PDA

View Full Version : Asus ROG G20AJ new BIOS update 0601 => 0703 (H97_I_ASUS_G20AJ_0703)



bakahk
05-22-2015, 05:51 AM
Asus ROG G20AJ new BIOS update 0601 => 0703 (H97_I_ASUS_G20AJ_0703)

info:
HW: Asus ROG G20AJ-PL002S BIOS v0601 09/17/2014
NEW BIOS: v0703 04/29/2015
BIOS download: http://www.asus.com/pl/Desktops/ROG_G20AJ/HelpDesk_Download/
BIOS file: H97_I_ASUS_G20AJ_0703.CAP [~8,3]

update:
"NEW" bios via software_update: "BIOS: No critical updates available";
"NEW" bios from file via software_update: all ok;

screenshots:
49411

49410

49409

49408

ChrisHal
05-22-2015, 11:28 PM
What are the changes?

bakahk
05-23-2015, 10:28 AM
What are the changes?

it's a very good question;

basically nobody knows;

ASUS only says: 0601 09/17/2014 vs 0703 04/29/2015;

in my case: 0601 was the "First Release";

i don't see any "changes" at this moment;

ChrisHal
05-23-2015, 04:58 PM
Have you already made an update ? have you noticed changes ?

bakahk
05-23-2015, 05:29 PM
Have you already made an update ? (...)
yes, see the "screenshots";


(...) have you noticed changes ?
none so far => but furthermore I don't have any problems with G20 to this point;

Zimi1975
06-22-2015, 02:23 PM
thanks

bloodyhell18
06-25-2015, 06:21 AM
When I download the file it is just a text file is there something i have to do to change the file from a txt file to a CAP file?

bakahk
06-25-2015, 10:29 AM
txt file?

BIOS_G20AJ_0703_CAP.rar => "folder" BIOS_G20AJ_0703_CAP => H97_I_ASUS_G20AJ_0703.CAP

none *.txt...

50015

bloodyhell18
06-25-2015, 08:59 PM
Do you have a link you can upload it to so we can get it because when I download it is just a word file and I am like what the hell

bakahk
06-26-2015, 06:13 AM
Do you have a link you can upload it to so we can get it because when I download it is just a word file and I am like what the hell

official => http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Desktop/G20AJ/BIOS_G20AJ_0703_CAP.rar 100% no *.txt only *.CAP :)

Ravenholme
06-26-2015, 06:46 PM
i had to rechoose my SSD as the overriding boot drive…*huh… ah well…

bloodyhell18
06-27-2015, 03:03 AM
Were did get that bios is it from us asus website or somewhere else?

btreeinfinity
07-16-2015, 10:12 PM
http://pastebin.com/Py51BBZ6

debe77
08-08-2015, 09:26 AM
Today Asux updater has installed this BIOS update. After the reboot, the integrated hdmi no longer work, and must use the dedicated.
No way to access on the BIOS to check ECO energy settings, restarting my PC i only get monitor live on windows 8 screen.
Any way to solve the problem?

PGInformatique
08-08-2015, 09:49 AM
Bios must be in fast boot mode? Press delete to try to access it at the very beginning of the boot, then you will find option to active the integrated hdmi... I've done it to use the 2 hdmi at the same time.

debe77
08-08-2015, 05:37 PM
I've tried it, bur the monitor remaain inactive and I can't see anything. :(

aydon519
09-11-2015, 06:34 PM
I've been having similar issues with this bios update. Against my better judgement I went ahead and updated the bios using the same update feature built into my G20aj desktop as the original poster. The update seemed to go fine. The system restarted and booted into bios manufacturer screen. It told me I needed to open the bios to save my original settings. Pressed F1 to get into the bios. Everything looked fine. Went to save and exit. System restarted but then would not boot. My keyboard appears to not be getting any power, no lights are on, so I'm unsure if holding down any keys at startup will do anything. I'm getting nothing but a blank screen. the G20aj doesn't have an option to put a monitor on anything but the GPU, so if it switched to the dedicated graphics there is not much I can do. Any thoughts?

dianebrat
09-11-2015, 09:04 PM
the G20aj doesn't have an option to put a monitor on anything but the GPU, so if it switched to the dedicated graphics there is not much I can do. Any thoughts?
I beg to differ, you should have an HDMI port for the on-board graphics by the speaker connectors on the back, there's no reason you can't open the case, pop out the Nvidia GPU and test on the onboard HDMI.

wolonj
10-04-2015, 03:17 PM
Hi all,

So I want to upgrade my G20AJ from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10. However, when I attempt to do this, I get a "Windows 10 Couldn't Be Installed" error with a "Contact your PC manufacturer to see if you can upgrade your system BIOS." So, I'm a noobie, but was able to find a place where I could download a (seemingly) legit BIOS update to enable Windows 10 instahttps://www.asus.com/us/support/Download/14/11/14/2/fXSqaO8KoqgXKbNw/45/)

Version 0703

Description G20AJ BIOS 0703
Must update the BIOS to Version 0703 before updating Windows 10.
BIOS Update: Disable Multi-Display
File Size 5.28 MBytes

So, I downloaded and unzipped, getting a file named: H97_I_ASUS_G20AJ_0703.CAP

I have *no idea* what to do next, even after reading this thread.

Can anyone point me in the right direction? Appreciate any help!

cl-Albert@ROG
10-06-2015, 10:27 PM
I beg to differ, you should have an HDMI port for the on-board graphics by the speaker connectors on the back, there's no reason you can't open the case, pop out the Nvidia GPU and test on the onboard HDMI.

Sorry, don't have my G20AJ test unit to check right now, but the bios does have options to select the primary vga card at boot and enable multimonitor support.
Look under 'advanced' for the 'System Agent' menu to re-enable the onboard vga HDMI output or enable multi-monitor support.

Yes, I've heard the 0703 bios may change the default vga output settings, so you may need to change back the bios settings if necessary, or connect to the discrete vga output if you're only using the onboard vga HDMI output and are getting no display.

gamer45
11-18-2015, 10:50 PM
I have downloaded the bios flash .cap file and now have no idea on how to proceed from here. Computer doesn't know how to open it and the utility on the Asus page is also not compatible. I have the Asus G20AJ. Like others, I am not sure where to go from here. I have extracted it from the zip file.

Thanks for your help. :o

dianebrat
11-19-2015, 12:14 PM
The easy way is to just use the Asus Command application to apply the BIOS