PDA

View Full Version : Asus G75vw Random Reboots - somewhat solved with throttlestop?

shinoyaj
04-02-2015, 02:29 PM
Hi guys im new to ROG and i just bought a asus G75vw older model 2012, no warranty and read a few forums about this laptop rebooting randomly. I was wondering if anyone out there ever got this issue fixed, not by sending it in for a replacement but actually repairing the hardware or software or what ever that's causing it to reboot. Some of the forums i read said to update the bios and i recently checked to see if it was updated it was up to 322 latest version and still cuts off randomly still. I installed a 160gb ssd and after an hour it rebooted by itself again which i thought the stock hard drive would be the problem. I really dont want to buy a new motherboard, if that's the case, for it or send it in for repair and find out it still has the same problem or the tech couldn't duplicate the random reboots and charge me for it. REALLY need HELP with this! Thanks And sorry for posting a similar thread.

Laredo250
04-02-2015, 10:47 PM
I've been having the problem with my G75VW for the past eight months, and have gotten to the point where I've just decided to live with it and use it primarily as a multimedia laptop. I had the GPU replaced under extended warranty, replaced motherboard, tried a different SSD and different HD, clean-installed Win7 64-bit and Win8.1, replaced RAM, repasted CPU and GPU, etc. It still reboots at random times - sometimes under heavy load on the GPU and sometimes almost immediately after login to Windows. CPU and GPU temps run on average around 50C. Not a speck of dust inside (I've had the thing broken down to bare parts more times than I care to think about.