I power on my G55VW laptop I'll se the same ROG logo. However, it will change to the normal blue Windows logo when Windows starts loading.
Maybe there is somewhere in BIOS or your system where you can deactivate the ROG logo so the normal Windows logo will appear instead?

EDIT: Maybe there is a way to "fix" that startup screen if you really want it. I'm just not sure how to do that :/

Zeox
03-23-2015, 09:53 AM
Its not really a problem, I'm just wondering if that is normal. The picture with the white rectangle inside the ROG logo is how my startup screen looks like when
I power on my laptop. My friend got exactly the same laptop (maybe a different SSD) but his startup screen comes with the Intel logo at the right bottom.

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 10:07 AM
The picture with the white rectangle inside the ROG logo is how my startup screen looks like when
I power on my laptop.

I've never heard of that problem before, so I'm not sure if it's normal.

You could try to change the startup screen to the animated one, reboot and then change it back to static. Maybe that'll fix it.
And I know it sounds a bit silly, but have you tried to disconnect both power adapter and battery for a few seconds and then turn it on again?

Startup screen can be changed somewhere in BIOS I believe.

Zeox
03-23-2015, 10:17 AM
How do change the startup screen? Is it via Asus MyLogo or?
What do you mean with changing it back to static? I would like to change it back to default if its possible?

I have tried to disconnect both power adapter and the battery then restart it, but the same startup screen appears.
EDIT: Just found a video on YT about Asus Mylogo, would this maybe do the trick?https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWnFVvv_dzM

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 10:26 AM
How do change the startup screen? Is it via Asus MyLogo or?
EDIT: Just found a video on YT about Asus Mylogo, would this maybe do the trick?https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWnFVvv_dzM

I'm not sure how safe it is to use Asus MyLogo as it reflashes BIOS, so I would advice you not to use it.

You can change startup screen somewhere in BIOS (Press F2 when ROG logo appears on startup).

Zeox
03-23-2015, 10:35 AM
Do you maybe know where in BIOS I do those changes, last time I looked I couldnt find it.
(Working to late time today, so got no opportunity to look now.)
Any guide is appreciated.
Thanks in advance.
-Zeox

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 10:52 AM
Do you maybe know where in BIOS I do those changes. Any guide is appreciated.

I just checked my own BIOS since my G55VW BIOS should be almost identical to the G75VW BIOS.
Under the "Advanced" tab there is an option called "POST Logo Type" which should be set to static. However, you could try and change it to animated, then reboot and change it back to static again and see if it changed anything.
Another setting you could try is under the "Boot" tab and then "Boot Settings Configuration". Under this tab there should be something called "Full Screen Logo" which should be set to "Enabled".
Hope this helps :)

Zeox
03-23-2015, 10:58 AM
I will try this when I get home tonight. Huge thanks for your time and effort!
Have a great day.
-Zeox

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 11:09 AM
Also, if you can't find the settings in your BIOS it might be because they removed them in some of the newer BIOS updates. I use an older BIOS version (209) that was originally designed for Windows 7, so I can't be 100% sure what you'll find in your BIOS. However, these specific settings should hopefully be there :)

Zeox
03-23-2015, 12:11 PM
I hope so, because those settings are exactly the thing I was looking for and hopefully the reason for my strange Post Screen. I will post however my BIOS got those settings or not later tonight. Lets hope that they are there! :)
-Zeox

Zeox
03-23-2015, 01:19 PM
Just had a look on the BIOS 223 changelog to see if the UI got any changes. But I couldnt find any. I really hope those settings remains.
Anyone that got BIOS v.223 who can confirm that those settings (on page 1) for Post-screen changes remains?

