PDA

View Full Version : How to enable G-SYNC and 100Hz on your G751JY (Tutorial)



Xuphra
07-28-2015, 03:12 AM
Hey guys. I just enabled/unlocked G-SYNC and 100Hz for my Asus G751JY's monitor. All credit to sk3tch on the forum which has the original post and link to the download. I'm posting this as I didn't really find a proper guide, and I had to do some trouble shooting.

Anyway, let's get started. Here are some pictures of 100Hz on my G751JY.

http://i.imgur.com/HfunZxq.png
http://i.imgur.com/NcfrS8Z.png

First you will need the latest BIOS for G751JY. (208 as of writing this). Install it with WinFlash.
Link to WinFlash and latest BIOS: http://www.asus.com/us/support/Download/3/719/0/3/LYuLg2456gbkV5dw/41/

Assuming you have the latest BIOS, download the hacked and leaked Nvidia Driver version 347.25
Link to driver: http://1pcent.com/?p=545

Extract the archive and run the setup file.
Follow the setup just like any other Nvidia driver setup.
Once you're done, restart your laptop.
Once restarted, launch Nvidia Control Panel.
Under "Display" you should see "Set up G-SYNC" Click it and tick off "Enable G-SYNC"
This panel will tell you to make sure;
1. Set the G-SYNC capable display as the primary display on the "Set up multiple displays" page.
2. Set vertical sync to G-sync on the "Manage 3D Settings" page.
Click on "Manage 3D Settings" under "3D Settings"
Look for "Vertical Sync" in the window to the right and make sure it's set to "G-SYNC" in the drop-down menu.

Now head over to "Change resolution" your refresh rate should be bale to go up to 75hz. Obviously we want 100hz, so we're going to go ahead and click on "Customize" at the very bottom of this window.
http://i.imgur.com/8NTIWU0.png
Click on "Create custom resolution"
Leave Horizontal and Vertical to it's default. ONLY change the Hz.
Up it until it says 100hz like in the picture, then hit "Test." Your screen will refresh, then apply 100hz.
Hit "ok" in the customize window and make sure your new custom resolution is the one selected.

Hit Apply and you're good to enjoy GLORIOUS 100HZ MASTER RACE.


P.S. I know this was way lengtier than needed, but I tried to make it idiot-proof.

antoine52200
07-28-2015, 07:42 AM
You should've used the G-Tool v2 instead of the leaked driver (you can use 347.88 and 348.01). it's much more stable than the first leaked driver, at least for me..

antoine52200
07-28-2015, 07:43 AM
And anyone can get the the leaked driver by searching it on google.. But, good thread for people who don't already know this and don't know how to do it

Edweird
07-28-2015, 07:49 AM
Thanks, but ... this is the 5th or so thread detailing how to do this, it's very old. Every time someone posts this, several hopes and dreams are shattered :P

antoine52200
07-28-2015, 07:59 AM
Thanks, but ... this is the 5th or so thread detailing how to do this, it's very old. Every time someone posts this, several hopes and dreams are shattered :P

+1000

It's kind of old and like i said there is "better" versions of this leaked driver for better compatibility with higher original drivers.
That's why we're trying to get Asus/Nvidia to wake up and propose an official version for all of us!

hobono
07-29-2015, 03:27 PM
Would be cool when someone could send me the Gamenab tool since i cant visit their site because it is restricted.
:O

Fl4sHNoX
08-27-2015, 11:12 PM
Same thing here, I can't get a working download link for the "more stable and working version" that you talked about... anyone here got a working download link ?

Drunkenninja
08-28-2015, 08:55 AM
I used the GE Tools V2 tutorial and it works great, only problem I have is windows 10 constantly updating the driver to a newer version, it's also kind of annoying that GE Force keeps reminding me of updates as well.

Small price to pay though, I really hope we get an official solution in the future.

KrisVr
08-28-2015, 09:07 AM
I used the GE Tools V2 tutorial and it works great, only problem I have is windows 10 constantly updating the driver to a newer version, it's also kind of annoying that GE Force keeps reminding me of updates as well.

Small price to pay though, I really hope we get an official solution in the future.

You can hide GPU driver updates using microsoft tool!
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3073930

You can also disable new driver update notification in GE. Not sure if it's that, but it's in the options!

Zwaeaehn
08-31-2015, 08:31 PM
How can you set the refresh rate to 100hz when the factory installed display have only max 60hz? o.O
Or are there different G751JY Models?
And why ?
It seems i've paid 2000 and have only a 60hz display-.-

aeolisio
08-31-2015, 08:52 PM
How can you set the refresh rate to 100hz when the factory installed display have only max 60hz? o.O
Or are there different G751JY Models?
And why ?
It seems i've paid 2000 and have only a 60hz display-.-

Literally its at the top of this thread. Please read before you post.

Now head over to "Change resolution" your refresh rate should be bale to go up to 75hz. Obviously we want 100hz, so we're going to go ahead and click on "Customize" at the very bottom of this window.

Click on "Create custom resolution"
Leave Horizontal and Vertical to it's default. ONLY change the Hz.
Up it until it says 100hz like in the picture, then hit "Test." Your screen will refresh, then apply 100hz.
Hit "ok" in the customize window and make sure your new custom resolution is the one selected.

Rammstein874
09-01-2015, 12:55 AM
This looks like a good TUT but anyone have one with updated links? Also should this be done on a fresh install?

SDEagle
09-24-2015, 01:35 AM
I used the GE Tools V2 tutorial and it works great

I tried searching in ROG forums, but no luck. Can you please point me to the link or the tutorial, if you know where it is? Appreciate it.

