PDA

View Full Version : Custom Resolutions - Downsampling - Alternative to NVidia DSR



NitroX
05-21-2015, 11:38 AM
Hello guys!

Since me and many other people have been waiting for the glorious NVidia DSR feature to come to our mobile GPU's as well, I have thought that giving some info's about an alternative method would make some people happy.

So, during this last week, together with the release of Witcher 3, I have chosen to start playing Witcher 2 as I saw that the games are quite related and the story is continued in each game (in comparison with many other games which don't have that continuity inside the story ). Since Witcher 2 was released in 2012 I was looking for different methods to boost the graphics to the maximum in order to further enjoy the landscapes and all the elements of the game. I was also looking for something different from the Ubersampling option which is still a power hungry feature that kneels my GTX 980m (Yeah... a freaking 2012 game can kneel a high end GPU from 2014 with just an aliasing option).

Since Ubersampling was thought as a more aggressive anti-aliasing feature I searched different ways of improving the image with methods that don't have such a great impact on performance. This way I have found a thread about Downsampling and I'm quoting the user on the other thread:


What is downsampling

Downsampling, also called OGSSAA : Ordered Grid SuperSampling AntiAliasing, is in this case the concept of rendering the game at a much higher, custom made, resolution than your monitor is capable of displaying and subsequently having the GPU rescale the image ( as in downsample ) to that of your monitor's native resolution to which the end result is a "cleaner", sharper and less aliased image.

Basically, downsampling is the best solution for reducing aliasing and increasing the sharpness of the image. It pretty much does the same thing as NVidia DSR but since we do not have access to DSR at the moment, we can manage with this solution.

You can find more info's about Downsampling and how to set your custom resolutions using NVidia Control Panel's options, over here: http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=509076

PS: After settings the custom resolution, you DO NOT have to use it for your desktop as well. You can use the 1920x1080p as your desktop resolution and just choose the higher custom resolution within the game settings (be aware that you shouldn't play in windowed mode if you have custom resolution enabled).

As for my personal experience, I have only tested the 3K (2560x1440) and 4k (3840x2160) but I've sticked to 3K because the 4K resolution has crashed when I tested it. There was just a sign with "Resolution not supported" and the resolution has reverted back. But I only tried at 60Hz refresh rate so you guys can go further and test at lower refresh rates if you wanna aim for 4K downsampling.


Ok, so, as a conclusion I can say that now I am playing The Witcher 2 Enhanced Edition at 2560x1440 downsampled to 1920x1080 and with the settings cranked to maximum but without the ubersampling feature which is more of a performance hog than it improves the graphics. The results aren't that mind blowing but the image has clearly improved and frankly, I don't know if the Ubersampling feature could have done a much better improvement to the image quality than this downsampling does (keep in mind that with Gtx980M I can use the 2560x1440 and the AA setting withing the game which further increases the smoothness of the elements).



You guys can also try this and post here your opinions on how it works for you on different games.


Here are my settings, so you can see which resolution I am using for the desktop and for the game. You can also see there, in the NVidia Control Panel, the custom resolution at 2560x1440.

49394


And you can find some In-game screenshots just below, with Downsampling enabled from 2560x1440. To be honest, the game looks pretty damn good even for 2015. I don't expect to get to play The Witcher 3 on these settings but I'm definitely eager to see the differences in graphic performance :D.

Acess this link as the forum doesn't allow me to upload images at 2560x1440 (maximum is 2000x2000). Sorry!
https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=f29db39ae83cbe6d!882&authkey=!AKqEVz126yFSJyE&ithint=folder%2cbmp

As you can see in the last 2 pictures, in the forest, the FPS has dropped a bit due to very intense image processing (3K resolution + AA enabled + Sharpening + Ambient Occlussion + Light Shafts (those light beams that look so amazing) + etc. )

warryabel
05-21-2015, 12:39 PM
one time the dsr patch from nab gives the dsr option in panel but...;)

NitroX
05-21-2015, 01:22 PM
one time the dsr patch from nab gives the dsr option in panel but...;)

The DSR patch from Gamenab wasn't working. I don't know if he meant to just make something that looked like a DSR or he just had some glitches in the software. The thing is that this method works properly. I'll come back in a jiffy with in-game screenshots.

warryabel
05-21-2015, 05:19 PM
have run fallout in 4k but the scaling of menu is inacceptable. a little bit to little..

NitroX
05-21-2015, 07:23 PM
have run fallout in 4k but the scaling of menu is inacceptable. a little bit to little..

