PDA

View Full Version : ASUS AI Suite 3 (for Rampage V Extreme, 5-Optimization) guide, PDF, manual, how-to???



rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 04:33 AM
does ASUS have any kind of manual, video, instructions, how-to and/ or similar how to use, start off, first steps to AI SUITE 3 once it is installed?
this is the first screen when clicking first time on AI SUITE 3 icon. (asks you to click on 5-way optimization BUTTON)
48807
once you click on the button, next is a series of CHECKED and UNCHECKED options, and what does one do there?
48808
I am not wanting to overclock/ NO OVERCLOCKER here, but i do want to monitor many things, like the fans in the case and also the thermal sensors i have connected to the motherboard inside the case for CPU, GPU and MEMORY/ RAM modules.

so what do i do and what do i choose? check or uncheck?

this is my system:
CORSAIR Graphite Series 730T Black Steel / Plastic ATX Full Tower Gaming Case
CORSAIR AXi series AX1200i 1200W Digital ATX12V v2.31 and EPS 2.92 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready
ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME/U3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard
INTEL Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W BX80648I75930K Desktop Processor
NOCTUA NH-U12 S for Intel LGA 2011,1156,1155,1150 and AMD AM2/AM2+/AM3/3+,FM1/2 Sockets, U Type, 5 Heatpipe,120mm CPU Cooler Cooling
CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3000 (PC4-24000) Desktop Memory Model CMD32GX4M4B3000C15
NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X 12GD5 12GB
SAMSUNG 850 PRO MZ-7KE512BW 2.5" 512GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
SAMSUNG 850 EVO MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5 256GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
SEAGATE Hybrid Drives STCL4000400 4TB MLC/8GB SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ Desktop SSHD
ASUS Black 12X BD-ROM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-ROM SATA Internal Blu-ray Drive Model BC-12B1ST/BLK/B/AS

i also found this link: http://promos.asus.com/US/TCO/pages/UserExperience/AISuite.html
which does not explain RVE 5-way optimization at all, watched youtube videos and searched all over, all are about other motherboards and 4-way optimization, i could not locate nor find anything on RVE and 5-optimization and a starting guide, installation instruction and how to get started with AI SUITE 3 and RVE/ 5-way optimization.
also found this, again only for 4-WAY OPTI and nothing for RVE 5-way OPTI.
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA1150/Z87-DELUXE/DE128_Z87_AI_Suite3.pdf

any other ideas? or will ASUS come out with something for RVE users??? thank you all for your help in advance and hope ASUS can clarify this here.

Chino
05-01-2015, 04:44 AM
If overclocking isn't in your plans, just skip that entire tab. Most of the utilities in the AI Suite III program is dedicated to tweaking your system. If you're not sure of what they do, I'd recommend you don't fool around with any of them. :)

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 05:12 AM
how can I monitor 6x fans inside the case any other way?
also how can i monitor the 3x thermal wires/ sensors connected to T_SENSOR1, 2 and 3?

but agree not fooling around with AI SUITE 3 anymore...leaving it be. :o

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 05:20 AM
i do wish though, for newbies like me AI SUITE 3 for RVE had a nice documented installation guide and how-to guide :cool:

Chino
05-01-2015, 05:22 AM
The monitoring part of AI Suite 3 is Fan Xpert III. With that you can tweak the fan speed to your liking. If you look at the bottom of the AI Suite III program, you can see the readings for the different temperatures and sensors if you have any connected.

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 05:37 AM
hi Chino, will look tomorrow for sure, i did notice only 3x fans were shown, but i know i have 6x Fans in case connected to all 6x connectors on motherboard, and 1x CPU Fan connected to CPU Fan connector on motherboard. (only CPU fan Optional is free) but in AI Suite 3 it was only showing 3x fans + 1x CPU fan .
and i checked and double checked, all fans are running.

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 09:15 AM
Fans 1A, 2A, 3A, CPU are masters and fans 1B, 2B, 3B, CPU opt are slaves. So if you tweak 1A then 1B is also tweaked to the same properties. That's why you're only seeing 1A, 2A and 3A and CPU fan.

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 12:31 PM
Fans 1A, 2A, 3A, CPU are masters and fans 1B, 2B, 3B, CPU opt are slaves. So if you tweak 1A then 1B is also tweaked to the same properties. That's why you're only seeing 1A, 2A and 3A and CPU fan.
thank you coyi1895, appreciate your feedback and explanation! wonderful and makes sense. do you know where and how to read the T_SENSOR1, 2 and 3 out of windows? out of ASUS software within Windows?
thanks again for your valuable input.

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 02:20 PM
got Corsair Link to work, but have not had guts to start AI SUITE 3, without knowing what i am doing...and i can bypass or skip UNCHECK that first 5-way optimization it is asking me to do. (the program)

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 06:25 PM
I honestly haven't got the sensors on my motherboard yet but you'll find the temperature via AI Suite III 'Dual Intelligence Processors 5'. You can't miss it as it's down at the bottom and you can expand by clicking on the orangey triangle.

It's dead easy and foolproof. Allow the program to do its job of Fan Tuning and then you'll see your chassis fans and the graphs in each tab. Click on the chassis next to the graph and then you will see the Fan Name and Fan Position. Next to that is a small button denoting a fan symbol. Click on that and Press Start and what that does it stop the fan so you can find out the position which fan 1A and so forth. Once you know the position of 1A fan is top of the case, press Stop and then select Top Fan. Do so until you do all three.

