PDA

View Full Version : Overclocking G551JW with GT960M



Piro
05-15-2015, 06:06 AM
I have unboxed my G551JW, and installed WIN8.1. Then I benchmarked it in old good 3DMark06 (1.2) with latest drivers from NVidia.
It scored about 22500.
Then I've started GPU-Z to check frequencies. After verification of temperatures I decided to tune it a bit.
I've used Asus tweaker. Unfair situation - it crashes the system.:mad:
Ok, I've moved to MSI Afterburner. It works, but overclocking of GPU is locked.:confused: NViddia driver 3.47.25 and newer support GTX960M but lock overclocking and voltage tweaking. BTW if I start GPU-Z together with Afterburner - system crashes reporting error in GPU kernel (nice new blue screen of win8, wow).
So I adapted older driver to be used with GTX960M, with success.
Now CPU (i7 4720hq) is set to 37,36,35,35 instead of 36,35,34,34 and GPU is set from 1097 ->1125 & memory from 2500 ->2900. I added some minimal tweaks on voltage of CPU and GPU (rather psychological effect).
I have tested it with 3DMark06 again. Now almost 26000 (always over 25900). There is no problem with temperature but I want to be sure so now I must replace thermal compound - I have ordered Arctic Silver 5 as internet says so.

I wonder if somebody of GTX860M owners or GTX960M owners (same product IMHO) has some ideas about proper settings?

PS: This I have read already https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?46545-G750jm-860m-gpu-stable-oc-Clock-1097-amp-memory-1389/page9&highlight=g750jm

Piro
05-16-2015, 05:55 AM
Further tests: Actual stable settings:
49299

Results at Furmark 1.15: 2287 (standard was 2115) - http://www.ozone3d.net/gpudb/score.php?which=128693
3DMark06: 27024 - http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/17771016
3DMark: 4552 - (Fire Strike) http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/6998515 - :D fastest GT960M in 3DMark...

MafJose
05-16-2015, 02:47 PM
Just a question that interests me because I owned G551JM - whats your CPU and GPU temperatures under full load?
Mine was unable to cool itself and started to throttle in 10 minutes playing GTA 5

Piro
05-16-2015, 03:56 PM
It is reaching 80C and it is more or less stable.
I cannot see any throttling. What is your voltage of GPU?

MafJose
05-16-2015, 07:16 PM
Mine reached 98C CPU and 88 GPU - standard factory settings.
I unfortunately dont know the voltage and cant check it out since I returned the PC few weeks ago.

Piro
05-16-2015, 08:39 PM
In that case it must have been something wrong with cooling. I have no such problems at all, even with Furmark stress test.

nickleetw
05-17-2015, 05:33 AM
HI i have G551jw as well, but my gpu will automatically reduce gpu clock once it temp reaches 70, it's so annoying during the games...
do u have any idea of how to increase the gpu tempture limit (it's now locked at 70C, i want to increase to 80 or 85)for this laptop?

OCFreak
05-17-2015, 09:20 AM
Nice scores, My 551JM can only reach around 4200 in 3dmark (860M/4710HQ).

Good temps as well, my 551JM hits around 90/91C CPU temp when heavy gaming (98C under furmark + prime stress) and around 80C GPU temp.

Piro
05-17-2015, 03:14 PM
To be honest I haven't focused on temp of GPU as much as I should. Probably under longer stress it will throttle itself.
Maybe because my G551 is new, it cools itself a bit better. I also increased cooling speed to be arising to 100% over 55C so it is louder but less vulnerable to temp. I use Notebook Fan Control app for control cooling (using Asus UX31A profile -it works).
The only thing I did was tweaking NVidia drivers to enable back overclocking and voltage control as it seems they have blocked overclocking at the moment of introduction of GTX960M.

PS: Today I've spent some time on memory speed setting and now my DMark: 4552 - (Fire Strike) http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/6998515 - fastest GT960M in 3DMark...

MafJose
05-17-2015, 06:17 PM
I am really surprised with your temperatures whilst being overclocked.
My reseller took back the PC and agreed that the temperatures were somewhat too high, I got faulty unit then, I suppose.

OCFreak
05-17-2015, 06:30 PM
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/6999665 my best score so far is 4243. Maybe my score is so much lower than yours due to only having 1 momory module (no dual channel) and slightly slower CPU. the 77MHz GPU speed difference alone can't give this much of a differnce.