Maybe, I haven't went that far. But the 3k seems quite nice even on the small 17.3" display of the notebook. I think that this will be the next step for gaming in the next few years, before 4k reaches maturity.

escha
05-23-2015, 09:42 PM
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3659/~/geforce-hotfix-driver-353.00

hotfix from nvidia not only fixes yet again locked OC abilyty for mobile but also provides DSR....
check for ur self

NitroX
06-28-2015, 03:50 PM
I'll bump this thread in order to be more visible to the people that are now testing the GTools (G-Sync) with older drivers without DSR feature activated.

So, as I previously said, YOU DON'T ACTUALLY NEED DSR in order to have those resolution choices in-game. You can create these custom resolutions at any time with the NVidia Control Panel's features. Just follow the steps from the main post over here and enjoy Super Resolutions + G-Sync !

2menijulia
06-28-2015, 04:14 PM
hi there sir.. one question.. when i choose custom resolution..like 2k... that will affect everything right? games and desktop? if so, then how can you make desktop to be 1080p resolution while custome would be about 2k? hmmm.. i think i am missing something right?


EDIT:

my bad... by setting up a custom resolution... i could still use normal 1080p for my desktop.. and 2k for games(DOTA2) sorry... this is the problem of asking a question without testing

anyway sir..thank you so much...

i go now for some games in 2k... how about you sir?

it wont damage our screens right? hahaha

NitroX
06-28-2015, 05:41 PM
hi there sir.. one question.. when i choose custom resolution..like 2k... that will affect everything right? games and desktop? if so, then how can you make desktop to be 1080p resolution while custome would be about 2k? hmmm.. i think i am missing something right?


EDIT:

my bad... by setting up a custom resolution... i could still use normal 1080p for my desktop.. and 2k for games(DOTA2) sorry... this is the problem of asking a question without testing

anyway sir..thank you so much...

i go now for some games in 2k... how about you sir?

it wont damage our screens right? hahaha

As I said, it is the same thing like DSR :P. Nope, it won't damage your screen by any means. But, it may have some issues with some resolutions. Like for example, 4k resolution will require to also change the refresh rate to 59 Hz in some cases. But this is not a rule, so everybody could experience other behaviors.

I am currently using 3K (2560x1440) resolution for The Witcher 2. For newer games I didn't bother to cranck the resolution up because the graphics are quite nice as they are.

virusce0707
06-29-2015, 09:28 PM
thanks for this I have made a custom res. 2112x1188 it's way better then FXAA , smaa even 2xmsaa in crisis 3 and in other games bioshock infinite
for example and has so much less frame drop than AA and it makes everything look more 3d I'm on g751jy

x7007
06-30-2015, 12:28 AM
I am using the 353.38 driver but doing Custom Resolutions I don't have access to it in Heroes of The storm for example. it just 1920.

I'm using 2560x1440 100 hz. Asus G751JT

Is it possible to use 2560x1440 100 Hz in games ? it works on desktop, but I find it hard to run the game at 100 Hz.

Do I need to select Aspect Ratio Scaling mode or I can still be on No scaling , is it important ?

virusce0707
06-30-2015, 02:00 AM
if the game has v-sync option disable it if it doesn't try to disable it through NVidia control panel some games just don't accept variable refresh rate
anyways I've played around with the custom res till now and 2048x1152 seems the best for me on g751jy but I have to do something about the temps cpu reaching 97 gpu 87

x7007
06-30-2015, 04:26 AM
if the game has v-sync option disable it if it doesn't try to disable it through NVidia control panel some games just don't accept variable refresh rate
anyways I've played around with the custom res till now and 2048x1152 seems the best for me on g751jy but I have to do something about the temps cpu reaching 97 gpu 87

Do you manged to play 2048x1152 with 100 hz or 75 hz ? with custom resolution

Do I need to enable the Scaling Aspect Ration in Nvidia control panel when using the Custom resolution ?

NitroX
06-30-2015, 07:06 AM
Do you manged to play 2048x1152 with 100 hz or 75 hz ? with custom resolution

Do I need to enable the Scaling Aspect Ration in Nvidia control panel when using the Custom resolution ?

You would have to keep your settings like this:
50195


For me, it works at 2560x1440 and 75Hz with G-Sync enabled. Some resolutions may not work due to high refresh rate. Try making the settings from the screenshot and if that doesn't make your custom resolution work then change the refresh rate. As I've seen, you have 100Hz refresh rate. Try lowering it down to 75Hz and see if they're working.

