PDA

View Full Version : Replace blue ray with SDS. POssible?



RO-mix
03-26-2015, 01:44 PM
Is it possible to replace Blue ray drive on G751 with extra sdd? How?

Jlieu
03-26-2015, 02:38 PM
yes. possible .

http://www.amazon.com/SANOXY%C2%AE-caddy-12-7mm-Universal-DVD-ROM/dp/B0056EW4A4/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1427380862&sr=1-1&keywords=Hard+Drive+Caddy

Clintlgm
03-26-2015, 03:55 PM
Yes but why put out the money for a SSD that will connect to a SATA 1.5 port?

rracres
03-26-2015, 03:58 PM
I replaced my DVD with Blu Ray player and had to use a 9.5 mm player. It would seem to me your hard drive caddie would need to be 9.5 mm not 12.7 mm. Check to make sure.

http://www.amazon.com/Protronix-Optical-Drive-Caddy-Universal/dp/B004XIUQYA/ref=sr_1_5?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1427385498&sr=1-5&keywords=9.5mm+hard+drive+caddy

Prostar Computer
03-26-2015, 04:02 PM
As others have alluded to, you can do what you're asking by using a caddy. The SSD is placed into the caddy and the caddy slides into the optical drive bay (after you remove your current Blu-Ray drive).

RO-mix
03-26-2015, 04:18 PM
But this connection is not SATA 2 as i understood?

Clintlgm
03-26-2015, 04:35 PM
Even SATA 2 would be very slow connection for an SSD they are really set up to run on SATA 3

AsSaSsInJ0HN
03-26-2015, 06:56 PM
yes get a caddy

RO-mix
03-26-2015, 07:09 PM
Ok... if it`is too slow it has no sence...

Clintlgm
03-26-2015, 07:17 PM
Yes you can put in a giant 1 TB 7200 RPM for less money and about the same performance.

Gps3dx
03-27-2015, 12:51 PM
Yes but why put out the money for a SSD that will connect to a SATA 1.5 port?

But this connection is not SATA 2 as i understood?

Even SATA 2 would be very slow connection for an SSD they are really set up to run on SATA 3

Sata I or II ( i.e 1.5Gb or 3Gb ? ) - i'm confuse.
What is your source of information ? how can anyone else check it on their own laptop ?
The fact that your optical drive is Sata I or II doesn't say that this is the MAXIMUM bus transfer for that device on that port.
It just says what MINIMUM bus speed this port supports ( or else you'll see a compatible report in apps line HwInfo64)

Can you please check your own device and report back ?
Thanks.

Clintlgm
03-27-2015, 01:30 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA

Gps3dx
03-27-2015, 02:14 PM
@Clintlgm
Thanks for the fast reply.
I think I didn't phrase my question well..
I know what speed sata I/II/III can achieve - but what I DON"T KNOW, is what speed does the optical drive port support.
I know the connector is indeed SATA - but that does NOT tell what speed it supports ( i.e sata I/II/III ) at its best.
any idea ?

Clintlgm
03-27-2015, 04:51 PM
OK you can check with others but the SATA 0 is SATA 3, This would include the M.2 port that is PCIe 4 lanes, the SATA 1 is SATA 2 and unless I have read wrong the DVD port it connected SATA 1.5 or Just SATA 1 Optical drive just aren't demanding enough to put in a faster port?
You can go through "hmscott" post he has discussed this several times

Prostar Computer
03-27-2015, 05:15 PM
The optical drive port's speed/generation should be capable of being determined by running HWiNFO64. It is most likely SATA 1.5 Gb/s or SATA 3 Gb/s (or SATA Generation 1 or SATA Generation 2, respectively).

Corporal
03-29-2015, 01:31 PM
The optical drive slot is sata 2. The top speed on my m4 ssd was 250 mb/s. The Sata 2 only limited the sequential speed from 500 down to 250. The random access speed wasn't limited in any way and stayed at about 220 mb/s