Piro
05-17-2015, 08:32 PM
Hmm, dual channel - yes this should have positive influence. But I do not believe such differences may be typical. Maybe thermal compound is not properly set at the surface of your GPU?
BTW I change my thermal compound soon (I wait for Arctic 5 delivery).
BTW2 I will see what will happen while Witcher III running. Maybe I will have pan for fries instead of my Asus. ;)

nettto
05-19-2015, 02:13 AM
... There is no problem with temperature but I want to be sure so now I must replace thermal compound - I have ordered Arctic Silver 5 as internet says so....

I saw this post in another thread, regarding changing the thermal paste & the warranty
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?59354-G751JY-Disassembly-Pics&p=486506&viewfull=1#post486506

If you do a teardown, I'm sure a write-up with pictures would be appreciated.

Piro
05-19-2015, 06:29 AM
I saw this post in another thread, regarding changing the thermal paste & the warranty
https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?59354-G751JY-Disassembly-Pics&p=486506&viewfull=1#post486506

If you do a teardown, I'm sure a write-up with pictures would be appreciated.

Oh yes, I know warranty rules and I understand clearly, that replacing thermal compound may be considered as "willish void".
But he who doesn't risk never gets to drink champagne. I will open it anyway and for sure I will publish photos.

frozenashes2
08-28-2015, 06:54 PM
Further tests: Actual stable settings:
49299

Results at Furmark 1.15: 2287 (standard was 2115) - http://www.ozone3d.net/gpudb/score.php?which=128693
3DMark06: 27024 - http://www.3dmark.com/3dm06/17771016
3DMark: 4552 - (Fire Strike) http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/6998515 - :D fastest GT960M in 3DMark...

I see you have the GTX 960M 4GB So I decided somewhere in the future someone with the 2GB version will poke questions so I went ahead and overclocked my i7 4720HQ and 960M 2GB.

My i7 is now running at 3.7Ghz

http://s11.postimg.org/dad1inuhf/960overlock.gif

My firestrike score is at 4393. Your score is only 159 points higher than my 2GB version. ;)

Without OC it sits at 3964 on firestrike.

ZIXEL
09-14-2015, 02:26 PM
nice pics , need do that but im not sure :cool:

dunedune
10-09-2015, 05:51 PM
how did u overclocked it ???? where is the method please someone reply

ZIXEL
10-10-2015, 02:36 PM
I got 25865 without any tweak , just installed bios T06 , last nvidia drivers win8.1 no uefi

bugme-not
10-13-2015, 03:00 PM
Hello everyone!

I have a N551JM with GTX 860M, does exist a Vbios unblocked for my notebook?

Compwxr
10-14-2015, 02:01 AM
You might need to do it by yourself, but a google search always helps :)

dunedune
10-14-2015, 05:57 AM
Really !!!! I have also T06 bios but when i run MSI after burner ,all overclocking limits are locked :(

dunedune
10-14-2015, 06:00 AM
So u mean the overclock method is inside hardware !!?? So the author of this topic didnt used modded BIOS !?

Compwxr
10-14-2015, 12:11 PM
I mean that there are tools that extract the vBios from your main Bios dump, and then you mod it with another tools... :P to raise the predefined clocks up to a certain level. Another solution is getting pro help to disable the lock-bit, removing 135mhz+ limit.

bugme-not
10-15-2015, 07:34 AM
Ok, I used MMtool and my system BIOS (from ASUS site).
I try to extract my video bios, ok.
But when i try to open video bios with Maxwellbiostweaker it is not recognized...(not valid Bios)
Maybe the extraction from system bios works correctly only for Kepler card?

dunedune
10-15-2015, 07:58 AM
Actually this way is a bit dangerous of modding BIOS without experience & doing some experiments , Because of course most of modded BIOS hacked by HEX Values of changes , So i keep this way for those specific modders to deal with :(

bugme-not
10-15-2015, 10:13 AM
No pain, no gain!! :D:D

ZIXEL
10-16-2015, 03:43 AM
msiafterburner locks voltage and fan , core clock and memory clock are ok , i need some tool to tweak voltage + core clock + memory clock + power limit + fan speed

ZIXEL
10-26-2015, 04:05 AM
Hey guys someone knows about tutorial how to flash vBios gtx960m step by step , ? i need it , i would like ask to piro but his last activity was july

Compwxr
10-26-2015, 09:11 PM
Well, from what I know, there isn't any tutorial in the web for 960m.
I can certainly guide you throughout the steps.
First of all you need a dump from your system bios, using afuwin64 for instance.
Then with mmtool (lastest version) I use v5 extract the vbios module.
It's size should be 102KB
Finally edit it with Maxwell II Bios Tweaker 1.36, save it prior to changes, replace it with the original in mmtool always making backup of original dump and flash back with afuwin64.

