PDA

View Full Version : What type of SSD for Asus GL551?



xicofcp
04-21-2015, 02:28 AM
Hi :)

Hi have purchased a asus ASUS GL551JM-CN212H it comes with a 1td hdd ans a 128ssd

i want to change the ssd for a new one but i dont know what type is it(msata m.2 )


the ssd i have is a KINGSTON SMSM151S3128GD

Can someone help me?

Thanks

xicofcp
04-21-2015, 01:03 PM
I want to buy this ssd, but need to be sure it is a m.2 ssd
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-850-EVO-3-5-Inch-MZ-N5E500BW/dp/B00TGIW1XG

xicofcp
04-22-2015, 12:29 PM
I want to buy this ssd, but need to be sure it is a m.2 ssd
http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-850-EVO-3-5-Inch-MZ-N5E500BW/dp/B00TGIW1XG

I sent an email to asus support and they tell me that ssd interface is msata
so i need a msata ssd

anyone knows how to disassemble this asus?
another question its possible change de network wireless card?

Clintlgm
04-22-2015, 02:03 PM
Well I goggled the SSD you reference and that is a SATA 2.5 format SSD

If you'll download and install Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php), it will tell you everything about all your hardware.

xicofcp
04-23-2015, 06:25 PM
Well I goggled the SSD you reference and that is a SATA 2.5 format SSD

If you'll download and install Hwinfo64 (http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php), it will tell you everything about all your hardware.

Its msata ssd
Someone know how to change it?

Mobius104
04-23-2015, 11:52 PM
I just took a look and it's buried in there deep. Also, it appears to be half length, the 512 I got to replace it wasn't going to fit.

I can't find any disassembly instructions online yet. Rather than try to figure out if the entire bottom came off, or if I had to go in through the top, I gave up and decided just to replace the 7200rpm 1TB with an SSD. So my OS will boot off the 128, the 1tb ssd will be primary storage, and the 7200 1tb will go in an external case for backups.

hmscott
04-24-2015, 01:12 AM
Hi :)
Hi have purchased a asus ASUS GL551JM-CN212H it comes with a 1td hdd ans a 128ssd
i want to change the ssd for a new one but i dont know what type is it(msata m.2 )
the ssd i have is a KINGSTON SMSM151S3128GD
Can someone help me? Thanks

xicofcp, I just downloaded the Manual for the GL551, and all it lists for replacement/change is the 2.5" HDD bay and memory, there is no mention of a secondary storage like an mSATA or M.2 storage slot.

https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/1828/2290/9f/dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/G551JM/0409_E9399_B.pdf

The drawing of the HDD replacement process page 99/100 shows an area to the right of the HDD bay that looks to me like a Wifi or Cache SSD space. But the manual doesn't mention either.

If it comes with an SSD cache slot, it would be as you described it, a half length slot. Those slots don't show up as a storage device, they are used in concert with the HDD to improve performance.

Found this ROG Upgrade Guide for the GL-551, and that confirms the middle slot area is Wifi and optional SSD cache:

G551 Upgrade Guide
http://rog.asus.com/376092014/g-series-gaming-laptops/g551-upgrade-guide/

WLAN / Bluetooth combo PCIE card (purple line), and an optional 24GB SSD cache mSATA (green line), which must be spec’d and pre-installed by the retailer at time of purchase. It gives SSD-like performance to HDD/SSHD users, giving a good balance of performance and large storage space."

49039

49040

I don't know if that slot will be seen as a storage device if you put a large mSATA drive in there...

And, as they say in the upgrade guide, the SSD cache is pre-installed by the retailer - likely due to the ExpresCache or Intel RST Smart Response cache, or other caching support requires the OS installed on a volume set to use RAID or AHCI at install time.

It may require a reload of the OS to enable the cache, check back with Asus. They told you the right slot interface info, mSATA, but left out what can go in there and how to enable/use it.

Please let us know how it works out :)

inverseflux
05-08-2015, 08:11 PM
As I was also looking into this as well. Good thread. Last post is somewhat incorrect though. As it says on the page you linked, "optional mSATA Mini SSD for cache (green)." and the image above the image you posted here, shows you where the pre-installed, follow the green line.

Hope that helps and good find on the upgrade page Asus posted, I was also looking for that.

hmscott
05-08-2015, 11:02 PM
As I was also looking into this as well. Good thread. Last post is somewhat incorrect though. As it says on the page you linked, "optional mSATA Mini SSD for cache (green)." and the image above the image you posted here, shows you where the pre-installed, follow the green line.
Hope that helps and good find on the upgrade page Asus posted, I was also looking for that.

inverseflux, thank you for taking the time to point that out, and I have fixed the posting and added the image(s) you mentioned. :)

inverseflux
05-08-2015, 11:23 PM
inverseflux, thank you for taking the time to point that out, and I have fixed the posting and added the image(s) you mentioned. :)

No sweat. I was trying to not sound like a corrective forum troll... and actually be helpful. Appreciate that link, sincerely... lol. Always nice to know what you're getting into before getting into it.