EDIT: A tip. Make sure you group the fans in the same master/slave position for instance if the top part of the chassis has 2 fans then group them to the same number for example 2A and 2B.

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 07:42 PM
hi there, do i just leave everything as it is? or UNCHECK "CPU LEVEL" and "EPU", i don't want the AI SUITE to do anything with my CPU, i am NOT a overclocker nor do i want it to be overclocked.
48823

my worry is with the AI SUITE here, before i click anything, in the CPU LEVEL is the program trying to overclock to 4000, 4200 or 4400??? can i uncheck that CPU LEVEL option so AI SUITE does not touch CPU?

sorry, asking a lot and might seem like an amateur...really am newbie, and don't want to damage an expensive PC. hope you can help

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 07:46 PM
Leave it as that. It only kicks in if you press Start.

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 08:29 PM
so, how can i group the FANs and where do i do it? i am kind of missing the part where i can adjust, is it the bottom part? so leave the top stuff alone? sorry for my stupidity...

what and where to click?
48824

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 09:17 PM
Lets say the top chassis got two fans, doesn't matter either for master and slave, you could put them in the fan connectors 1A and 1B.

The 730T specs got 2 front fans and one rear fan so I would put the rear fan in 3A fan connector and put the front fans in 1A and 1B.

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 09:30 PM
Judging from the 730T specs, a bottom fan 120mm, either 120/140mm for rear, two 140 mm or three 120mm for top and either 120/140mm for front so you have plenty of options of adding more fans and an AIO cooler later on.

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 09:47 PM
That is to change the settings of threshold. Leave them alone and click the u-turn arrow to come out of it Go to Fan Xpert 3, that is where you re-adjust the speed.

coyi1895
05-01-2015, 10:48 PM
I put a guide

After the Automatic fan tuning, you could click on fan tuning. Click on where you see the red circle.

48832

Then click on where the red circle is. This will stop the fan and you can find where's the position of the fan

48834

48835

If the Chassis 1A turns out to the front fan, then click on the Front Fan and then click on Save

48836

After configuring the positions of the fans, then you have 4 different options of fan speeds (Silent, Standard, Turbo and Fast Speed). Click on whichever you desire. You can then save or load profile.

48837

rocafella1978
05-01-2015, 11:24 PM
hi! thank you so much, after reading your guide , it makes all more sense, appreciate it very much, that you took the time and patience to write it up like you did above! god bless you.

Praz
05-01-2015, 11:32 PM
got Corsair Link to work, but have not had guts to start AI SUITE 3, without knowing what i am doing...and i can bypass or skip UNCHECK that first 5-way optimization it is asking me to do. (the program)
Hello

Don't run both Corsair Link and AI Suite. Doing so will cause issues when both are polling the bus.

rocafella1978
05-02-2015, 01:04 AM
okay understood, thank you for pointing that out and letting me know, important information for sure!

rocafella1978
05-02-2015, 02:46 AM
i did the guide and worked very fine and nicely, thank you for writing it up. now my question is, it is now by software or AI SUITE 3 decided to leave top 2x fans off in standard mode, is there any way to influence this? i want in standard mode all 6x to run at same rate, because right now, AI SUITE is running 4x fans (1x bottom, 1x rear and 2x front slowly) but has shut down the 2x top fans, and i do not want them off.

how can i influence this? possible at all?

figured it out and easy to use, adjusting graphs and etc. very configurable! excellent!

coyi1895
05-02-2015, 10:17 AM
No worries. Are you saying the top fans are not working physically? Where are the top fans on the motherboard, which fan connectors on the motherboard I mean. Should be running all fans since the motherboard got 6 fan connectors and two fan connectors for cpu.
On AI Suite III, I have 5 fans connected and one is showing in red text 0 rpm

48839

rocafella1978
05-02-2015, 11:45 AM
hi coyi1895, i did a logical re-connection of all fans, basically 1A (2x front 140mm), 2A (2x top 140mm) and 3A (1x 140mm rear and 1x 120mm bottom). after that when hit fan tuning it did its own thing and adjusted it by itself, and left the top 2x 140mm "stopped" under "Standard" profile, so i adjusted the 2x top fan like the others with a little less rpm but activated them and saved basically as my own custom "standard" profile.
so i tested silent profile, which turns off bottom and rear also, and reduced to like 250rpm every fan almost, which i found maybe that is not enough airflow, but have not played with that profile yet.
on mode "full speed" just turns on all fans at their max RPM. i tested that for like 1min and observed RPM's.

coyi1895
05-02-2015, 12:31 PM
When I select silent and standard, it reduced the fans speed down not stopping them.

rocafella1978
05-02-2015, 12:38 PM
When I select silent and standard, it reduced the fans speed down not stopping them.
on mine, it also slows down all of them (4x fans and 1x CPU fan), but it stops the top 2x 140mm fans on "ASUS Standard" setting, but i customized to my own standard setting, so those 2x top fans also run in conjunction with rest of the fans.

coyi1895
05-02-2015, 12:41 PM
Oh! Gotcha I understand now.

coyi1895
05-02-2015, 12:51 PM
Oh! Gotcha I understand now. Have you tried the Qfan Control in the BIOS?

rocafella1978
05-02-2015, 01:04 PM
interesting, have not tried, what is the qfan control?

coyi1895
05-02-2015, 01:31 PM
Oh it's to control the fans without needing Fan Xpert 3. It's in the UEFI BIOS above the Advanced tab.

48841