PDA

View Full Version : Running Hearthstone on Integrated GPU - G751 series



Thrill4
07-15-2015, 10:36 PM
I've noticed that my Nvidia chip (965m) is being used for Hearthstone and it's clocking my GPU to as if I was playing a really demanding game. This game can be played on tablet so I want to use the integrated GPU.

Does anyone have any idea how I can use the integrated GPU for Hearthstone and not have my GPU running max?

joshindaphils
07-16-2015, 12:27 AM
Perhaps it is just running at a crazy FPS using as much GPU as it can? What frame rate are you getting? If it is above 60FPS> If so try enabling v-sync. If it is not an option in game you can do it via changing the settings in the nVidia Control Panel.

Thrill4
07-16-2015, 01:05 AM
Changing settings in Nvidia Control Panel did nothing but did it in the games options.txt

Before = 750 fps lol
Now = 60 fps and all good :)

bartat404
07-16-2015, 03:35 AM
IF you want to play the game on the integrated GPU, right click the program and click "Run with Integrated Graphics"

Thrill4
07-16-2015, 10:42 AM
IF you want to play the game on the integrated GPU, right click the program and click "Run with Integrated Graphics"

Can't see this option. Anyone else on a G751 have this?

Edweird
07-16-2015, 10:55 AM
As far as I remember you have to go into the NV control panel and make a custom profile for the application itself, not the general settings for which GPU to prefer. You can set things like these on a per-app basis.

Like so:
http://static.trustedreviews.com/94/2159db/3aa6/12792-optimusprofile.jpg

Thrill4
07-16-2015, 12:13 PM
This is what I see: http://i.imgur.com/R7mu3ed.png

Am I missing some integrated GPU driver? I have a 4720HQ.

Edweird
07-16-2015, 12:33 PM
Oh...wait.
I think you have a non-optimus notebook. I though you had a 860M in yours, i dont think any of the 960+ models run optimus. That means your iGPU is hardware/software disabled.

I have a GTX980M in mine and it is impossible to even find the address space for the iGPU on mine.

Thrill4
07-16-2015, 03:10 PM
Ah yeah, makes sense. Should have figured that out. Just weird that older tech has it but newer doesn't.

Thanks

Edweird
07-16-2015, 07:14 PM
Ah yeah, makes sense. Should have figured that out. Just weird that older tech has it but newer doesn't.

Thanks
It's almost unanimously agreed that Optimus has no place on the high-end mobile GPU market. it causes more trouble that it's worth so don't feel TOO bad about it...while iGPUs (like the IrisPro) have become more powerful, the actually powerful dGPUs have also gotten much more energy and load efficient, so it's best to just get rid of the iGPU interfering and just leave the dGPU enabled on everything so you have easily predictable performance. I've tried games on this laptop that barely qualify as having some sort of load. Half-Life 2 sometimes runs on 135Mhz - the lowest possible before your GPU reaches a catatonic sleep state...

Disabling the iGPU on these machines was probably a completely conscious decision on part of ASUS and it's one I approve of.