PDA

View Full Version : G74SX SSD PURCHASE

Rsajkowski
12-02-2011, 06:59 PM
I would like to add an ssd to my laptop. I think based on what I have read here and elsewhere that an Intel ssd would be a good choice. My questions are would you recommend a 320 or a 510 and why? I have also read stories about another brand and problems with hibernation and / or sleep settings. Do those or any other concerns apply here? This is my first time to this site and I have already read about sound and touchpad improvements that I can't wait to get home and try. Thanks in advance for you help and keep up the great work!!

Best Regards,
Rsajkowski

BrodyBoy
12-02-2011, 07:37 PM
I don't think you can go wrong with either model. From all the anecdotal reports I've read, the Intel SSDs are proving to be very stable and reliable. (I've been using one for almost a year...very happy with it.)

I don't mean to impugn any particular brand that I've never used myself, but I've noticed as well that certain names come up more than others when people have SSD issues. Stick with any Intel, and you'll be fine.

Welcome to the forum! :)

Norsky48
12-02-2011, 07:42 PM
I've been using a Kingston HyperX 240 for a bit now and am very satisfied, no problems whatsoever.

WhirledNews
12-02-2011, 07:47 PM
If I were buying one right now I get the Intel 510 Series (Elm Crest) 120GB. It has almost double the read and write speed compared to the 320, is the same capacity and is only about $80 more. Well worth the extra money in my opinion.

TeckTime
12-02-2011, 08:44 PM
I'm a new owner of the G74SX-DH71 which comes with two 750 gb Western Digitals partioned into for 4. Would I actually see any performance increases by going with an SSD in slot 1 and one of the WD's in slot 2, or can I just raid +0 the two western digitals that came with the laptop?

Rsajkowski
12-02-2011, 08:45 PM
Thanks for the input. I was leaning toward the 510. I appreciate the confirmation.

BrodyBoy
12-02-2011, 09:06 PM