PDA

View Full Version : Kingston KTD-L3B/4G



Criton
12-02-2011, 01:24 PM
Hi All,

Sorry for my bad English.
I have buy today this memory (16GB) Kingston KTD-L3B/4G (http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/partsinfo.asp?ktcpartno=KTD-L3B/4G) for my ASUS G53SX-S1143V.

Can I use it? Or it is only for Dell?

What is the best memory for this Asus?

Can I install the memory? I have on the Notebook 24month warrantee.

Thanks!

JRd1st
12-02-2011, 03:19 PM
That RAM is NOT listed under compatability for either G53Jw or Sw on the Kingston site. G53Sx is not on the site.

Take that for what it's worth . . .

Criton
12-02-2011, 04:07 PM
Thank you!
Then what RAM can i buy for my model? OCZ,Geil...?

Pls help...

JRd1st
12-02-2011, 04:35 PM
What was wrong with the RAM you have?

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 04:45 PM
Hi Criton,

There's a Kingston memory compatible for your G53 laptop (guess, JRd1st missed it:D).

In fact, it's also compatible for my G74 (I'm using one Kingston 4 GB stick in my G74 right now, + the stock 3x4 GB sticks)..

Here's the link:
http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/partsinfo.asp?root=us&LinkBack=http://www.kingston.com&ktcpartno=KVR1333D3S9/4G

Check it out, then maybe you can just swap what you bought to this Kingston model compatible for your laptop.

Criton
12-02-2011, 04:48 PM
with the Kingston KTD-L3B/4G ?
I have not tested yet, because, the Hungarian Asus service was closed today in Budapest :(
Original i have 8gb Samsung RAM in my ASUS G53SX-S1143V.
What do you think, can i use Kingston KTD-L3B/4G RAM with no problem? Can I install it alone? - without service.

@PILGRIM : thank you

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 04:49 PM
What was wrong with the RAM you have?

The Kingston RAM model he bought is compatible with Dell laptop/s..

Criton
12-02-2011, 04:53 PM
and with this KVR1333D3S9/4G can i use my Laptop?

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 05:03 PM
I have buy today this memory (16GB) Kingston KTD-L3B/4G (http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/partsinfo.asp?ktcpartno=KTD-L3B/4G) for my ASUS G53SX-S1143V.

16 GB RAM for your G53 laptop?

I've read many times over in reviews and forums that the G53 model's maximum RAM is 8 GB..

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 05:09 PM
and with this KVR1333D3S9/4G can i use my Laptop?

Definitely.

Under the link, click the compatibility button, scroll to ASUS/ASmobile and you'll confirm it's compatible with your G53.

As I've mentioned, I'm using the same RAM model on my G74.:)

...and when you scroll down under that compatibility button, you'll find this particular model is actually compatible to almost all ASUS laptop models.

Criton
12-02-2011, 05:11 PM
On the Asus site is : up to 16GB of RAM.
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks/Gaming_Powerhouse/G53SX/#specifications

and i have the Asus G53SX-S1143V modell, i think this modell support also 16gb, or ?

I talked with the dealer, and they can change my RAM to Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G, you say, this RAM is good for my modell?

Criton
12-02-2011, 05:13 PM
on the Kingston site, under compatible is G53SW listed, i found my modell not.. :(

JRd1st
12-02-2011, 05:18 PM
What's in your notebook now?

Criton
12-02-2011, 05:20 PM
Samsung 1333 DDR3 8GB

the Motherboard and CPU ist the same on G74SX and G53SX or not? When yes, then probably i can use Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G RAM...

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 06:07 PM
16 GB RAM for your G53 laptop?

I've read many times over in reviews and forums that the G53 model's maximum RAM is 8 GB..

My bad,... I didn't notice your laptop model is the G53SX (guess it's the Chinese brandy I'm drinking that's talking right now. Cheers!!:o).

Yeah, the G53SX's RAM is indeed upgrade-able to 16 GB..

...but if the G74SX (and almost other ASUS laptop models) can use this particular Kingston RAM, can't the G53SX do the same?..

And you've mentioned your dealer can change what you've originally bought to Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G RAM. So why don't you just get 2x4 GB RAM, and return the other 2 (you said you bought 16 GB)?
You can then add the 2 new Kingston RAM to your Samsung 1333 DDR3 8GB (to save money) , since they have similar specifications.

