PDA

View Full Version : My rog g750jz's gpu feels like its melting down



RagingGummyBear
05-15-2015, 11:32 PM
Hello,

I think I have a problem with the gpu temperature. Since cleaning the fans is not a option (it requires to tear apart my whole laptop) ,had to ask you guys if its normal to be rocking +85 celsius while playing diablo 3 on 880m with v-sync. And that's the main problem because if I play a more demanding game it will start acting as a hair dryer and go on +90 celsius. And that was during the winter when room temperature couldn't get above 18C, but summer is coming and it sounds scary! (some guys are running 70C on gta 5 overclocked and room temperature of +20, i have it underclocked for d3..). So is it an actual problem or I should just use it to dry my hair while playing fc4?

navis995
05-15-2015, 11:52 PM
Well 880M runs hot for 2 reasons:
1) It's a Kepler architecture
2) It's an overclocked 780M

That being out of the way the temperatures you are getting are considered normal. People achieve (I can vouch for me and others that I've read of on this forum and others) 90C+ quite easily as of the above stated reasons. The card won't go above 93C as that's its absolute maximum it can go and beyond that it starts to lower the clocks in order to achieve lower temperatures.

People getting 70C on overclocked cards get that because of reasons such as:
1) They're lying
2) They're using newer (Maxwell) or older GPU's that have lower clocks to start with and produce a lot less heat.
3) They are lucky. The silicon on their GPU is really special and gives them extra ability to OC it.
4) They have repasted the GPU which gives them lower temperatures but only for some time as the difference in a big run isn't that big (5-8C)

Now some temperatures I've achieved on stock clocks on my 880M:
Assassin's Creed: Unity - In menu it reaches 93C in few seconds for some reason, otherwise it howers around 85-90C
Counter Strike: Global Offensive: Exactly 69C
Crysis 2: Around 80-85C
Far Cry 4: Howering around 90C
GTA V: It can get as high as 93C in intense areas after long play sessions and as low as 85C
DayZ: Around 85C

As games are progressing in graphics you'll be reaching 90C more and more and that's nothing to be afraid of. The card is OC by default and using Kepler architecture which is already running hot by itself. With that being said, there's nothing more to say from my side for now.

Cheers

RagingGummyBear
05-16-2015, 12:59 AM
Wow thx a lot. You included everything I needed. Now I just need to find a way to clean it.

code9523
05-16-2015, 03:02 AM
Replace your thermal phaste. I'm not jumping higher than 85c after repasting.

GottiBoi55
05-16-2015, 03:09 AM
I can run FurMark @ full on 100% stress (8x MSAA/1080/full screen/post fx) for 15 minutes, and the GPU doesn't get any higher then 89c, and I get 35fps.
I can play FarCry4 for hours, and my average temps has been around 73c. (high temps 79C)
Playing Wolfenstein The New Order, and I don't even break 70c, I average 68c.
(all on stock thermal paste)

Seems like you guys temps are a little high IMO.
PS: That's on stock clocks (no GPU-Tweak, or any OC).

RagingGummyBear
05-16-2015, 02:04 PM
I did the FurMark. It was running solid 93C, got scared canceled it on 8th min... So I wont be pushing it until I get the thermal paste replaced and the fans cleaned.

navis995
05-16-2015, 08:27 PM
Well there may be a lot of reasons for that.
1) You have more resistant silicone chipping
2) Your ambient T is lower than ours, etc.

Despite our high T they are still FINE and are no cause for worrying.

P.S: I get same stats on FurMark as you do.

navis995
05-16-2015, 08:29 PM
That could be a problem. There's probably a lot of dust gathered there or your thermal paste was a sloppy job.
I bet it's the latter.

GottiBoi55
05-16-2015, 09:26 PM
I did the FurMark. It was running solid 93C, got scared canceled it on 8th min... So I wont be pushing it until I get the thermal paste replaced and the fans cleaned.

Hi RagingGummyBear,
You shouldn't worry about FurMark reaching 93c, the "GPU maximum temperature alarm" is set to 100c by default.
You should be fine running the stress test for 15 minutes.
But I would keep a eye on the test.