This is as easy as I can explain it.
Beware of bad configs as you might have rough times to get it working again or even in worst case brick your laptop.

dunedune
10-27-2015, 04:49 AM
Thanks for da guide . But what will happen if your changed wrong values in vbios then installing it !? Dead of motherboard ! . Thats bit dangerous ,Actually i searched in google about same idea ,But all the methods failed because this model didnt modified yet or you can say piro the only 1 who decided to overclock GPU . I guess why he left this fourm without intruducing his impressive instructions :( .

Compwxr
10-27-2015, 12:56 PM
That's not entirely true, if you did a deep search down the many threads about this subject, you could see I've already made the same as Piro. Unlocked the vBios to make higher oc's than the 135mhz limit. With different Bios versions. The Highest stable that I've achieved was 1430Mhz on Core side and 3300Mhz on Memory side.
So stock vs OC
1197Mhz - 1430Mhz Core
2500Mhz - 3300Mhz Memory

This resulted in a 5-10 FPS win in ex. of game runing at 30FPS

As tricky as it seems, vBios modding is the only way you can get good oc's in this laptop. Mine came locked core and mem side. I couln't go higher than 135Mhz on both.
Yes there are risks, but also there are lot's of info in the web regarding how to remove turbo boost and force static clock on maxwell chip via tweaker. Beware that the 135mhz limit lies deep in the vBios and needs further help to unlock like me an Piro did. There are forums that could help you with that.
So by yourself you should be able to force a static clock on core side like 1300 for instance, and then should be able to go up and down 135Mhz. Downside is the Core will always run at that frequency albeit it still throttles to safe values if it heats. The memory is locked by the same lock-bit, so even modifying vBios mem clocks, you can't go higher than 2635Mhz, at least that's my case. Without running in a bricked vBios. So my advise is only to touch the Core clocks, power draw and disable turboboost.
If you want to go deeper and unlock the chip to be able to make the adjustments you want without any limits in power you should check for more experient help.

Hope this helps

dunedune
10-28-2015, 04:45 AM
So when getting high core clock the temprature will raise very high :( did you discovered values of temp limit ??? So if i installed your Bios in same model ,is it better instead of following steps to mod vbios ?
It is so rubbish from ASUS to block the user overclocking his own PC , MSI is giving all the freedom to customize anything you want in Hardware ... Look for MSI notbook dragon Edition :)

Compwxr
10-28-2015, 03:32 PM
Not entirely true, I believe MSI still have the 135Mhz Oc limit, but raised Throttling temps. However with low room temp and with high OC and a little UV you can achieve the 1400MHz mark on the core without throttling. I strongly advise you mod your dumped bios by yourself as I dind't test if changing the module with another pc one is the way to go. Or ask for help to remove limits of your vBios in this subject forums over web.

ZIXEL
10-28-2015, 06:16 PM
hi ty for tutorial im modding now in MAXWELL tweaker after this i will insert the edited vbios in the main bios and ill flash , maybe u can give me some numbers in mem clock and memory clock and voltage

ZIXEL
10-28-2015, 09:38 PM
Well i got , a OC of memory clock , but core clock is the same 1188 , 53327

ZIXEL
10-28-2015, 09:46 PM
see this pic , i flashed core clock 1097 --> 1282 mhz and boost 1176 +12 mhz --> 1380mhz , but gpu z just display me 1188mhz cannot get more , maybe i need a tutorial how to edit correctly the values in maxwelltweaker 53328

dunedune
10-29-2015, 03:48 AM
OMG , this look awesome zixel , I really hope 1 of you guys making a full Tutorial about modding vbios . Am gonna check more in the web !