Criton
12-02-2011, 06:09 PM
what did you mean, the same?

PILGRIM
12-02-2011, 06:45 PM
What I'm trying to say is that the G74SX and the G53SX laptops aren't that different in their RAM configuration and usage..

Criton
12-03-2011, 12:40 PM
i checked my original RAM now, and I have Samsung M471B5273DH0-CH9 DDR3-1333 SO-DIMM

JRd1st
12-03-2011, 01:35 PM
See if you can complete your 16Gb with more of those. Or alternately, use that number as a reference to find compatable replacement RAM.

fostert
12-03-2011, 03:30 PM
Yes, Criton, get two more of those Samsung modules (M471B5273DH0-CH9). I got two of these exact same modules from ebay to go with the two that came with my G74. All 4 work smashingly well together.
Call me paranoid, but I've been burned by buying different desktop DDR3 RAM to go with modules already in my desktop, and fought against strange errors/BSODs for weeks before trying two modules of the same part #: voila, the errors disappeared. I always match RAM manufacturer and part #s now for any new build.

Criton
12-03-2011, 04:15 PM
so, you say, i must buy the same RAM for my Laptop (M471B5273DH0-CH9)? In Hungary i cant find it :(
What is with the Kingston RAM, 16gb? Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G RAM , what do you mean? Can I use it without errors?

fostert
12-03-2011, 04:39 PM
You probably could, but if you mix it with the samsungs in there its not guaranteed. If you're stuck on the kingston stuff, get 4x4GB of the KVR1333D3S9/4G then to minimize the chances of errors.

Criton
12-03-2011, 04:54 PM
when i buy 16gb of Kingston, then i would like use only Kingston, no mix with Samsung.
On Monday the Hungarian Asus Service can install the RAM, and they can test it.

Criton
12-03-2011, 09:24 PM
on the Intel website i have found the CPU.
Memory Specifications:
- Max Memory Size (dependent on memory type) 16 GB
- Memory Types DDR3-1066/1333
# of Memory Channels
- 2
# ECC Memory Supported
- No

what means Intel with Memory Channels? I can use only 2DIMM? 2x8gb? or can i use the 4RAM slot?

Asus G74SX have the same Chipset and CPU then G53SX, and they can use 16GB, so i buy Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G.
When the RAM installed, can I use the "old" Windows 7 or i must install it clean?

other question, why is not listed G53sx on ROG website, or on Asus eStore?
This is old? Or it is the same as G74sx and g53sw? sure, without 3d...

fostert
12-04-2011, 02:09 AM
The memory controller on some core i3/i5/i7 chips (like the Sandy Bridges) can take in two 64 bit pathways simultaneously, each running at 666.5MHz: this is the dual-channel architecture. Thats why the memory is specified as 666.5x2=1333MHz. Read up on dual channel memory at anandtech.com, for example 8the technology is ~3 years old now).
To enable dual-channel mode, you must install DDR3 modules in pairs; either one pair (say 2x4GB) or two (4x4GB) in the Gseries notebooks.

You do not need to reinstall Windows after upgrading to 16 GB.

BrodyBoy
12-04-2011, 02:15 AM
what means Intel with Memory Channels? I can use only 2DIMM? 2x8gb? or can i use the 4RAM slot?

Asus G74SX have the same Chipset and CPU then G53SX, and they can use 16GB, so i buy Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G.
When the RAM installed, can I use the "old" Windows 7 or i must install it clean?

other question, why is not listed G53sx on ROG website, or on Asus eStore?
This is old? Or it is the same as G74sx and g53sw? sure, without 3d...
You can use four 4Gb memory modules....one in each slot.....for a total of 16Gb RAM.

You won't need to re-install Windows. When you turn on the computer, Windows will find the memory and use it.

The G53SX is listed on the Asus website here (http://www.asus.com/Notebooks/Gaming_Powerhouse/G53SX/).

Criton
12-04-2011, 10:46 AM
Thank you very much for help everyone!

Criton
12-06-2011, 07:13 AM
The Asus Service has installed and tested my new 16GB RAM (Kingston KVR1333D3S9/4G RAM), and the MEMTEST OK. :)

JRd1st
12-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Wonderful! Good luck, man! :D