PDA

View Full Version : RAM for G74



k2roo
12-03-2011, 05:04 AM
I have 8Gb of ram but i want to put 16Gb in. I am used to putting long sticks of ram in desktops and when i look at the ram in this lappy i can see they are short fat sticks. What should i be looking for when i go shopping, ie laptop memory?

BrodyBoy
12-03-2011, 05:21 AM
I'd recommend you either open the back panel to actually look, or use HWiNFO64 to look at the specs for your current memory. (I'm pretty sure JR has it linked HWiNFO64 the Drivers, etc thread.) Then get two more modules with the same specs, assuming you currently have 2x4Gb. (It would be royally aggravating if they put 4x2Gb modules in there....then you'd have to buy all new memory.)

The current laptop memory standard is 204-pin DDR3 SO-DIMMs. Presumably, you'll need two 4Gb modules.

k2roo
12-03-2011, 06:34 AM
Ok so i cant buy 2 x 8Gb sticks and there is 4 slots for 4 x 4Gb sticks?

BrodyBoy
12-03-2011, 07:48 AM
Ok so i cant buy 2 x 8Gb sticks and there is 4 slots for 4 x 4Gb sticks?
The G74 has four memory slots.


4649


Though it's not a hard & fast rule (that I know of), I do think it's best to match the modules whenever possible. So assuming you have two 4Gb modules right now, in slots 1 & 2, you would get two more of the same to fill the other two slots.

k2roo
12-03-2011, 01:40 PM
Thanks Brody, thats my starting point.

fostert
12-03-2011, 03:15 PM
I'd even go so far to say that its best to get 2 more sticks with identical manufacturer and part numbers, to minimize the risk of funny BSODs and other behaviour that occurs when memory of different brands and timings doesn't work well together. Even Corsair does not guarantee that two otherwise identical kits of their performance DDR3 (but from different batches) will work together: it is a risk the buyer assumes. Of course they are great about returns, and will ship you a new kit if you do have problems (they saved my butt!).
What I did was crack my G74's bottom open, took pictures of the sticks in there (Samsung 4GB DDR3-1333 PC3-10600 SODIMM M471B5273DH0-CH9), went to ebay and ordered two more of the identical part number. My 16GB works flawlessly.

I'm not saying you can't get away with two 2x4GB kits from different manufacturers, just that funny things can happen when you mix memroy above 1333MHz speeds together.

SlimShady
12-03-2011, 03:40 PM
I just did exactly this to my BBK7 two days ago. I got the part number off of the installed sticks (Mine had Samsung sticks in it) and ordered two identical from Newegg for roughly $50. Once they finally got out here, 3 weeks to Afghan......I popped them in and no issues so far.

BrodyBoy
12-03-2011, 07:12 PM
I'd even go so far to say that its best to get 2 more sticks with identical manufacturer and part numbers,
......
I'm not saying you can't get away with two 2x4GB kits from different manufacturers, just that funny things can happen when you mix memroy above 1333MHz speeds together.
Good point. That's why I said to match the specs, but it's worth emphasizing that one of those is the timings. Asus uses many memory suppliers, and some of them are not familiar names that are going to be widely available.

If you can buy the same brand and model, that's probably a good idea. But if you can't find that, buying modules with the exact same specs is the next best option.

The Nemesis
12-03-2011, 07:50 PM
My G74 came with 8gigs (2 X 4B) of Samsung DDR3-1600 though its clocked down to 1333 24-9-9-9. I bought corsair 8GB kit (2 X 4GB) rated @ 1333 24-9-9-9 and all is well. Not sure if you can change timings of ram in bios. It seems to set ram @ 1333.

AFSOC_Commando
12-07-2011, 07:09 AM
Mine had 12GB 3x4GB of the Samsung, now collecting dust... Tried to get to 1866 with my Kingston... Don't know that I would do that again. Never understood why they placed 3 Sodimms in the system defeating dual channel. The Kingston or Pretty though, even if you can't get everything out of them.