dunedune
10-29-2015, 08:09 AM
Zixel can you please upload MAXWELL program to me , Because i still cant find it in sites 'Most of links are fake or deleted'

dunedune
10-29-2015, 08:13 AM
I found it , no need to upload

Compwxr
10-30-2015, 03:50 AM
Send a printscreen from maxwell first page and boost page

dunedune
10-30-2015, 06:23 PM
I tried 3 verions of GPU-Z but i still cannot save my BIOS to Hack it '' Am getting this error everytime (BIOS Reading is not Suported on this device )
Any fixes about it ??? I disabled GPU driver but still same problem

ZIXEL
10-30-2015, 11:00 PM
I tried 3 verions of GPU-Z but i still cannot save my BIOS to Hack it '' Am getting this error everytime (BIOS Reading is not Suported on this device )
Any fixes about it ??? I disabled GPU driver but still same problem

gpu z cannot extract vbios in this asus g551jw gtx 960m , u need AFUWIN and MMTOOL (read Compwxrs tutorial )

ZIXEL
10-30-2015, 11:13 PM
Send a printscreen from maxwell first page and boost page
yeah maybe you also can send me your most stables numbers i need your BOOST STATES , CLOCK STATES , BOOST TABLE , POWER TABLE ,VOLTAGE TABLE AND COMMON TABS AND ENTRYS 53373 53374 53375 53376

Compwxr
10-31-2015, 12:54 AM
Don't mess with voltage, other than UV, it's rather useless. Only if you have repasted with better thermal paste.
Clock states and boost states are updated when you change common tab and boost table tab so no need to mess with them too.
Just try this configs and report. Don't go crazy with memory without further unlock.

53377

dunedune
10-31-2015, 09:36 AM
Another Error while running AFUWINx64 . ''Error : Loading Driver '' :mad:
Another Error : BIOS Does not support AFU
Some users in google said you are not using correct Version of BIOS !! so i must upgrade from BETA Bios to 207 ?

ZIXEL
10-31-2015, 03:37 PM
clock core in gpu z , go down to 772 , cannot see boost clock , but in the practice core clock is 1390 all time , tested hwinfo64 and aida ,

someone knows about tutorial How to edit correctly vbios to gtx 960m

dunedune
10-31-2015, 04:55 PM
Zixel did you mod the BETA Bios or Official version ?

ZIXEL
10-31-2015, 05:39 PM
no , you need AFUWINx64_5.05.04

dunedune
10-31-2015, 06:13 PM
i downloaded it , Another error windows cannot find C:-Users-dune dune-Desktop-AFUDOS.exe Make syre you typed the name correctly and then try again :mad:

Compwxr
10-31-2015, 07:13 PM
Correct Zixel, the configs I gave you above force the clock predefined in the Vbios by yourself, still having the 135 mhz margin to explore. There ain't any tutorial for 960m. So if it is giving you forced 1390mhz, try to go down a bit in bios, like those 90mhz to 1300mhz and then you can go up to 1435 that is rather max you can do with you card. Anyway there isn't much to do without further unlocking the vBios.

dunedune
11-01-2015, 07:51 AM
Still No response , Why AFU tool is not working with me ?

Compwxr
11-02-2015, 03:06 AM
I have no clue why it isn't working for you. Something blocking it's access or you just need a fresh win install :\

dunedune
11-06-2015, 09:28 AM
after long time , this copy of AFU worked but I don't know how to use it ... afuwin64 " . Okay at starting program I tried to save the BIOS but I cant type a ROM name !

dunedune
11-07-2015, 08:38 AM
The program only allow me to overwrite the bios

53499

Compwxr
11-07-2015, 04:30 PM
That version is too old. Search for v.5.05.04 This one worked for me

Compwxr
11-07-2015, 04:31 PM
You just need to save the bios, so you can make the changes in the dumped Bios

dunedune
11-07-2015, 05:13 PM
I saved the bios as a .ROM formula but am getting error when I open it from mmtool or maxwell .

53509

Compwxr
11-07-2015, 05:47 PM
Because you don't have the right mmtool :) You need mmtool v5 aptio. Search and report :)

dunedune
11-07-2015, 06:25 PM
OMG , looks like the old versions are messed up .... it worked with me so suppose to do now ?