By the way, if a resolution passes the test when you set it up, then it shouldn't have any problems running the game in that resolution if the settings are correct.

x7007
06-30-2015, 07:23 AM
You would have to keep your settings like this:
50195


For me, it works at 2560x1440 and 75Hz with G-Sync enabled. Some resolutions may not work due to high refresh rate. Try making the settings from the screenshot and if that doesn't make your custom resolution work then change the refresh rate. As I've seen, you have 100Hz refresh rate. Try lowering it down to 75Hz and see if they're working.

By the way, if a resolution passes the test when you set it up, then it shouldn't have any problems running the game in that resolution if the settings are correct.

It does pass it, but almost all games just doesn't run at 100 Hz , they are still stuck at 60 Hz, is it because the Gsync ? does it limit it to 60 Fps , that's what MSI Afterburner says with the 347.88 drivers . and I don't see the 2560x1440 resolution after I set it in NCP, I saw it with the 350.30-38 and a bit before drivers, but I don't see it on the selection for let's say Heroes of the Storm. When I tried to do custom 2560x1440 100 hz , I entered GTA V and it didn't let me select 2560x1440 100 Hz, only 60 Hz. And some games are just Black flash non stop, Heroes of the Storm almost every time you click on something there is a black flash, sometimes it is longer , when the game starts every someone death there is black flash, is it possible to fix this issue ? or it is just a bug of the version we are using now, and it will be fixed with the gsync author driver later on.

First I want to know if someone was able to play for example GTA V with 2560x1440 100 Hz if it let him select it. if he explains how it would be great, or what his settings.

The black out from what I understand should be fixed later on with his new version of Gsync, I hope . And the support of the newest nvidia drivers.

NitroX
06-30-2015, 08:11 AM
@X7007: Hmm, I don't actually know what to say about that. It's possible that some games don't have the choice of higher refresh rates. Like, yesterday I was playing NFS Rivals and I was also getting a max 60FPS even though the refresh rate is set at 75Hz from NVidiaControlPanel.

I'll have to take a look and test myself the 100Hz refresh rate in order to better understand what is going on.

Anyways, why do you really want to play games like GTA V at 100Hz refresh rate ? You GPU barely keeps a constant 60FPS at 1920x1080 in demanding games like that one and since the game won't reach 100FPS I don't see the point in keeping the refresh rate so high.

You could just lower the refresh rate to 75Hz and see how this works with your games.

About the blackouts... it's something related to G-Sync and it will be gone after he will have a GTools release that works with 350+ drivers.

In order to avoid those black screens try changing the settings of the game so that it can keep the FPS over 30 at all times.

x7007
06-30-2015, 08:30 AM
@X7007: Hmm, I don't actually know what to say about that. It's possible that some games don't have the choice of higher refresh rates. Like, yesterday I was playing NFS Rivals and I was also getting a max 60FPS even though the refresh rate is set at 75Hz from NVidiaControlPanel.

I'll have to take a look and test myself the 100Hz refresh rate in order to better understand what is going on.

Anyways, why do you really want to play games like GTA V at 100Hz refresh rate ? You GPU barely keeps a constant 60FPS at 1920x1080 in demanding games like that one and since the game won't reach 100FPS I don't see the point in keeping the refresh rate so high.

You could just lower the refresh rate to 75Hz and see how this works with your games.

About the blackouts... it's something related to G-Sync and it will be gone after he will have a GTools release that works with 350+ drivers.

In order to avoid those black screens try changing the settings of the game so that it can keep the FPS over 30 at all times.


Hm,, ok first good to know that some games just does not passing the 60 Hz, like a lot of them..

I want the 100 Hz because it makes the mouse smoother, dunno if it because I need to keep it at 100 Hz or the feel will be the same with 60 Hz, I guess not right ?

The funny thing Heroes of The Storm is really not heavy game, I mean the game can run 60 FPS all the times, but for example if you click on the menus before you start a game, like Changing champion, going into Shop or almost anything else, it will black out, I mean it just the menus not even the game, it might be because the tiny freeze that happen when you click on the menus, but the issue start when you play the game and EVERY DEATH of someone the game would flicker black, I'm sure a death won't cause a FPS drop. My guess is we should wait for the new Gsync 3 driver to fix this issue at least to the minium. might be too much protection crap on the nvidia drivers that makes the Gsync drivers run bad, but he said he'll fix it next drivers, hoping .

x7007
07-01-2015, 03:07 AM
I can't seem to work the 2560x1440 now, it just doesn't show me in games..

Edit : ha never mind I've found how.