PDA

View Full Version : G74Sx Overclocking button help

k2roo
11-28-2011, 12:05 AM
Hi all, i am new to the ROG scene and i need a little help without sounding like a noob. I just purchased a G74Sx and i am more than happy, however, i didnt get a manual or anything to tell me how to use the O/C button next to the power on/off button. I have pressed the button a few times and nothing happens, no light comes on and nothing changes on my CPU gadget monitor. How do i use this? I am pretty sure i have updated the laptop's drivers but maybe i am missing something. Are there drivers or a program needed to use this feature/button? And how do i use it?
Also another really annoying thing is that when i type, i frequently rest my palm on the mouse pad and it stuffs my text up (quite frustrating), can this pad be turned on and off?

fostert
11-28-2011, 12:20 AM
That button is not an OC button at all: it is linked to cycle through the power4gear profiles, which are various power saving modes (performance, quiet, entertainment, battery-save). It does nothing else, and I think if you don't have ATK and power4gear installed on your notebook, it does nothing period.

Yes, i get the hand-touching-the-touchpad problem messing up my typing all the time. You can turn the touchpad off in the BIOS on bootup, or if you use Windows, the ASUS key bindings in ATK allow you to turn it on/off with fn+F9. Since I use linux I can only turn the darn thing off via BIOS upon bootup. Annoying.

BrodyBoy
11-28-2011, 12:30 AM
Also another really annoying thing is that when i type, i frequently rest my palm on the mouse pad and it stuffs my text up (quite frustrating), can this pad be turned on and off?
Rather than completely disabling the touchpad, you can also just disable it while typing and increase its reactivation time.

dstrakele
11-28-2011, 12:39 AM