PDA

View Full Version : G750jz Does replacement screen stop display flickering?



Sean72
07-02-2015, 08:00 AM
Can anyone confirm whether replacing the screen (and which one was used) solves the flickering / rolling of the screen due to power supply or refresh rate or whichever it is?

Ironically, the screen flicker also goes away when the Intel drivers are uninstalled, and the moment they are reinstalled, and the screen refreshes, the flicker returns. To the best of my knowledge, I didn't used to have a problem with the flicker, but about 6 weeks ago, it suddenly appeared, along with that subtle moire pattern, like little pyramids that show up when displaying some darker colors. I thought I had gotten of that pattern

I know the current workarounds are brightness up and lower refresh rate to 40, but I am hoping for a longer term solution.

Also, I rolled my display drivers back to the official Asus ones for the G750jz, in the hopes that would help, but not. Is there any reason not to use the latest Nvidia and Intel drivers, or are there some that we definitely know work?

hozer
07-02-2015, 04:15 PM
Why would you wnat Windows 10 in the first place. IMHO Windows 10 Sucks! It would be a cold day in hell before I put 10 on any Desktop Or Laptop!

As far as the Flickering Make sure you are running your display @ 60hz or higher if possible.

Darnassus
07-03-2015, 03:09 AM
No no no. You don't lower your refresh down to 40. That kind of makes it worse.

You kept your brightness up, that's good. Keeping it up at max will minimise the flickering.

To completely remove it, if you have a Chi Mei or AUO panel it depends.. however both safely can take a refresh overclock up to 75Hz. (That's what I'm running right now, some like to go up to 90 or 100.)

Go to NVidia panel, make a custom resolution and just edit the refresh rate while leaving all the other settings alone.

Once you've done this, remember to change your settings in Asus' GPU Tweak to reflect on it. 75Hz

Sean72
07-03-2015, 06:22 PM
Why would you wnat Windows 10 in the first place. IMHO Windows 10 Sucks! It would be a cold day in hell before I put 10 on any Desktop Or Laptop!

As far as the Flickering Make sure you are running your display @ 60hz or higher if possible.

No, not suggesting or trying to use Windows 10, just wondering whether changing out the screen hardware would help with the flickering. Can't go above 60Hz with Optimus.

Sean72
07-03-2015, 06:23 PM
No no no. You don't lower your refresh down to 40. That kind of makes it worse.

You kept your brightness up, that's good. Keeping it up at max will minimise the flickering.

To completely remove it, if you have a Chi Mei or AUO panel it depends.. however both safely can take a refresh overclock up to 75Hz. (That's what I'm running right now, some like to go up to 90 or 100.)

Go to NVidia panel, make a custom resolution and just edit the refresh rate while leaving all the other settings alone.

Once you've done this, remember to change your settings in Asus' GPU Tweak to reflect on it. 75Hz

To the best of my understanding, your machine (JX) doesn't use Optimus, while mine (JZ) does. That limits the screen refresh rate to 40Hz or 60Hz max. I did try the custommodeapp.exe in windows/system32, but it won't let me set anything else, always gives a 'bandwidth' error. I really just want to know if there is a screen that would work better with the Optimus refresh rate since it appears that I can't change that.

Darnassus
07-04-2015, 02:09 AM
To the best of my understanding, your machine (JX) doesn't use Optimus, while mine (JZ) does. That limits the screen refresh rate to 40Hz or 60Hz max. I did try the custommodeapp.exe in windows/system32, but it won't let me set anything else, always gives a 'bandwidth' error. I really just want to know if there is a screen that would work better with the Optimus refresh rate since it appears that I can't change that.

OH WHOOPS! Sorry about that. I've been away for a while and forgot that the second generation G750's had Gaytimus on them. I forgot the fix for it.. sorry I couldn't be anymore help, Sean.

Sean72
07-04-2015, 05:00 AM
Hey, no sweat. I just hoped for a second that there was a solution. My first G750 was a model without Optimus, but it had a fault and I had to return it. I thought replacing it with the JZ for the Nvidia 880 was a smart move, but regret ending up with Optimus. I'm still a fan of Asus, but a model with Optimus, never again...

Darnassus
07-04-2015, 02:16 PM
Luckily it's better in the 751 series.. somewhat.