On that note, here is a 64GB cache drive from a company I don't know, requiring software I've not heard of. Assumption would be potentially needing to remove expresscache and install their software:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA53D1SC9271&cm_re=msata_half-_-9SIA53D1SC9271-_-Product

hmscott
05-09-2015, 01:18 AM
No sweat. I was trying to not sound like a corrective forum troll... and actually be helpful. Appreciate that link, sincerely... lol. Always nice to know what you're getting into before getting into it.
On that note, here is a 64GB cache drive from a company I don't know, requiring software I've not heard of. Assumption would be potentially needing to remove expresscache and install their software:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA53D1SC9271&cm_re=msata_half-_-9SIA53D1SC9271-_-Product

inverseflux, you might want to check with Doug at MyDigitalDiscount whether the gl551 will accept/work with their hardware / software, otherwise looks good :)

MyDigitalSSD 64GB Super Cache 2 25mm SATA III (6G) mSATA Mini (Half Size) SSD with FNet HybriDisk Software (64GB)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA53D1SC9271&cm_re=msata_half-_-9SIA53D1SC9271-_-Product <== 1st review, 5 star, but didn't work

"Didn't work on this motherboard

Pros: Right size for mSata micro slot. Fast Service From MyDigitalDiscount.com.

Cons: Didn't work

Other Thoughts: It didn't work in my particular motherboard even though the manufacturer said it would.

But, Doug at MyDigitalDiscount had the correct info as to why it wouldn't work and was fantastic in his understanding and immediately processed a RMA over the phone for me."

If it were me, I would go for a full SSD solution and not get the cache... I know more storage is nice, but the truth is caches don't help as much as we need for large games / apps with data - everything drops down to HDD speeds.

A nice 1TB SSD would be a nice compromise :)

Clintlgm
05-09-2015, 01:46 PM
Yes 1 TB SSD works very well, with out any work around, plug and play

inverseflux
07-31-2015, 12:08 AM
inverseflux, you might want to check with Doug at MyDigitalDiscount whether the gl551 will accept/work with their hardware / software, otherwise looks good :)

MyDigitalSSD 64GB Super Cache 2 25mm SATA III (6G) mSATA Mini (Half Size) SSD with FNet HybriDisk Software (64GB)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA53D1SC9271&cm_re=msata_half-_-9SIA53D1SC9271-_-Product <== 1st review, 5 star, but didn't work

"Didn't work on this motherboard

Pros: Right size for mSata micro slot. Fast Service From MyDigitalDiscount.com.

Cons: Didn't work

Other Thoughts: It didn't work in my particular motherboard even though the manufacturer said it would.

But, Doug at MyDigitalDiscount had the correct info as to why it wouldn't work and was fantastic in his understanding and immediately processed a RMA over the phone for me."

If it were me, I would go for a full SSD solution and not get the cache... I know more storage is nice, but the truth is caches don't help as much as we need for large games / apps with data - everything drops down to HDD speeds.

A nice 1TB SSD would be a nice compromise :)

Great follow up! I'm glad we got that figured out. Sounds like going the route of 1TB SSD and an HDD Caddy might be the better route to go.

robinthebay
08-03-2015, 07:32 PM
I recently had my m.2 stock SSD fail. I sent it in for RMA, as soon as it gets back, I'm going to use a HDD caddy to install an additionally ssd with the OS, I cant gamble with the SSD failing again and having to RMA it. If you have the G551, I would look into doing the same

Clintlgm
08-03-2015, 08:02 PM
I would keep my OS on the M.2 and keep good Images and back ups Odds are on your side for another failure. Yours is the first failure I have heard of.

lozeone
10-18-2015, 04:15 PM
My SSD failed twice with the GL551. The first time I sent it out for RMA.
I don't want to have to do that again. Does anyone know how I can go about replacing the SSD myself, I cant seem to find it.

lozeone
10-18-2015, 05:39 PM
My SSD failed twice with the GL551. The first time I sent it out for RMA.
I don't want to have to do that again. Does anyone know how I can go about replacing the SSD myself, I cant seem to find it.

nevermind, i found it

Llacness
12-17-2015, 03:45 PM
nevermind, i found it


Hey lozeone,
Could you please let me know how you got to the Ssd? Mine died and I would like to replace it...
Thanks!