53512

Compwxr
11-07-2015, 08:44 PM
Now you need to find the vBios module, mine's has GUID C5D7EAAD... almost at middle of the page. Extract it and then open it with Maxwell

dunedune
11-08-2015, 07:10 AM
Okay , is this right Direction ???
53521

So how do you extract it ??? Sorry for rubbish question because I not experienced this kind of programs

Question : If the BIOS formula is .ROM , How the G551JW will recognize it to install ???

Compwxr
11-08-2015, 01:51 PM
Yes, that's the one. You have to select it and in the upper tab go to extract. Put a name in the module file, anything fits, like Vbios and then click extract. It should save it in the same folder where mmtool is stored. After that you can open that module with Maxwell. Look for the older posts I've put here about Maxwell Tweaker and what to edit. Only change what I've told to change and compare values with the images in the posts. Remember to keep a backup of the dumped bios untouched just in case. After editing the vbios and saving it with maxwell go back to mmtool and go to replace. Select again the module in the list till it's highlighted and in module file browse for the edited vBios. Then click replace and save the Bios in mmtool. Later on, go to afuwin, open the Bios and flash it. That's all, be carefull, don't mess with things you're not sure what they are for. I'm not responsible if any damage occurs to your pc. So stick with the basics and don't go crazy on clocks ;)

dunedune
11-08-2015, 02:19 PM
Okay , I followed first steps and am getting error with MAXWELL , I don't know if this a fake version or old version because there's no official website for MAXWELL ....
The error is when I trying to select "ASUS EXTRACTED' Vbios its not showing to select , As u see in pic
When I select ASUS.ROM it says ( Unsupported Device )

53526

Don't worry overclocking is not that much damage may cause ,Because the only things I need to change are 'Temp limit & core clock""

Update : I tried version 1.36 MAXWELL ,Still same error massage

used another program with same error

53527

dunedune
11-09-2015, 07:14 AM
Hey Compuxr , OMG good news , The solution was very easy ... when I saved the vbios the formula was Unknows like "Vbios" I just changed the File as this path (Vbios.ROM) And it loaded on MAXWELL
look

53536

dunedune
11-09-2015, 07:47 AM
I overclocked the Core clock with same values you suggested and zixel .
Overclocked to 1385MHz ... question : I adjusted the Temp limit to 99C but still stuck at 82C

53537

AsSaSsInJ0HN
11-09-2015, 09:05 AM
Omg. Dunedune did u just succeed on overclocking it ????....

Compwxr
11-09-2015, 11:41 AM
Well it's normal you can't change the temp limit, it's been frustrating from the start. Asus deep-coded the temp limit in the Bios. And congratulations :D I advise you to lower it to 1300 or such and still have the 135mhz up & down margin to play, 1385 is a bit high, almost pushing chip to limit. And BTW that boost clocks apply correctly? I'm not sure if they do.

dunedune
11-09-2015, 01:32 PM
Thank you So Much Compwxr for all your assistance :) ... Now I got Extra 8FPS or 10FPS upgrade from current stock Values ....
I will Make a full Tutorial Soon as possible for how to overclock this Model :)
---
According to the Temp limit ,In my opinion I feel 82C is not much better if you goanna capture game recording ,It raise fast

Compwxr
11-09-2015, 05:58 PM
There ain't much to do, only if Prema gave it a shot...

ZIXEL
11-10-2015, 04:13 AM
Hi guys here a reference tutorial https://forums.geforce.com/default/topic/820979/-asus-laptops-workaround-for-gpu-throttling-bios-modding-amp-disabling-boost/
nice pics dunedune

dunedune
11-10-2015, 07:32 AM
Actually the Boost clock is not working anymore , i changed the current clock to 1303MHz and the Boost clock to 1385MHz , but its not boosting just keep stuck on 1303MHz

ZIXEL
11-10-2015, 07:53 AM
i think is for BOOST TABLE TAB in maxwell, change it to 1390mhz , care with that numbers

dunedune
11-10-2015, 02:40 PM
Zixel can you post a screen shot from your common vbios settings , i Want to compare why its stuck on 1303MHz

ZIXEL
11-10-2015, 05:48 PM
53548
check boost table tab , change the scroll

dunedune
11-11-2015, 06:51 AM
Nice , i just changed values same yours and the core clock now 1385MHz :)

dunedune
11-11-2015, 03:53 PM
Zixel Did you tried overclocking Core clock to 1450MHz ??? or anybody here ?

