PDA

View Full Version : Replacing the standard HDD ?



Sagi
06-14-2015, 01:39 PM
In case I buy the G20AJ I would like to know, if it's possible to swap out the standard hdd (7200 rpm) it comes with?

I want to replace it with my 500gb samsung evo instead, but I'm curious about how hard/easy it actually is or not..

Cloning etc. is not an issue - It's the disassembling I'm worried about (got 0 experience with this model).

Please share your experience :)

Memdroid
06-24-2015, 07:26 AM
I am curious about this as well. I have the one with the 128 SSD +1 TB HDD model. I want to swap out the HDD en replace it with a 4TB Western Digital Black. I found 1 screw that can be removed at the rear of the HDD, to remove the hooked bracket I guess, but it won't come out. Any tips?

dianebrat
07-21-2015, 02:35 AM
You're correct on the screw at the front, remove it and you can move the drive enough to then disconnect the SATA cables and the drive will pull out, you just have to be careful