Zeox
03-23-2015, 05:11 PM
I got out earlier from work and had a look into my BIOS, unfortunately I cant see those settings, could I activate them somehow? Or is there any other way to change this Post screen to default since I dont belive this is default.47790

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 05:50 PM
I got out earlier from work and had a look into my BIOS, unfortunately I cant see those settings, could I activate them somehow? Or is there any other way to change this Post screen to default since I dont belive this is default.47790

In the picture you added it really looks like the Windows loading screen and not the POST screen. I guess this is how it should have looked like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zy1_HSkEWjI

It seems like they removed the POST screen with the Intel logo on the newer BIOS versions (which is the reason for them to remove the logo options from the BIOS settings I think).

The Windows loading screen should be changed within Windows I believe. You could try to find a "loading screen changer" tool, try to repair Windows somehow or reinstall Windows. I'm not really sure how to fix the Windows boot logo, so maybe someone else can help you better than I do.
However, at least we know that it isn't BIOS that's the problem. If you really want the POST screen with the Intel logo, you could flash back to an earlier BIOS version, I woundn't recommend this solution though as there is a risk of corrupting BIOS.

Zeox
03-23-2015, 06:03 PM
Ok. Now I atleast know that it isnt BIOS-related which I first thought it was. I already made a fresh install of Windows 8.1 but this Windows startup still remains. I will try do dig into that "loading screen changer" tool or something and try with that.
(This maybe is quite silly, but this Windows startup made me wonder if my laptop was original from Asus or just a poor copy from China or so.)
Anyhow I wont play around with flashing back BIOS because I can live with this startup logo I guess :P
Thanks once again for ur help Nahrga. :)

Nahrga
03-23-2015, 06:14 PM
A boot on older BIOS versions looks more like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QLUe1HL_TGA

Hope you find a solution even though it's not a major problem :)

Zeox
03-23-2015, 07:07 PM
I just had a look on this software 8oot Logo Changer. Seems a bit "homemade", downloads from Softpedia.. Anyone that could confirm this? It wont affect my BIOS or so I hope. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fyiP4X-vMDA

Clintlgm
03-23-2015, 09:01 PM
I would be very careful about anything to do with the BIOS, we have seen many bricked Notebooks for a lot less if you listened to the first 3 minutes or so he is giving you a serious warning take it to heart.

Clintlgm
03-23-2015, 09:06 PM
You would have to edit the WinPE that happen before windows loads. You might want to check out the guru's on the window 8 forum before messing with this!! http://www.eightforums.com/windows-8-forums/

Zeox
03-24-2015, 07:25 AM
Thanks for the heads up, I guess I can live with my strange Windows boot loading screen. Hopefully this will change for the next unistall I am going to make of my system.
Now to something totally different, do you advise having Secure Boot, Fast boot and CSM enabled? Does any of those improve the booting speed of Windows?

Clintlgm
03-24-2015, 01:46 PM
Secure boot is exactly that it prevents root kits from installing to your hard drive. You need it
Fast boot also as it says enabled it boot faster
CSM is for legacy booting MBR so that would be disabled

If you have these setting your VW must have originally came with Windows 8 ?

Zeox
03-24-2015, 02:34 PM
That is correct, I have a small Win 8 logo under the notebook.
Could those POST or Splash Screen settings be reactivated somehow without downgrading or flashing the BIOS?

Zeox
03-24-2015, 06:19 PM
I restored the settings back to default in BIOS and my logo went back to its right place in the middle of the screen, so problem solved.
Now I could need some of your professional advices for what to have enabled and what to have disabled?
Advanced:
-Wake on Lid Open
-Power Off Energy Saving
ASUS USB Charger+ in battery mode

Boot:
- Fast Boot
- Launch CSM

Security:
- Secure Boot Control

Feel free to advice about more settings that I should turn on or off.
Thanks.

Clintlgm
03-24-2015, 07:26 PM
Asus USB Charger Plus is useless and causes conflicts unless you need this don't enable it.
Launch CSM you don't need unless you want to boot another device other than your OS

Zeox
03-24-2015, 07:36 PM
Alright, what about the other I posted like Wake on Lid Open etc, should I disable them all or do I leave some of them enabled?