ZIXEL
11-11-2015, 05:26 PM
i did it just to 1439 , and memory just to 2649 ,im still testing some numbers

Compwxr
11-12-2015, 09:25 PM
Guys. Dont push it to Hard on vBios. Put clocks around 1300-1350 on vBios and then use the 135mhz limit to explore. And I seriously advise.. . Do not go crazy with memory clocks like more than 2635Mhz... Otherwise you'll get bsod at Windows login and a very bad time in getting laptop to work again...

Compwxr
11-12-2015, 09:29 PM
If you are looking for further improvements try to get someone to unlock the 135mhz limits in both mem and core like I did. Then you make your tests directly in oc software rather than hardware.

ZIXEL
11-19-2015, 06:49 PM
well so i cannot go up more than 2650 in Memory clock , i wanna go up to 2800-2900 maybe i need to change some voltages values like piro

Compwxr
11-20-2015, 03:53 AM
Not voltage values, you need to unlock vbios

ZIXEL
12-20-2015, 06:58 AM
Well guys , i think its time to unlock vbios , maybe our helpfull friend Compwxr can help us ,
show us your tutorial like flashvbios

EtaCarinaeSC
07-11-2016, 08:38 PM
Hello folks,

I am following the clues in this thread to do the same but stumbled upon: Bios not matching existing bios size error. What to do?
Thank you!

Compwxr
07-12-2016, 03:28 PM
Hello there once again! It's been sometime since I've came here to check for updates. Well I've read your last PM's sent. Regarding the Mem clocks #Zixel It needs to be unlocked since they have a 150mhz~ limit to Oc, I've managed to get mine at 3200Mhz stable even being Elpida but my vBios is unlocked in both core and mem. For that you need more help than I can give. As I've already said I had the luck as Piro of getting a great modder unlocking my vBios, and unfortunately it's only compatible with this machine.
Now regarding #EtaCarianaeSC question, First of all, to start modding your vBios you need to make a backup of your current Bios with Afuwin64, last version prefered. Then mmtool to extract the vBios module out of the Bios, mod it and later replace the original one with the modded and save it. Finally flash it again with afuwin64. As I've already told, this voids warranty, can and will brick your laptop if any value goes higher than your Gpu can handle, Like mem clocks above 2635Mhz~ and core above 1350Mhz~. I Would suggest oc the core in an interval between 1250-1300Mhz. Since you'll later have a 135Mhz headroom to explore. This chip struggles above 1400Mhz and not mentioning the fact that it heats up like hell.
Guys be free to ask anything you want.

Kind regards from Portugal

EtaCarinaeSC
07-13-2016, 07:12 AM
Thank you guys so much!
I successedededed, and it wouldn't be possible without you.

Downgraded to the infamous beta bios - Check.
Overclocked the **** out of the 960m - Check.
Happy as **** - Check.
Repaste the notebook - Awaiting.
Find the ninja cutting onions - Awaiting.
1.3 ghz base, allowed slider to play with the 135mhz, ram +50 nothing too pushing.

58155

THANK YOU!

P.S Does anyone else notice that the battery is being drained while OCed? :D. Not only that but if you remove it you get into the realm of 30ish % less performance.

Compwxr
07-14-2016, 02:16 AM
I'm happy to see that you succeeded, have fun and play safe ;)
About the battery issue it's kinda normal, when you exceed the watt's it can draw from ac it drains from batt :)

EtaCarinaeSC
07-14-2016, 04:47 PM
Uhm, just wondering, how to undervolt the card from the bios? I see these voltage charts but can't seem to find the way they work.
Halp?

P.S Any idea why I am making 5032ish graphics score in 3d mark firestrike? (Reading there is incorrect, gpu is clocked at 1,45ghz real - as displayed
from real time gpu-z readings) http://www.3dmark.com/fs/9317683

While people with even less get 5200+. I sport a 4750hq, but that should not be causing any (if at all) difference? Overclocking the ram gives no results
whatsoever. A bad chip? A bad driver? A bad luck? Win 10 issue? :D No idea... Anyway I am still happy - N1 score for 4750hq system with 960m is MINE and MINE ONLY :D

Thanks for the help and insights!

