PDA

View Full Version : Dissapointed with Asus

triggerfish
12-06-2011, 05:56 PM
Ok I'm the proud owner of a factory refurbished J73JW-3DE and owned it since mid October. For the first few weeks the computer ran as advertized but then it started to have random freezes. Not blue screen just the system locked, no input allowed, no buttons work except the power button. The freezes were totally random, sometimes the system would work fine for days then wham, frozen. Usually rebooting would fix the freeze but not always. Thought it was a software/driver problem so upgraded to win7 ultimate and installed all the latest drivers, bios and drive firmware. Meanwhile I continued to install my software and use the system, rebooting as often as needed to keep the system running. I then found that things froze even when in dos mode or running linux (hardware problem??). Needless to say I spent many days trying to troubleshoot the problem ( I'm not a novice at this). Sent a message to tech services and got a canned email back about 48 hr response. After 48hr nothing, 3 weeks still nothing. Still having random lock up problems and established heat was not a factor. Would have times where the OS drive would do slow access, so as I had an older SSD in my desktop, I replaced the boot drive with the SSD. Had much trouble getting the data transferred from the boot drive (Seagate momentus XT 500GB) but finally got the SSD installed and the system working. Surprise!! No more lockups!! And the boot times are fantastic. Meanwhile still no response from tech support. As an additional note attempting to install the boot drive causes problems in my desktop, win7 won't see it under computer management so drive is FUBAR. As the computer is supposedly under warranty I called the Asus notebook hotline wanting to send the drive back and get a replacement. That's where I got the big run around. according to the phone rep the only choice I have is to package the whole computer and send it in for rep