PDA

View Full Version : G20AJ Successful upgrade + How to set the jumpers!



Kamelox
06-20-2015, 11:22 AM
Hey together


After a long time, I decided to upgrade the gpu of my G20AJ, from a GTX750 to a GTX970. Finally did it!

I bought the PNY GTX 970 ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133564&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-na-_-na-_-na&AID=12087162&PID=3899435&SID=skim1402X558040X3b1408c084442502a86cbd6e7d2d93 77&utm_medium=affiliates&utm_source=afc-Skimlinks)

and the 180W adapter (http://www.microspot.ch/msp/de/hardware/tablet-zubehoer/asus-n180w-02-netzteil-wechselstrom-100-240-v--0000833834)

So when I unpacked everything and plugged everything on, I didn't work at first. I started to get mad, because it was a lot of money, that I spent. So I unplugged and plugged everything several times, until I read the sentence of GoHack: "You need to set the jumpers". But this was really complicated for me, cause there weren't any pictures of it. So after testing some combinations, I finally got the computer working!
Now, I'm really happy! Thanks for the people in this forum, which gave me the eagerness to upgrade my ROG!

Below, I posted some screens of a benchmark test, which I made with the GTX 750 and the GTX 750.

And, obviously a screen of how you should set the jumpers, when using the 180W and the 230W supply!


49946

49947


49948

49949

49950

Feel free to ask me!

macxujian
06-20-2015, 02:23 PM
Oh,my friend.You solved my problem.Thank you very very much.

Kamelox
06-20-2015, 02:33 PM
Oh,my friend.You solved my problem.Thank you very very much.


What I forgot was, that you have to remove the metall grill, inside of the case (the metall thing with dots). Remove this, otherwise your system may gets too hot. ;-)

macxujian
06-20-2015, 04:21 PM
I am sorry.I don't understand what is the metall grill...if you could provide the picture.Thank you
What I forgot was, that you have to remove the metall grill, inside of the case (the metall thing with dots). Remove this, otherwise your system may gets too hot. ;-)

rene_canlas
06-21-2015, 02:24 AM
I think he is referring to the black grille at the back of the gpu slot. You have to break it off.

macxujian
06-21-2015, 03:24 AM
Oh,I see.I have break it off
I think he is referring to the black grille at the back of the gpu slot. You have to break it off.

Ravenholme
06-21-2015, 07:03 PM
do not break off the black heatsink that connects to the CPU that's vital! lol.

The part he's referring to is in the models without the GTX760 there's a cover over the graphics card on the cover you initially took off to access the inside hardware. When you remove that metal grill on the cover it will allow airflow to get through. Asus has a video walkthrough about that grill in their youtube channel for the G20AJ

steele_22
07-31-2015, 04:58 PM
Your jumpers are wrong. I am able to run a GTX 980 TI with my jumper settings shown below.

50778
50779
50780

GoHack
08-04-2015, 04:10 AM
Sorry about the lack of a picture for the jumper setting, but my cell phone, which I was using to take the pictures, when dead.

GoHack
08-04-2015, 04:38 AM
do not break off the black heatsink that connects to the CPU that's vital! lol.

The part he's referring to is in the models without the GTX760 there's a cover over the graphics card on the cover you initially took off to access the inside hardware. When you remove that metal grill on the cover it will allow airflow to get through. Asus has a video walkthrough about that grill in their youtube channel for the G20AJ

Here's a picture of the inside of the cover w/o the grill.

50835

PersianGasMask
08-15-2015, 05:00 PM
Hi All,

I have mine running i7 with a 970 on a 230W, my 180W comes tomorrow to take some of the strain.

Can any confirm who's jumper settings are right?

Kamelox or steele_22?

Kamelox, did you keep your config or switch to the proposed alternative?

Thank you.

markboston
08-20-2015, 04:27 PM
thankfully i have an upgraded version that has a gtx 960 and doesn't seem to have the issues at all. can anyone confirm this?

honeybee619
03-20-2016, 11:05 PM
Hey together


After a long time, I decided to upgrade the gpu of my G20AJ, from a GTX750 to a GTX970. Finally did it!

I bought the PNY GTX 970 ( http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133564&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-na-_-na-_-na&AID=12087162&PID=3899435&SID=skim1402X558040X3b1408c084442502a86cbd6e7d2d93 77&utm_medium=affiliates&utm_source=afc-Skimlinks)

and the 180W adapter (http://www.microspot.ch/msp/de/hardware/tablet-zubehoer/asus-n180w-02-netzteil-wechselstrom-100-240-v--0000833834)

So when I unpacked everything and plugged everything on, I didn't work at first. I started to get mad, because it was a lot of money, that I spent. So I unplugged and plugged everything several times, until I read the sentence of GoHack: "You need to set the jumpers". But this was really complicated for me, cause there weren't any pictures of it. So after testing some combinations, I finally got the computer working!
Now, I'm really happy! Thanks for the people in this forum, which gave me the eagerness to upgrade my ROG!

Below, I posted some screens of a benchmark test, which I made with the GTX 750 and the GTX 750.

And, obviously a screen of how you should set the jumpers, when using the 180W and the 230W supply!


49946

49947


49948

49949

49950

Feel free to ask me!

Hi.. I don't really understand about the jumpers. Can you tell me a little more about it?

dianebrat
03-21-2016, 11:28 AM
Hi.. I don't really understand about the jumpers. Can you tell me a little more about it?What part is unclear? you move all the row of jumpers from down to up, and you move the single jumper from the right to the left as shown in the pictures.

braxtonjames
03-25-2018, 02:51 AM
I tried every combination of jumper setup (I don't have the JDC11 though) on my G20CB with GTX 1070 and I still have massive overheating and shutdowns.. Any other suggestions?