PDA

View Full Version : Asus G73JH CPU overheating.



JTNKTZ
11-28-2011, 12:54 AM
Well I believe that it is overheating. It used to run at average 60-70.

Now it's average is 90's and sometimes dips into low 100s...

I know a lot about of computers so I am thinking it needs new thermal paste. However, taking the computer apart I would think voids the warranty and I do not want that.

Help please?

BrodyBoy
11-28-2011, 01:03 AM
How old is it? Is it still under warranty?

fostert
11-28-2011, 01:32 AM
Well I believe that it is overheating. It used to run at average 60-70.

Now it's average is 90's and sometimes dips into low 100s...

I know a lot about of computers so I am thinking it needs new thermal paste. However, taking the computer apart I would think voids the warranty and I do not want that.

Help please?

These temps are under full 8-thread load, right? Yep, 90-100 is very high,unless your ambient is quite warm too? My G74 loads into the early 70's (71-72) at an ambient of 21-22C (70-72F).
I don't think a repaste voids the warranty: I'm reading the sticky thread http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?946-G73JH-GPU-Overheating-Observations-and-Suggestions-%28Read-This-First%29 about Chastity doing it herself, and she doesn't mention warranty invalidation...but best to double check this with ASUS.

JTNKTZ
11-28-2011, 11:47 AM
How old is it? Is it still under warranty?

I would say it is a little more than a year old. Not really sure if that means warranty is over...

JTNKTZ
11-28-2011, 11:50 AM
These temps are under full 8-thread load, right? Yep, 90-100 is very high,unless your ambient is quite warm too? My G74 loads into the early 70's (71-72) at an ambient of 21-22C (70-72F).
I don't think a repaste voids the warranty: I'm reading the sticky thread http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showthread.php?946-G73JH-GPU-Overheating-Observations-and-Suggestions-%28Read-This-First%29 about Chastity doing it herself, and she doesn't mention warranty invalidation...but best to double check this with ASUS.

Well most of the time I am running Diablo 2 (Veryyy old game) with another 2 in sandboxie. I know that sandbox uses a lot of processing power but it never used to run that hot...

JTNKTZ
11-28-2011, 01:13 PM
http://youtu.be/iqEVvMsdzug

JRd1st
11-28-2011, 01:19 PM
I guess you must have throttling disabled.