Compwxr
07-15-2016, 01:41 AM
A fast answer would involve gpu and cpu temps. They can and will affect performance, also check if the difference is in physx score.
To undervolt at the voltage table, you only need to change the three first sliders from P16 state. Too low and brick, to high and another paperweight :) Anyway the max you should be able to go is 1200mv since it's "limited by chip" I guess? or atleast I think so. I would advise something between 1143.8mv to 1193.8mv being the last the stock one.
Also the Gpu will adapt the vcore according to the clock you're using.

Have fun :)

EtaCarinaeSC
07-15-2016, 11:49 PM
Turn this one and proceed reading...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8hFwZZujd3Y








58231


Guys we have it!
WE HAVE IT!
WE DID IT!
FULLY UNFUKINLOCKED 960m! No more shackles, no more thermal throttling... no more superderp ASUS!

dunedune
07-25-2016, 11:34 AM
Hi , it has been long time from this forum

Well i see in latest post you unlocked the temperature limit right ? How did you do that ??? can someone guide me to change thermal throttling ?

Compwxr
07-25-2016, 12:07 PM
As I've told in another thread send me PM with your current Bios Dump

ZIXEL
07-27-2016, 02:14 PM
guys someone can write his furmark1080p score , with those clocks , in screenshot of EtaCarinaeSC can not see the bandwith diference its just in 82.0 gb/s , is strange , if someone can reply me pls

Compwxr
07-27-2016, 06:07 PM
Atm I undervolted my card so I get max 1325Mhz core stable, and it barely reaches 78c, Any score would be messed by it, but I can confirm the changes in bandwith :)

Compwxr
07-27-2016, 06:15 PM
58450

h3ll4ngel
09-22-2016, 02:40 AM
I just do everything follow the instructions(unlock VBIOS) , but nothing changes in the number when I check by GPU-Z. PLease help me

ZIXEL
10-01-2016, 04:36 PM
59639


that was my old furmark score 8/22
trying to go more , but i abandonned furmark im trying with firestrike now maybe you guys can upload here your firestrike score pls

thanks

jwchen1259
11-09-2016, 01:46 AM
58450

hi there,

any extra step to reach that 1400mhz clock :-? is it stable on yours, i followed the instructions in this thread and now running at 1350mhz only, thanks

edit: my memory bandwidth is 80 something, how to increase it to 100 like yours

Compwxr
11-09-2016, 04:01 PM
You need .202 Bios to unlock mem clocks, or, merge the .209 with .202 vBios

jwchen1259
02-22-2017, 05:09 PM
You need .202 Bios to unlock mem clocks, or, merge the .209 with .202 vBios

i merged .209 with .202 vbios but i think the gpu is throttled when it reached 75 degree, on furmark the max gpu temp never exceed 75 degree, any idea? or should i use the .202 only and no merging

Chrizzy
02-22-2017, 05:41 PM
Read the thread and wanna say congrats to nice results and progress.
Would also do a huge shoutout to Voltground, hes the one if u need advice or create new bioses and much more.

Sadly I cant play with u big guys using 980s, Im stucka with a 660m haha.. Allthough Im running 1410 core and 1500 memory at 1.2V
reaching over 4000 points in 3dmark11 and allmost 15k in 3dmark vantage.

Keep up the good work!!

cliffreich88
05-12-2017, 02:17 AM
64582

I can't modify the GPU Clock Offset. Any suggestion?

MonarchGlory
09-19-2017, 03:08 PM
Can someone help me? I whant to change temp. on GPU from 78 to 89...

Laptop G551JW, GTX960m 4GB , Windows 10, UEFI.

Ty

BeefyNooks
02-07-2019, 06:17 PM
Just a question that interests me because I owned G551JM - whats your CPU and GPU temperatures under full load?
Mine was unable to cool itself and started to throttle in 10 minutes playing GTA 5


If buying look for a laptop with separate colling for GpuCpu.....Reason for difference between testing temps is the cpu and gpu are on the same heat pipe/fan. Running cpu OR gpu test will not throttle, but a game or cpu/gpu combo tests will have higher temps because there is not enough cooling for them together. Laptops with separate gpu/cpu cooling systems solve this and can be OC'd further. I know its 2019 still have this laptop(GL551JK)! Came across thread and hope this helps others with hardware knowledge..even if u buy a tiny case with too much cpu. \

#I9-in-a-LAPTOPLOL