PDA

View Full Version : G53JW-A1 Ram upgrade question



Darkfriend337
04-21-2015, 04:31 AM
Hey! I wanted to add/upgrade my ram. What ram can I use? I thought I could use http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008CP5QJK?ref_=pe_623860_70668690 (Kingston Value RAM 4GB 1333MHz PC3-10600 DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 SODIMM SR X8 Notebook Memory (KVR13S9S8/4)) but I got this answer to my question:

The KVR13S9S8/4 ValueRAM is not compatible with the ASUS ROG G53JW notebook. That system with an i3/i5 only supports a maximum of 4GB using two 2GB modules or in some with an i7 have four slots supporting a maximum of 8GB using four 2GB modules. We no longer support that system as we no longer manufacture 2GB memory modules compatible with it. You might be able to find the discontinued compatible part number KVR1333D3S9/2G from some online resellers.

But this doesn't seem right. Am I capped at 8 GB of ram? If so I can add 2 more 2gb like this- Kingston ValueRAM 2GB 1333MHz DDR3 Non-ECC CL9 SODIMM Notebook Memory but I'd prefer to not be so limited.

Since my understanding is that there are 4 ram slots on this laptop, could I add 2x 4gb for a total of 12 gb? Would that cause issues?

How hard is it to replace the HDD with a SDD?

Basically/TL;DR

1.) What ram?

2.) Will it cause issues to only add 1 more 4gb stick or 2 4gb sticks?

C4RN1
04-21-2015, 05:37 AM
Good thing you came here.

They are obviously wrong. You should be capped at 16gb - 4x4gb. If I were you I would check your laptop to make sure you have 4 slots on your motherboard.

As for upgrading your best bet is to stick with the ram you have and match it, so you have all 4 sticks of ram exactly the same.

You can download and run hwinfo64, then click on memory and it will show you what you have installed.

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r217/Carnifreekshow/hwinfo_zpsmqb70ure.png (http://s145.photobucket.com/user/Carnifreekshow/media/hwinfo_zpsmqb70ure.png.html)

Download the portable version so you don't have to install it.

http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php

I recently bought some ram off ebay to match a G74sx i'm selling. Here's a link to the ram I bought, there's more available.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/121619285257?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

As for replacing the hdd with a sdd, it's fairly simple. Just make sure you back up your files first. Then you can install windows from scratch and install the drivers and updates.

Hope this helps you out, let me know if you have any other questions.

Darkfriend337
04-21-2015, 05:46 AM
Awesome! Thanks. I was fairly sure they were wrong, but thought I'd come to the experts. As to if I have the slots or not, I will check. Is there anything specifically I need to watch out for when buying more ram outside of it being the same size and 1333 DDR3?

C4RN1
04-21-2015, 06:20 AM
It shouldn't matter too much as long as it's ddr3, 10600. Though different manufacturers have different timings at different speeds so it's best to keep it all the same.

Darkfriend337
04-21-2015, 06:21 AM
Excellent thanks.