Ridge
09-24-2015, 02:05 AM
Will this work with the G751JL model?

viper3000
09-24-2015, 06:14 AM
or G751JT

escha
09-24-2015, 08:48 AM
JL has Optimus, so NO, G-sync won't work,
JL also has a diffrent screen panel right? - another reason why it won't work

JT will work

Edweird
09-24-2015, 09:06 AM
I think the rule of thumb is - if it has a GTX970M or a GTX980M, then yes, G-SYNC should work.
Interestingly enough the upcoming GTX965M equipped G752 has G-SYNC.

Ridge
09-25-2015, 05:12 AM
What is Optimus?

Also even though I can't use G-sync would I still be able change my refresh to 100hz? And if so would it be worth it?

viper3000
09-25-2015, 07:50 AM
Please write again + pictures .What I need do - when I want G-Sync enabled on my G751JT. Thank you verymuch.

rcarlos243
09-25-2015, 09:29 PM
What is Optimus?

Also even though I can't use G-sync would I still be able change my refresh to 100hz? And if so would it be worth it?

NVIDIA Optimus means Intel Graphics is enabled and Hybrid Graphics is working.

On Hybrid Graphics design from Ivy Bridge to current, they switched the design from Muxed (display is connected to both Intel and NVIDIA) to Muxless (display is only connected to Intel) which means it is impossible to turn off Intel Graphics as it handles the screen.

Currently since Intel Graphics handles the display on NVIDIA Optimus enabled laptops, it is not possible to change the refresh rate of the display because Intel drivers have broken custom resolution.

There is a thread on Intel Forums about intel possibly fixing it and you can send a reply on the thread to make intel know more people suffer from this issue.
https://communities.intel.com/thread/78158




Please write again + pictures .What I need do - when I want G-Sync enabled on my G751JT. Thank you verymuch.

Step 1: You need Windows 8.1 (If you are using Windows 10, you need to block windows update from downloading NVIDIA drivers. or download wshowhide.diagcab)
Step 2: You need 344.88 notebook driver and install it
Step 3: You need G-Tools Beta 2, make sure to reboot into safe mode then install it.

lazylemo
09-26-2015, 02:14 PM
Thank you so much for this! I am on win10 on a G751JT and it works perfectly but I've got to ask... what's your theme?

viper3000
09-30-2015, 09:34 AM
Please - I cant download G-Tools V2 anywhere. Please can anybody upload G-Tools V2 to some download server - maybe - ulozto.cz,sdilej.cz atc...Please. Thank you very much.

Exanimis
09-30-2015, 01:33 PM
I did it the easy way ;)
As i didnt update the drivers lately for my luck i had 348.01 version installed so i just went and replaced nvlddmkm.sys file which i extracted from the leaked drivers.

On the other topic someone also shared this (link) (https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?71111-Confirmed-quot-G-Sync-FIX-quot-for-ASUS-G751-Series-Laptops)

mawwy
05-23-2016, 04:37 PM
Hey guys. I just enabled/unlocked G-SYNC and 100Hz for my Asus G751JY's monitor. All credit to sk3tch on the forum which has the original post and link to the download. I'm posting this as I didn't really find a proper guide, and I had to do some trouble shooting.

Anyway, let's get started. Here are some pictures of 100Hz on my G751JY.

http://i.imgur.com/HfunZxq.png
http://i.imgur.com/NcfrS8Z.png

First you will need the latest BIOS for G751JY. (208 as of writing this). Install it with WinFlash.
Link to WinFlash and latest BIOS: http://www.asus.com/us/support/Download/3/719/0/3/LYuLg2456gbkV5dw/41/

Assuming you have the latest BIOS, download the hacked and leaked Nvidia Driver version 347.25
Link to driver: http://1pcent.com/?p=545

Extract the archive and run the setup file.
Follow the setup just like any other Nvidia driver setup.
Once you're done, restart your laptop.
Once restarted, launch Nvidia Control Panel.
Under "Display" you should see "Set up G-SYNC" Click it and tick off "Enable G-SYNC"
This panel will tell you to make sure;
1. Set the G-SYNC capable display as the primary display on the "Set up multiple displays" page.
2. Set vertical sync to G-sync on the "Manage 3D Settings" page.
Click on "Manage 3D Settings" under "3D Settings"
Look for "Vertical Sync" in the window to the right and make sure it's set to "G-SYNC" in the drop-down menu.

Now head over to "Change resolution" your refresh rate should be bale to go up to 75hz. Obviously we want 100hz, so we're going to go ahead and click on "Customize" at the very bottom of this window.
http://i.imgur.com/8NTIWU0.png
Click on "Create custom resolution"
Leave Horizontal and Vertical to it's default. ONLY change the Hz.
Up it until it says 100hz like in the picture, then hit "Test." Your screen will refresh, then apply 100hz.
Hit "ok" in the customize window and make sure your new custom resolution is the one selected.

Hit Apply and you're good to enjoy GLORIOUS 100HZ MASTER RACE.


P.S. I know this was way lengtier than needed, but I tried to make it idiot-proof.



Hi Xuphra :)

I would like to wish u many thanks as ur method worked best for me. When I tried using the G-Sync G-Tool v2 Method, just gave me a black screen when it loads back into windows.

I'd care not what others say. I salute u for posting this method which is clearly simple and clean.

And as an I.T Specialist I am not ashamed to bow my head to u as u have indeed made it idiot-proof for me.

Cheers Xuphra and many thanks once again.

Best Regards,
~mawwy~

TurkROG
05-23-2016, 08:16 PM
is this will affect the screen ? i e is his will damage the screen ??

thanks