PDA

View Full Version : Reinstalling Win7 -- Error while unpacking files, Help!!!



johngloid
12-14-2011, 01:06 PM
Hi there,

I'm reinstalling Win7 off of a USB using the Win7+SP1 ISO available for download. I have a G73JW-A1. I've reformatted already.

I get into setup, and 40% progress into Unpacking Files, I get the "0x080070570" error which is "files may be corrupt or missing."

I've seen folks elsewhere online saying to change ACHI to IDE in the BIOS (which I have tried) and to do memtests (which I have not tried).

Has anyone else run into this issue? The only thing that may be an issue is I have drivers and RAR files on the same USB, but I wouldn't think the Win7 installation would have an error with those.

PLEASE HELP! :(

Z3roSix
12-14-2011, 01:26 PM
I run to a problem like this myself a few years back trying to install CentOs with a usb drive, it probably is a corrupted iso file, try formating your flash drive and extract your windows iso again.

johngloid
12-14-2011, 03:33 PM
Thanks! That did it. I not only installed on to a different (and more modern) USB, I also used the Microsoft ISO to USB utility.

Much appreciated!

CapnKirk
12-14-2011, 03:57 PM
If i install a retail version of win7 do i use the product code with it or the one on the laptop sticker?
tnx

dstrakele
12-14-2011, 04:00 PM
Use the product code that came with the retail version.

CapnKirk
12-14-2011, 04:05 PM
kool. tnx!

dstrakele
12-14-2011, 04:15 PM
You're welcome, Capn! The code on the bottom of your laptop is only good for the Windows version that came with it.

CapnKirk
12-14-2011, 08:50 PM
silly question. when i download a file do i have to unblock first?

dstrakele
12-14-2011, 09:00 PM
I'm not sure I understand the question. Are you talking about unblocking a site in the firewall to download a file from it?

CapnKirk
12-14-2011, 09:13 PM
like this 4933

dstrakele
12-14-2011, 09:34 PM
I don't believe it will be necessary to click the "Unblock" button. I show the same in the Properties dialog on that ATK ZIP on my system and I did not unblock it.

Here's what you do: Create an "ATK_1.00.0014" folder, then right-click on the ZIP file and choose "Extract All" from the popup menu. In the resulting dialog, click on the "Browse" button and then find the ATK_1.00.0014 folder. Confirm it then appears in the "Files will be extracted to this folder" box, then click on the "Extract" button.

Then UNinstall your current ATK Package from "Control Panel - Uninstall a program", REBOOT (Don't forget it!), then open your "ATK_1.00.0014 folder and double-click on "Setup.exe".